SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5303 (New York Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2075 times 
Reviewed by:Lou.
photo

 
 
About Lou.starstarstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/03 5:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Lou, this pattern was a real disappointment for me too. You might have better results with Kiwk Sew or Burda. I think Burda would suit your figure best, and the patterns are available from chain stores at reasonable prices.
10/13/03 9:15 AM
Skymom said...
Lou, it sounds as if you handled the fit challenges like a pro. I've discovered that a center back seam is really essential for almost any dress--even long darts don't do the job as well as that seam, and I've taken to adding it to patterns that don't already have one. Otherwise, the dress has to be so tight to get "shaping" from the stretch of the knit that it really would not be a good look at all on my post-40 body! So now that the dress fits, if you find it boring, why not try a wide belt, or a contoured belt, or a narrow belt that rides kind of low around the hips. That would give you an opportunity to articulate your shape a bit, and add some color or sparkle or elegance with a classy leather or whatever...Thanks for the heads-up on the fabric-com double-knit washing out to be sove and wearable. I have PTSD about double knits, having lived through the 1970s, but of course synthetics and knits are not what they used to be, thank goodness!
10/13/03 8:25 AM
monahan said...
Congrats on 100! The November Burda is online and there is a super sexy corset/belt thingy . Perhaps that could work with your new dress?
10/13/03 8:24 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your final effort looks nicely shaped. I'm new; thanks for mentioning fabric.com. Might try the knits from there, since they're recommended by an expert!
10/13/03 7:29 AM
Lou. said...
Deepika, whether I wear it or not will depend on how I feel on the day I think...If I'm having a fat day then no I won't be...plus I think it's a little boring! I'm making a top at the moment I might wear, I'm planning on coming with options! 100 reviews....wow I sew too much :-)
10/13/03 7:24 AM
Deepika said...
Congratulations on your 100th review! That's quite a contribution. Thanks! About the dress, I'm with you. I have this pattern but yeah I hate to pay $16 for a pattern and if the fit isnt right, its just sad. I've seen that most of Loes' patterns are boxy. In the boatneck top I recently made, I superimposed the Textile Studio Santa Monica Tee on the pattern and added shaping. Worked well. But you did so well. The dress looks awesome even if you had to make the pattern work for you. The end result is what matters. Will you be wearing this for the PR weekend? Can't wait to meet you!
10/13/03 7:15 AM
Mel.J said...
Wow Lou - 100 reviews in not much more than a year! I'm glad you managed to modify the dress to suit you. :)
10/13/03 7:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

New Look 6110

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now