SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6674 (Misses Wrap Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1273 times 
Reviewed by:elily00
photo

 
 
About elily00star
OH USA
Member since: 7/17/07
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/16/09 10:34 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
birdmcfarland said...
I'm really glad you did this review because I just finished trying to make this dress and it was a disaster. Armholes too big, bodice was huge despite the fact that I used the "correct" size. I used some really cheap fabric and ended up just junking it. I was fairly discouraged, but given the fact that you also encountered some problems makes me feel a little better. Looks fantastic!!!
1/16/09 10:45 AM
Elona said...
That's a really pretty dress! Judging from the changes you made to the pattern and how nice the finished garment is, I think you can upgrade yourself from "advanced beginner." Yes, indeed.
1/16/09 11:10 AM
shelyH said...
This looks great! Good job! I like the binding you used, it worked awesome. Thats a good tip to remove the darts when using a knit. I might have to get this pattern!
1/16/09 11:15 AM
lovenicky said...
Wow you gals look great in that dress! Looks like you both should be in Sex and the city! :-) Thanks for the detail review. I may try this with a moderate stretch knit with your suggestions.
1/16/09 11:52 AM
Karendee said...
I think this dress looks wonderful on your both. This was a lovely gift for your sister.
1/16/09 12:02 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow - fab dress! Sorry to hear the pattern is not the greatest, but your end result is just wonderful. Great work!
1/16/09 12:21 PM
Renren said...
Very lovely, nicer than the pattern photo. Flattering color on both of you and great fit, too.
1/16/09 12:23 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, you did a fabulous job with this!!
1/16/09 1:18 PM
Beek said...
Very nice dress for your sis! she looks great in it, and I'm sure she is happy she has you for a sister!
1/16/09 1:35 PM
Lori V said...
This is a wonderful dress and lucky sister!
1/16/09 2:33 PM
MissCelie said...
What a terrific dress. And so sleek in the gray. I'm sorry it was too big, but it looks like it came together!
1/16/09 3:27 PM
Athene said...
Your intuitive design changes made this a great looking dress..
1/16/09 4:48 PM
nellc said...
Your dress turned out really nice despite the problems you had with the pattern.
1/16/09 5:51 PM
solosmocker said...
Wonderful dress!
1/16/09 8:13 PM
sew22cute said...
Can I be your sister?! Love the dress - and the SHOES!
1/16/09 8:18 PM
elily00 said...
haha :) thank you all so much for the wonderful compliments!
1/16/09 10:43 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - fits your lucky sister like a dream!!
1/17/09 9:45 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Who would have thought a plain, grey dress could be so sexy? Thanks a million for the sizing info: it ought to save yards of fabric from ending up in a trash can.
1/17/09 11:57 AM
katib said...
Your sister's dress turned out beautifully!
1/17/09 2:12 PM
CynthiaSue said...
your version is so much better!! than New Looks! great review!
4/27/09 3:22 PM
Tangerine Dreams said...
Looks great!
1/17/10 11:14 AM
rubbecca said...
I just bought this pattern because it looks similar to a RTW dress that I love to wear. Thanks for all the warnings about this pattern. You did a great job on the dress.
2/10/13 1:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2586

photo
by: Renren

Review
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now