SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Mission Jacket & Tank (Mission Jacket & Tank)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1649 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/03 10:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Harriet Rogers said...
Cheryl: binding might work. What I would do is try a sample: but a piece of binding on a vertical strip of fabric that is attached to another vertical strip and then, after binding is on, turn at the seamed edge (which would be the collar front on the garment). As I'm typing this, I'm trying to picture, and I'm having a hard time! Good luck.
11/28/08 10:03 AM
cherylannrubenstein said...
I have not made this yet, but while reading the pattern I was concerned with how the collar and hem were finished. Thanks for noting this. I wonder if this could be solved by using a (thin) bias binding?
11/27/08 2:40 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wow! How weird it is that some PR members are seeing this review for the first time: it seems so long ago that I made this top! Georgene, I did not duplicate this in the light orange, but I haven't made anything in that fabric yet (I've now had the fabric for over 4 years), but your comment reminded me that I did have a real plan for it. Stay tuned!!!
12/18/05 8:31 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ooooh, Harriet, that is just beautiful! Thanks for the warning about the pattern pieces. -Ann
12/17/05 9:54 AM
Georgene said...
How did I miss this? It looks very elegant. Did you ever make up the light orange fabric? I'd love to see the photos.
12/17/05 8:48 AM
Diane in MD said...
very helpful, I can't wait to get started.
4/11/05 5:23 PM
jlg said...
Thanks for the review, Harriet. Your jacket is very pretty.
10/13/03 5:50 PM
Diane E said...
Harriet, I think your jacket is lovely and that your idea for the collar hem is terrific. On mine, I just let the hem show on the front, but if I do it again, I'll use your method. Thanks. Also, you're right about how the jacket hangs longer in the back. Your attention to detail is commendable!
10/13/03 12:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now