SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Brother
Brother

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5042 (Swirl Skirt)

9 more reviews
Viewed 532 times 
Reviewed by:lizziwhizz
photo

 
 
About lizziwhizzstarstar
ME USA
Member since: 4/22/07
Reviews: 90 (patterns: 90)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/09 5:02 PM
Review Rating:
Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
chaos dome said... (2/28/09 11:54 AM) Reply
I have read that to put a zipper in a bias seam, you hang the garment at least overnight to let it shift as much as it is going to, then you carefully pin or baste the zipper in as flat as you can manage. If I were you, I would take off the waistband and redo the zipper. Then I would shorten the waistband to fit and re-attach. If you do, you might end up with a skirt that you love! Also, just think how much you have learned from this project!
AuntieShel said... (1/19/09 2:05 PM) Reply
Well, your skirt looks great, even if you aren't completely happy with it. It's frustrating that the instructions don't explain things better, like how to put a zipper in a bias seam.
Diana M said... (1/18/09 9:43 PM) Reply
Wow -- the photo is enough to make me go out and get the pattern right now -- and I'll definitely print this review before I start sewing it.
renren said... (1/18/09 8:15 PM) Reply
It looks lovely--too bad about the waist and too bad the pattern did not lead you through the process a little better. But congratulations on sticking with it until you finished! That's hard to do when things aren't shaping up right.
Stephenie said... (1/18/09 5:47 PM) Reply
Despite all of your trouble with this pattern, I think your skirt turned out beautifully! I understand why it became a UFO... sounds like a lot of work. Congrats on finishing UFO #5!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Simplicity 1660

photo
by: LizzieInBr...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1387

photo
by: SarahWeb

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Pattern Details
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Pattern Details