SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1405 (Basic Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 2088 times 
Reviewed by:Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizerstarstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/02 11:52 AM
Last Updated:7/3/02 1:17 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Karla, what a funny story with a happy ending! Your life sounds alot like mine. I have three girls 19, 13 and 7. I wish I could fly by the seat of my pants as well as you. Alas, I have only been sewing about two years and would probably have been in deep......instread of be finished.
3/31/02 12:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla! I fell off my chair laughing :-) thanks for a wonderful review. I have never added darts on my own. How do you determine where to add them and how much?
3/31/02 12:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Laura Ann - This pattern is so simple that 2 years of sewing experience is plenty. You would have had it finished, too. Deepika, I just placed another dress pattern (one with back darts) over the Basic Dress pattern and copied the dart size and location. The only tricky part is determining the approximate waist level on the Basic Dress pattern; it isn't marked on the pattern and I should have mentioned in my review that I find that omission very annoying. Just study the pattern, especially the curve in the side seam, to approximate the waistline location, then draw in the dart so the widest part is at or just above your waist level.
3/31/02 12:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Karla, that helps.
3/31/02 5:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you Karla for this funny review, hope your daughters circulation and armoits are ok by now, the dress looks lovely on her.
7/3/02 3:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
ps. I meant her her armpits of course sorry, I just woke up.
7/3/02 3:05 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
It looks great! No one would suspect you whipped this up in the wee hours. :-)
7/3/02 9:28 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looking at your daughter's photo, I am tempted to shorten my pattern as well. Lets see how that goes.
7/3/02 9:38 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very cute-your daughter and her dress I mean. I think this dress looks better short. (Too bad my short skirt days are all "behind" me.)
7/3/02 10:31 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla, you talk about your daughter with such affection, it's really fun to read. She looks fabulous in the dress. The picture also reminds me how the same pattern can be used to make really different looking garments. I never would have guessed that dress was a TS Basic Dress.
7/3/02 1:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla - I'm impressed with the daughter, the dress, and the fact you could get a picture posted!! Looks great!
7/3/02 8:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you, everyone. I am proud of the dress, the daughter and getting that blasted picture posted...not necessarily in that order.
7/4/02 0:22 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-103

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
New Look 6110

photo
by: penelopey4

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now