SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5042 (Swirl Skirt)

9 more reviews
Viewed 521 times 
Reviewed by:lizziwhizz
photo

 
 
About lizziwhizzstarstar
ME USA
Member since: 4/22/07
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/09 5:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chaos dome said...
I have read that to put a zipper in a bias seam, you hang the garment at least overnight to let it shift as much as it is going to, then you carefully pin or baste the zipper in as flat as you can manage. If I were you, I would take off the waistband and redo the zipper. Then I would shorten the waistband to fit and re-attach. If you do, you might end up with a skirt that you love! Also, just think how much you have learned from this project!
2/28/09 11:54 AM
AuntieShel said...
Well, your skirt looks great, even if you aren't completely happy with it. It's frustrating that the instructions don't explain things better, like how to put a zipper in a bias seam.
1/19/09 2:05 PM
Diana M said...
Wow -- the photo is enough to make me go out and get the pattern right now -- and I'll definitely print this review before I start sewing it.
1/18/09 9:43 PM
Renren said...
It looks lovely--too bad about the waist and too bad the pattern did not lead you through the process a little better. But congratulations on sticking with it until you finished! That's hard to do when things aren't shaping up right.
1/18/09 8:15 PM
Stephenie said...
Despite all of your trouble with this pattern, I think your skirt turned out beautifully! I understand why it became a UFO... sounds like a lot of work. Congrats on finishing UFO #5!
1/18/09 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 1027

photo
by: emr

Review
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com Gertie\'s Bow tie blouse

photo
by: Seamstress...

Review