Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6674 (Misses Wrap Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1253 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:elily00
photo
About elily00star
OH USA
Member since: 7/17/07
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/16/09 10:34 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
birdmcfarland said...
I'm really glad you did this review because I just finished trying to make this dress and it was a disaster. Armholes too big, bodice was huge despite the fact that I used the "correct" size. I used some really cheap fabric and ended up just junking it. I was fairly discouraged, but given the fact that you also encountered some problems makes me feel a little better. Looks fantastic!!!
1/16/09 10:45 AM
Elona said...
That's a really pretty dress! Judging from the changes you made to the pattern and how nice the finished garment is, I think you can upgrade yourself from "advanced beginner." Yes, indeed.
1/16/09 11:10 AM
shelyH said...
This looks great! Good job! I like the binding you used, it worked awesome. Thats a good tip to remove the darts when using a knit. I might have to get this pattern!
1/16/09 11:15 AM
lovenicky said...
Wow you gals look great in that dress! Looks like you both should be in Sex and the city! :-) Thanks for the detail review. I may try this with a moderate stretch knit with your suggestions.
1/16/09 11:52 AM
Karendee said...
I think this dress looks wonderful on your both. This was a lovely gift for your sister.
1/16/09 12:02 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow - fab dress! Sorry to hear the pattern is not the greatest, but your end result is just wonderful. Great work!
1/16/09 12:21 PM
Renren said...
Very lovely, nicer than the pattern photo. Flattering color on both of you and great fit, too.
1/16/09 12:23 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, you did a fabulous job with this!!
1/16/09 1:18 PM
Beek said...
Very nice dress for your sis! she looks great in it, and I'm sure she is happy she has you for a sister!
1/16/09 1:35 PM
Lori V said...
This is a wonderful dress and lucky sister!
1/16/09 2:33 PM
MissCelie said...
What a terrific dress. And so sleek in the gray. I'm sorry it was too big, but it looks like it came together!
1/16/09 3:27 PM
Athene said...
Your intuitive design changes made this a great looking dress..
1/16/09 4:48 PM
nellc said...
Your dress turned out really nice despite the problems you had with the pattern.
1/16/09 5:51 PM
solosmocker said...
Wonderful dress!
1/16/09 8:13 PM
sew22cute said...
Can I be your sister?! Love the dress - and the SHOES!
1/16/09 8:18 PM
elily00 said...
haha :) thank you all so much for the wonderful compliments!
1/16/09 10:43 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - fits your lucky sister like a dream!!
1/17/09 9:45 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Who would have thought a plain, grey dress could be so sexy? Thanks a million for the sizing info: it ought to save yards of fabric from ending up in a trash can.
1/17/09 11:57 AM
katib said...
Your sister's dress turned out beautifully!
1/17/09 2:12 PM
CynthiaSue said...
your version is so much better!! than New Looks! great review!
4/27/09 3:22 PM
Tangerine Dreams said...
Looks great!
1/17/10 11:14 AM
rubbecca said...
I just bought this pattern because it looks similar to a RTW dress that I love to wear. Thanks for all the warnings about this pattern. You did a great job on the dress.
2/10/13 1:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Kwik Sew 3504 Men's Jeans
photo
Review by SarahSM on 11/1/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8185
photo
Review by FuzzyNavel... on 6/19/07
Read Review

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5020 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 5020 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6736 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6736 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us