Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-110 (mock wrap over top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 514 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Seaspur
photo
Friend of PR
About Seaspurstarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 2/24/04
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/09 5:58 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Real cute, love the material!!
1/17/09 6:07 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Ooh yours looks great! Would you believe I'm halfway through sewing my version of this and I also sewed the front pieces on wrong at the shoulder seams?? :D
1/17/09 6:25 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top! What was your reason for going up a size?
1/17/09 6:33 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely top - I look forward to getting this issue.
1/17/09 8:08 PM
Kristine Kay said...
I was considering this top, glad to see it's a winner!
1/17/09 9:32 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute top!! I want to make it but I'm afraid it might be too low cut. I haven't seen a picture of it on a human yet. I love the print you picked it is perfect for this style. I am curious also why you made the 40 instead ot 38..does this one run small. Also, I would be interested to know how you finished the neck edge..I have a hard time understanding the instructions for the neckline.
1/17/09 10:26 PM
Diana M said...
This review reflects the pain of experience -- I've experienced that with wrap tops, too. Great looking top, nice review. Thanks
1/17/09 10:36 PM
SueV said...
cute! I like it in a print!
1/18/09 0:05 AM
Seaspur said...
I would like to be able to say that the top sizing runs small and that is why I cut out a 40, but the truth is I've gained some wight and figured I'd better be safe than sorry :-). The neck edge is finished by simply folding over the allowance (3/4") and either coverstitching or sewing with a twin needle. Just follow the directions for sewing on the back binding etc. and it all works.
1/18/09 0:10 AM
RuthieSews said...
I've been looking at this one too. I wonder if a plain knit would really showcase the interesting seaming more than a print?
1/18/09 6:44 AM
Stephenie said...
The fabric was perfect for this top. Very nice!
1/18/09 9:15 AM
ladylola said...
Nice top. I have to try this one.
1/18/09 9:36 AM
Nancy K said...
Love this top. It is on my to sew list.
1/18/09 2:34 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thanks for the great review. It's a stunning top.
1/18/09 3:51 PM
Christas said...
This is such a cute top..... great fabric, too!
1/18/09 4:57 PM
Heatherrique said...
Eyecatchingly gorgeous and very nicely constructed!
1/18/09 6:22 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Great top. Thanks for the tips. Enjoy the compliments!
1/20/09 1:11 AM
JustTrina said...
that fabric is soooooo HOT! i love it! all it needed was a basic design, GREAT CHOICE! 5 stars!
1/25/09 7:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Material Things 102
photo
Review by Anne Franc... on 3/26/06
Read Review

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2345 Misses'
photo
Review by PAMomof3 on 7/8/11
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us