Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Islander Sewing Systems: 202 (Men's Classic Sport Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 364 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Joey in Katy
photo
About Joey in Katystar
TX
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/09 11:01 PM
Last Updated:1/21/09 1:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $19.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Great looking shirt! I can't believe that this is the first review of this that anyone has done--I sew for my fiance and I've been curious about the Islander patterns.
1/21/09 1:30 AM
FreyaStark said...
A handsome shirt. Well done.
1/21/09 2:28 AM
Renren said...
I like the shirt and thanks for the info on Islander--wasn't aware of the patterns or videos.
1/21/09 7:30 AM
JEF said...
I too am an Islander sewing method fan. I have the Islander shirt pattern for my husband but haven't made it yet (it's on the short list but I'm such a slow sewer even the short list takes a while!). Thanks for this review - your notes of pattern goofs will undoubtedly save folks time and frustration in the future. Have you told Islander about the pattern layout issue? They might appreciate being able to put another sticker on!
1/21/09 9:12 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks for the great, thorough review! But I think your messed-up yokes aren't popping into being in an alternate universe, unless you count my sewing room as an alternate universe! Boy, I'd really like to get my hands on one of those DVDs...
1/21/09 10:40 AM
LindaCB said...
A very nice shirt. I, too, have been curious about the Islander patterns and with this review, is now encouraged to try one of them.
1/21/09 10:56 AM
j222b said...
Review is "sew" helpful!
1/21/09 1:45 PM
quathy said...
Great review - and hilarious! I'd love to visit that alternate universe someday!
1/21/09 7:16 PM
Ody said...
I agree with JEF, and I am also a huge Margaret fan. When I get to the end of a seam and use her method to make them even, I always say---thank you Margaret. I have all her videos, but I have yet to get a pattern from them. I love your shirt and this was a wonderful review from you as usual.
1/22/09 0:03 AM
Hilary said...
Unfortunately the pic of your shirt isn't showing up (except for the thumbnail) so I couldn't really see it-but your review made me LOL and I appreciate all the detailed info! Thanks for a great review! Next time I watch Stargate I will see if there are any wonky yokes floating around in those alternate dimensions :D hehe
10/14/10 2:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 6173
photo
Review by bluenines on 1/20/13
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8712
photo
Review by sfshaza on 1/25/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3949 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )
Simplicity 3949 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us