Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-106B (Trendy Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1198 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/22/09 5:14 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Cute top, Deepika and honestly, from the photo it looks awfully nice on you. I saw this in BWOF and thought of making it because of those cute sleeves. Thanks for the helpful information on the neckline and sleeve cap.
1/22/09 5:18 PM
craftygamma said...
Very cute top. Is the scarf RTW? It looks so good with the top. And please tell me you just cleaned your sewing room and that it doesn't always look like that!
1/22/09 5:23 PM
Deepika said...
I made that scarf last year. Silk Dyeing Experiment. Donna teaches that class. I love to wear it with otherwise plain shirts like this.
1/22/09 5:33 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top which goes perfectly with the scarf you made. Love the colour.
1/22/09 5:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Cute top in a lovely color.
1/22/09 6:18 PM
Lori V said...
Cute top, thanks for the neckline information.
1/22/09 6:36 PM
Christas said...
This looks really pretty. I can't believe it is your MUSLIN! The color is great and I really like the new neckline shape.
1/22/09 7:01 PM
Ody said...
Ok, I was going to make a comment about how neat your sewing room was and if you were going to be serious about sewing, you needed to mess it up a bit with lots of thread tails, and scraps of fabric. Wonderful blouse and the color is divine. Thanks for the details on altering the neckline---I always seem to have to change things myself. The results are very flattering.
1/22/09 7:21 PM
Gelbean said...
Super cute top. The color looks fab on you.
1/22/09 7:24 PM
nfield said...
Deepika, the top looks cute on you. For the life of me, I could not figure out the sleeves. Good for you!!
1/22/09 8:50 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I made this as well...I love it. Will review it soon. Yours looks great. jw
1/22/09 8:56 PM
MissCelie said...
LOL. I was so sweating that Bernina and thread! I like the top. You're right, BWOF not great for the knits.
1/22/09 9:01 PM
donna mel said...
deepika, your top is lovely! i look forward to your next version with the shoulders and sleeve caps fitting perfectly on you. ladies...you're right, the studio is WAY too clean! deepika just asked for a simple photo and i went on 'clean patrol'! i'm always fascinated with the backgrounds of photos, so i wanted it to look its best. if you turn the camera a few feet, you'll see a big pile of stuff!
1/22/09 9:44 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a pretty top! The time you put into it was worth it because it turned out great! I love the sleeves and thanks for the tip about Microtex needles!
1/22/09 10:14 PM
cabinbaby said...
I was going to say, "Wow! Super clean sewing space and cute top" but I guess I can't say both. :) The top is super duper cute; I gotta make this one.
1/22/09 11:09 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Your top turned out soooo cute. I love the color and the way you changed the neckline.
1/22/09 11:20 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I am loving that top, I think I need to join the flounce sleeve club too!
1/23/09 0:26 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely colour on you! It looks a very pretty top so I must look out for it when I get my issue.
1/23/09 1:16 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely top. Well done. I think I'm missing something in not seeing copies of BWOF, which does not seem to be available where I live except by subscription.
1/23/09 2:25 AM
squirrellypoo said...
This is really cute on you (I didn't even notice the sleeve cap! I think the sleeve flounces distract from it!), and I love the matching scarf, too.
1/23/09 8:01 AM
JEF said...
Ditto what everyone else has said!
1/23/09 8:46 AM
Karen6790 said...
At this rate, we could all wear our variations on this top/dress to the next PR event! This is a very wearable muslin on you - and I love the color. Nice job on the neck binding, I don't get BWOF's use of facings on knits but I love their designs for knits and just try to find a way to make it work.
1/23/09 9:40 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Love the necklace, too! Whenever any corner of my sewing space is even remotely this clean, I am a) having houseguests and need the room b) procrastinating sewing something tricky/untried before!
1/23/09 12:20 PM
SueV said...
oooo, ahhh, there's that lovely scarf! Nice top too :)
1/23/09 12:24 PM
michellep74 said...
Love the top on you (the color is great) and the scarf with that top!
1/23/09 1:21 PM
Erica B. said...
Great top Deepika! I'm such a sucker for those sleeves!
1/23/09 1:38 PM
janet said...
You are just a CUTIE PIE! Love your top--now I have to buy this issue of BWOF!! Fabulous color on you.
1/23/09 8:44 PM
ElsaD said...
Beautiful top and colour. You may be able to avoid copying another sleeve cap design. If you followed the BWOF instructions and sewed all the side seams before putting in the sleeve, my suggestion is to follow the KwikSew knit method instead. Would suggest that after you sew the shoulder seams and the beautiful gathers on the sleeves, then attach the sleeves to the body, then sew up the side and sleeve seams together (if the sleeve design allows). I used to faithfully follow the BWOF sleeve instructions on knits and inevitably ended up with the similar ease problem - gathers where I didn't want them. Using the KwikSew method to insert the sleeves is much easier plus I no longer get the gathers. The BWOF shaping of the sleeves seem to lend themselves to the KS/serger method. HTH
1/24/09 0:26 AM
CrescentaLuna said...
Let me chime in with: That color is fantastic on you!
1/24/09 2:16 AM
Deepika said...
You know what? Last night I started sewing another Burda WOF top and it's possible that my fabric may have been the culprit. Even though the pattern I am sewing is different, everything is working out so smoothly. Because the fabric has lycra in it. It's really good quality stuff. So I would not be surprised if I made this top again in a good fabric, it might just simply work. And I must add that I should have stabilized the shoulders and I didnt'. I was really taking the muslin thing too seriously. Thanks for such wonderful comments on my top. I do like this color a lot. I have sewn two more tops in the same color! this one and and this
1/24/09 10:56 AM
Karen8320 said...
Nice work, Deepika. Both the design of this top and the color suit you really well.
1/28/09 7:19 PM
cindy-lou said...
I LOOOOOOOOVE your version! Wish it were mine!
1/29/09 9:42 AM
akir said...
Hi Deepkia, Very pretty. I think I have to have this pattern. What I'm really writing about, though, is the scarf. Do I detect a hand-painted silk scarf? I'm a silk painter so the scarf really caught my eye. I enjoy the site even though I don't contribute much. Erika Stewart
5/13/09 11:20 AM
Deepika said...
Hi Erika, yes it is indeed a hand painted scarf. My friend donna teaches it in her studio here in Massachusetts.
5/21/09 1:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Material Things 102
photo
Review by Anne Franc... on 3/26/06
Read Review

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2345 Misses'
photo
Review by PAMomof3 on 7/8/11
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us