Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5303 (New York Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2070 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Lou.
photo
About Lou.starstarstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/03 5:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Wow Lou - 100 reviews in not much more than a year! I'm glad you managed to modify the dress to suit you. :)
10/13/03 7:08 AM
Deepika said...
Congratulations on your 100th review! That's quite a contribution. Thanks! About the dress, I'm with you. I have this pattern but yeah I hate to pay $16 for a pattern and if the fit isnt right, its just sad. I've seen that most of Loes' patterns are boxy. In the boatneck top I recently made, I superimposed the Textile Studio Santa Monica Tee on the pattern and added shaping. Worked well. But you did so well. The dress looks awesome even if you had to make the pattern work for you. The end result is what matters. Will you be wearing this for the PR weekend? Can't wait to meet you!
10/13/03 7:15 AM
Lou. said...
Deepika, whether I wear it or not will depend on how I feel on the day I think...If I'm having a fat day then no I won't be...plus I think it's a little boring! I'm making a top at the moment I might wear, I'm planning on coming with options! 100 reviews....wow I sew too much :-)
10/13/03 7:24 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your final effort looks nicely shaped. I'm new; thanks for mentioning fabric.com. Might try the knits from there, since they're recommended by an expert!
10/13/03 7:29 AM
monahan said...
Congrats on 100! The November Burda is online and there is a super sexy corset/belt thingy . Perhaps that could work with your new dress?
10/13/03 8:24 AM
Skymom said...
Lou, it sounds as if you handled the fit challenges like a pro. I've discovered that a center back seam is really essential for almost any dress--even long darts don't do the job as well as that seam, and I've taken to adding it to patterns that don't already have one. Otherwise, the dress has to be so tight to get "shaping" from the stretch of the knit that it really would not be a good look at all on my post-40 body! So now that the dress fits, if you find it boring, why not try a wide belt, or a contoured belt, or a narrow belt that rides kind of low around the hips. That would give you an opportunity to articulate your shape a bit, and add some color or sparkle or elegance with a classy leather or whatever...Thanks for the heads-up on the fabric-com double-knit washing out to be sove and wearable. I have PTSD about double knits, having lived through the 1970s, but of course synthetics and knits are not what they used to be, thank goodness!
10/13/03 8:25 AM
Mini said...
Lou, this pattern was a real disappointment for me too. You might have better results with Kiwk Sew or Burda. I think Burda would suit your figure best, and the patterns are available from chain stores at reasonable prices.
10/13/03 9:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Other LL014
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 6/1/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5199
photo
Review by suzikabloo... on 3/1/06
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us