Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2880 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 996 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:shelyH
photo
About shelyHstar
CO USA
Member since: 10/17/07
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/09 2:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Wow, what a beautiful dress, and what a great job you did. Your friend looks vavoom in this. Did you fit the top with a muslin first? That might have saved you some steps. But hey, look how awesome this turned out.
1/13/09 2:50 PM
Annette1 said...
This was a LOT of work, and I can see that your friend is THRILLED with it. It's just beautiful, and so is she IN it! BRAVO! And congratulations on your first review. :o)
1/13/09 3:33 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
You've constructed this beautiful dress very nicely and made all the necessary adaptations along the way - they're not at all ghetto. You are quite correct that this design provides curve to a rectangular shaped woman; your friend looks smashing. -Lil
1/13/09 3:36 PM
shelyH said...
Thanks for your kind words!!!! I have been lurking here quite a while, and deciding to plunge in. I have some more reviews I am going to write now :) dbsewer, the foundation bodice has 8 pieces total, so the first fit with fashion fabric worked as a muslin; I had left large seam allowances for this reason. I did the first fitting with just the bodice and transferred all those markings. It was hard to know how the shoulders will fit until the end though, at least it was for me! Next time, I would just shorten the length to begin with :)
1/13/09 4:11 PM
keelyb1 said...
Fabulous dress! I've had the same thing happen to me when doing a rolled edge on a bias (and I solved it the same way too.) Your friend looks very happy with this dress. Well done.
1/13/09 4:24 PM
shelyH said...
Thanks for your kind words!!!! I have been lurking here quite a while, and deciding to plunge in. I have some more reviews I am going to write now :) dbsewer, the foundation bodice has 8 pieces total, so the first fit with fashion fabric worked as a muslin; I had left large seam allowances for this reason. I did the first fitting with just the bodice and transferred all those markings. It was hard to know how the shoulders will fit until the end though, at least it was for me! Next time, I would just shorten the length to begin with :)
1/13/09 5:02 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
This dress is just STUNNING!! You did such a nice job on the dress!! I'm sure your friend LOVED it!! It is quite flattering on her!!
1/13/09 5:19 PM
shelyH said...
Thanks for your kind words!!!! I have been lurking here quite a while, and deciding to plunge in. I have some more reviews I am going to write now :) dbsewer, the foundation bodice has 8 pieces total, so the first fit with fashion fabric worked as a muslin; I had left large seam allowances for this reason. I did the first fitting with just the bodice and transferred all those markings. It was hard to know how the shoulders will fit until the end though, at least it was for me! Next time, I would just shorten the length to begin with :)
1/13/09 5:51 PM
Amanda S. said...
This looks beautiful. I've loved this pattern since it came out. Wish I had somewhere to wear it. Great job!
1/13/09 7:57 PM
Ody said...
I thought how nice this young girl was making a prom dress. My little girl said, no mom, I think she is a "MOM!" Well, that dress sure makes you look young and gorgeous! Great job!
1/13/09 10:36 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great dress and your a dear friend for making it. Your friend looks stunning! Congrats on posting your first review. I'm working on my first posting and trust me when I say my " T" will pale in comparision. :)
1/14/09 6:18 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! I made a Vogue dress very similar to this one, so I know how much work you put into this. Bravo!
1/14/09 8:02 AM
bluecatlady said...
Thanks for the detailed review of this pattern. I'm concidering sewing it for myself!!
2/21/09 0:17 AM
canyonlady67 said...
I also had trouble with the shoulders...when you said "I ended up tacking those down" what exactly did you do? I've been trying to come up with something, but may just leave them sort of hanging there.
6/16/10 2:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 8122
photo
Review by Gelbean on 1/18/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Details
Price: $45.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tiny Pocket Tank
Tiny Pocket Tank

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Lucy Lucy
photo
Review by KBT Sewer on 5/13/12
Read Review

Butterick 5669 Pattern ( Size ONESIZE )
Butterick 5669 Pattern ( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3541 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3541 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us