Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Mission Jacket & Tank (Mission Jacket & Tank) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1640 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/03 10:17 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
Harriet, I think your jacket is lovely and that your idea for the collar hem is terrific. On mine, I just let the hem show on the front, but if I do it again, I'll use your method. Thanks. Also, you're right about how the jacket hangs longer in the back. Your attention to detail is commendable!
10/13/03 12:36 PM
jlg said...
Thanks for the review, Harriet. Your jacket is very pretty.
10/13/03 5:50 PM
Diane in MD said...
very helpful, I can't wait to get started.
4/11/05 5:23 PM
Georgene said...
How did I miss this? It looks very elegant. Did you ever make up the light orange fabric? I'd love to see the photos.
12/17/05 8:48 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ooooh, Harriet, that is just beautiful! Thanks for the warning about the pattern pieces. -Ann
12/17/05 9:54 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wow! How weird it is that some PR members are seeing this review for the first time: it seems so long ago that I made this top! Georgene, I did not duplicate this in the light orange, but I haven't made anything in that fabric yet (I've now had the fabric for over 4 years), but your comment reminded me that I did have a real plan for it. Stay tuned!!!
12/18/05 8:31 PM
cherylannrubenstein said...
I have not made this yet, but while reading the pattern I was concerned with how the collar and hem were finished. Thanks for noting this. I wonder if this could be solved by using a (thin) bias binding?
11/27/08 2:40 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Cheryl: binding might work. What I would do is try a sample: but a piece of binding on a vertical strip of fabric that is attached to another vertical strip and then, after binding is on, turn at the seamed edge (which would be the collar front on the garment). As I'm typing this, I'm trying to picture, and I'm having a hard time! Good luck.
11/28/08 10:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-32
photo
Review by brissie71 on 2/24/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No pattern used 2009-01-Baby
photo
Review by katlew03 on 2/20/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1703 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1703 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6730 Pattern
New Look 6730 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us