Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2008-126 (Misses' Tuxedo Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 357 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/09 8:35 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Wentz said...
Lovely job. Thanks for the review!
1/12/09 8:47 AM
Re Becca said...
This is really cute on you. Much cuter than Eva's! Thanks for the explanation on the pleats, I always manage to get my eyes crossed on those.
1/12/09 9:16 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Love it, Louella! I was just looking at this last night thinking I could use a tuxedo shirt. Your notes are fabulous and worth referring to. I'm glad my blouse review was helpful for you; now you'll never go back to hand sewing those frontbands and cuffs again. -Lisa
1/12/09 9:20 AM
Em's Summer said...
Another beautiful blouse! And a great fun review, too!
1/12/09 9:38 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I would love to try this pattern one day and your review will be very very helpful, it's also nice to know that it can be a nice basic shirt without the pleats, thank you! Lovely job!
1/12/09 9:42 AM
Kim12469 said...
I love it! It looks wonderful on you. I'd never have thought to make this but may just have to give it a try.
1/12/09 9:48 AM
mastdenman said...
Cute blouse.
1/12/09 10:01 AM
Sallygirl said...
Excellent review! Everything Burda I see made "in real life" I like SO much more than how it is featured in the magazine. I would pass up so many things were it not for seeing things like your blouse here done in a very wearable, doable way. Thank you!
1/12/09 10:18 AM
merteuil said...
Great shirt. I was planning on making this, I'll have to keep your suggestion for marking the pleats in mind. Thanks for the review!
1/12/09 10:27 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
What a wonderful, stylish blouse! I love how the pleated front band adds texture and interest to an otherwise plain white shirt. That fabric is tricky; having mastered it you are for sure a Material Girl.
1/12/09 10:34 AM
sewtime said...
Your top is so pretty. It looks beautiful on you. Nice review.
1/12/09 11:57 AM
Twinset said...
This is a GWS (great white shirt)! Thanks for the review!
1/12/09 1:04 PM
michellep74 said...
I love all of the funky, groovy fabrics that you usually use, but this blouse proves that you look smashing in a feminine white blouse, too!
1/12/09 1:07 PM
Christas said...
I LOVE your reviews! You have a wonderful sense of humor and STYLE! This blouse is so lovely.... great job!
1/12/09 2:27 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful blouse ! Thanks for a humorous and helpful review :)
1/12/09 2:52 PM
Ody said...
Wonderful review and I love the blouse. Very interesting details about your sewing techniques. Sorry I missed the review on the purple blouse because that is a wow as well and I will go back and pick that one up. I love the story about the dog---aren't little girls the most fun!!!
1/12/09 3:44 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice, and a great review with lots of information. That shirt looks great on you. I'm thinking of making it myself from some white cotton jacquard I got.
1/12/09 3:50 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, your blouse is just beautiful and so skillfully made! Thanks for the pleat reference, as well as Busy Mom's method for applying blouse front plackets and cuffs. Love your tune references and see that you've incited Seamingly Simple to join the music madness. Always such a pleasure to read your wonderful reviews. Lovely, Lily
1/12/09 4:48 PM
Gelbean said...
Great blouse. I love the pleated front. Thanks for the very informative review. You look fabulous!
1/12/09 5:21 PM
nellc said...
Lovely shirt, the pleated ruffle is a really nice detail.
1/12/09 5:46 PM
ITAdmin said...
Love this; good job.
1/12/09 6:35 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, as usual, another FUN and INFORMATIVE review. Aside from that, though, your blouse has turned out BEAUTIFULLY. Move over, Eva, Louella is in the house! You've done such a nice job on this versatile top, and even in a fabric that wasn't particularly cooperative. I love it!
1/12/09 11:35 PM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful blouse! Interesting and fun review.
1/13/09 0:46 AM
Nancywin said...
OK, now I have that song (Band on the run) stuck in my head! The blouse looks fantastic, and I really like the combination of the ruffle and black buttons.
1/13/09 1:01 AM
BillieJean said...
It seems that white shirts are "the thing" right now and yours is gorgeous. Great work.
1/13/09 6:22 AM
Squeezylemon said...
I always love all your projects! And a laugh reading your review into the bargain! Beautiful blouse on you Louella, you always make me want to rush home from work and get busy at my machine!
1/13/09 9:10 AM
CatMukai said...
Great review! I love your idea of using pattern instructions as envelopes for BWOFs...I'll have to start doing that! Thanks!
1/13/09 12:44 PM
Sheila457 said...
Such a lovely blouse. I haven't graduated to BWOF yet, but hopefully will try one this year.
1/13/09 1:52 PM
ChristineX said...
That's a great shirt!!
1/13/09 5:26 PM
Jali said...
I love your shirt and your enjoyable and informative review. The pattern photo says nothing much really. Yours however, makes me want to sew something like this.
1/14/09 9:08 AM
pterion said...
Such a sharp looking blouse! You look like you are ready to go out on the town.
1/14/09 4:12 PM
Karen8320 said...
Burda keeps pounding a rhythm to my brain, la-di-da-di-di, la-di-da-di-da ... and the pleat goes on ... Louella, this is a lovely departure from your usual colorful fabrics, and what a stunner! You've done a great job with this shirt and it looks fabulous on you! A really, really smart look. The Academy Awards are coming up and if Bolt were to invite you and Heather to be his guests, I'm sure George Clooney or Brad Pitt couldn't help but notice you!
1/24/09 4:52 AM
Robin Denning said...
I like the addition of black buttons- it jazzes it up. Nice!!
3/1/09 3:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Wild Ginger 07
photo
Review by Kay Y on 9/9/06
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8696
photo
Review by Alshami on 9/24/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1707 Pattern ( Size S )
Simplicity 1707 Pattern ( Size S )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4434 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 4434 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us