Online Sewing Class: Bust Adjustments
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
JStern Womens Jeans and JStern Misses Jeans">Blueprints to Blue Jeans Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Mission Jacket & Tank (Mission Jacket & Tank)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1654 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews: 59 (patterns: 59)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/03 10:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Harriet Rogers said... (11/28/08 10:03 AM) Reply
Cheryl: binding might work. What I would do is try a sample: but a piece of binding on a vertical strip of fabric that is attached to another vertical strip and then, after binding is on, turn at the seamed edge (which would be the collar front on the garment). As I'm typing this, I'm trying to picture, and I'm having a hard time! Good luck.
cherylannrubenstein said... (11/27/08 2:40 AM) Reply
I have not made this yet, but while reading the pattern I was concerned with how the collar and hem were finished. Thanks for noting this. I wonder if this could be solved by using a (thin) bias binding?
Harriet Rogers said... (12/18/05 8:31 PM) Reply
Wow! How weird it is that some PR members are seeing this review for the first time: it seems so long ago that I made this top! Georgene, I did not duplicate this in the light orange, but I haven't made anything in that fabric yet (I've now had the fabric for over 4 years), but your comment reminded me that I did have a real plan for it. Stay tuned!!!
GorgeousFabrics said... (12/17/05 9:54 AM) Reply
Ooooh, Harriet, that is just beautiful! Thanks for the warning about the pattern pieces. -Ann
Georgene said... (12/17/05 8:48 AM) Reply
How did I miss this? It looks very elegant. Did you ever make up the light orange fabric? I'd love to see the photos.
Diane in MD said... (4/11/05 5:23 PM) Reply
very helpful, I can't wait to get started.
jlg said... (10/13/03 5:50 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review, Harriet. Your jacket is very pretty.
Diane E said... (10/13/03 12:36 PM) Reply
Harriet, I think your jacket is lovely and that your idea for the collar hem is terrific. On mine, I just let the hem show on the front, but if I do it again, I'll use your method. Thanks. Also, you're right about how the jacket hangs longer in the back. Your attention to detail is commendable!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Vintage Pattern Lending Library T5918

photo
by: sezza899

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 101

Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 101

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Pattern Details