Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1405 (Basic Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2088 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR
About Karla Kizerstarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/02 11:52 AM
Last Updated:7/3/02 1:17 AM
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Karla, what a funny story with a happy ending! Your life sounds alot like mine. I have three girls 19, 13 and 7. I wish I could fly by the seat of my pants as well as you. Alas, I have only been sewing about two years and would probably have been in deep......instread of be finished.
3/31/02 12:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla! I fell off my chair laughing :-) thanks for a wonderful review. I have never added darts on my own. How do you determine where to add them and how much?
3/31/02 12:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Laura Ann - This pattern is so simple that 2 years of sewing experience is plenty. You would have had it finished, too. Deepika, I just placed another dress pattern (one with back darts) over the Basic Dress pattern and copied the dart size and location. The only tricky part is determining the approximate waist level on the Basic Dress pattern; it isn't marked on the pattern and I should have mentioned in my review that I find that omission very annoying. Just study the pattern, especially the curve in the side seam, to approximate the waistline location, then draw in the dart so the widest part is at or just above your waist level.
3/31/02 12:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Karla, that helps.
3/31/02 5:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you Karla for this funny review, hope your daughters circulation and armoits are ok by now, the dress looks lovely on her.
7/3/02 3:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
ps. I meant her her armpits of course sorry, I just woke up.
7/3/02 3:05 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
It looks great! No one would suspect you whipped this up in the wee hours. :-)
7/3/02 9:28 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looking at your daughter's photo, I am tempted to shorten my pattern as well. Lets see how that goes.
7/3/02 9:38 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very cute-your daughter and her dress I mean. I think this dress looks better short. (Too bad my short skirt days are all "behind" me.)
7/3/02 10:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla, you talk about your daughter with such affection, it's really fun to read. She looks fabulous in the dress. The picture also reminds me how the same pattern can be used to make really different looking garments. I never would have guessed that dress was a TS Basic Dress.
7/3/02 1:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla - I'm impressed with the daughter, the dress, and the fact you could get a picture posted!! Looks great!
7/3/02 8:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you, everyone. I am proud of the dress, the daughter and getting that blasted picture posted...not necessarily in that order.
7/4/02 0:22 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Colette Patterns 1014 Negroni
photo
Review by soupdragon on 1/3/12
Read Review

Burda 7033 Pattern
Burda 7033 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1403 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1403 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2008-126 Top
photo
Review by LauraLo on 10/1/08
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Edith Blouse Dress Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Edith Blouse Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us