SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5042 (Swirl Skirt)

9 more reviews
Viewed 521 times 
Reviewed by:lizziwhizz
photo

 
 
About lizziwhizzstarstar
ME USA
Member since: 4/22/07
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/09 5:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chaos dome said... (2/28/09 11:54 AM) Reply
I have read that to put a zipper in a bias seam, you hang the garment at least overnight to let it shift as much as it is going to, then you carefully pin or baste the zipper in as flat as you can manage. If I were you, I would take off the waistband and redo the zipper. Then I would shorten the waistband to fit and re-attach. If you do, you might end up with a skirt that you love! Also, just think how much you have learned from this project!
AuntieShel said... (1/19/09 2:05 PM) Reply
Well, your skirt looks great, even if you aren't completely happy with it. It's frustrating that the instructions don't explain things better, like how to put a zipper in a bias seam.
Diana M said... (1/18/09 9:43 PM) Reply
Wow -- the photo is enough to make me go out and get the pattern right now -- and I'll definitely print this review before I start sewing it.
renren said... (1/18/09 8:15 PM) Reply
It looks lovely--too bad about the waist and too bad the pattern did not lead you through the process a little better. But congratulations on sticking with it until you finished! That's hard to do when things aren't shaping up right.
Stephenie said... (1/18/09 5:47 PM) Reply
Despite all of your trouble with this pattern, I think your skirt turned out beautifully! I understand why it became a UFO... sounds like a lot of work. Congrats on finishing UFO #5!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Pauline Alice Ninot jacket

photo
by: rosiewedne...

Review
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Colette Patterns 3004

photo
by: RainyDayPe...

Review