Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-110 (mock wrap top w/ front gathers) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1012 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/09 8:28 AM
Last Updated:1/31/09 12:16 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sic said...
Very cute version!
1/21/09 9:27 AM
Re Becca said...
Love the colors, and you just can't beat a one evening shirt that looks so good!
1/21/09 9:29 AM
Karen6790 said...
This one was on my list to sew before I saw yours, but it just jumped up a few steps because of it. Great top, perfect fabric for it - and yes, I have made the acquaintance of that annoying little pleat on more than one occasion. Beautiful top.
1/21/09 9:33 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely - the fabric is beautiful
1/21/09 9:35 AM
Elke said...
Cute top and great fabric!
1/21/09 10:11 AM
martinanne said...
Thank you for the review! I am glad I have this issue because I really want to make this top.
1/21/09 10:49 AM
annie11 said...
You never cease to amaze me with your gorgeous wardrobe! Great job, and thanks for the tip on raising the neckline.
1/21/09 11:18 AM
shesflipped said...
Cute, cute! Great print, great style!
1/21/09 12:05 PM
Em's Summer said...
This turned out beautifully! As usual!
1/21/09 12:49 PM
Annette1 said...
What a great review, and this top is just PERFECT! Your raising of the neckline brought it to just the right point where it looks nice and yet you don't have to worry about it being too low. You wondered if any of us were familiar with "that annoying little pleat captured in the seam." Why, yes, I'm WELL familiar with that annoying little pleat! In fact, I had a COUPLE of annoying little such pleats in that gathered top I made too. :o) However, I can out-annoy anybody, so I won in the end (with a little help from my friend, the seam ripper). This is one of your BEST TOPS YET! :o)
1/21/09 2:43 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Those gold dots are fun! Thanks for the helpful hints about revising the famous BWOF plunge, and the seaming tips that I am sure non-serger owners are grateful for.
1/21/09 3:05 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Thanks for the great review. Your top turned out sooo cute. When I saw the photo I thought that isn't so low cut but after reading the review I can see why. I'll have to try that since I hope to make it up one of these days.
1/21/09 4:51 PM
PixieCat said...
Lovely fabric and beautiful top. It looks great on you!
1/21/09 4:54 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, your top and the fabric used are divine! You know, I completely missed this top in the BWOF issue and your excellent review has me running to the bookshelf. I must have it and like you, I shun the Burda plunge and will follow your lead. Your closet of stunning tops must be nothing short of breathtaking. Another beauty for you, Lily
1/21/09 5:45 PM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty! Count me as another person who didn't notice this top in BWOF but loves your version!
1/21/09 6:28 PM
Christas said...
Well, you have done it again! How you turn out so many cute garments I haven't a clue! Everything always looks great. This top is no exception. Love that fabulous fabric!
1/21/09 9:54 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great top, and great review as well.
1/21/09 10:14 PM
Ody said...
I looked at the picture and thought I bet she got that fabric from Gorgeous Things. You have such good taste in fabric and then you match with the right pattern so well. Great job and the top is gorgeous on you!
1/22/09 0:10 AM
Renren said...
I saw your review and said, "Let's check out Heatherrique's Boutique," and of course found something extraordinary. Another beautiful, unique top!
1/22/09 0:31 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks great on you!! I'm glad you love it so much, too.
1/22/09 3:01 AM
nicegirl said...
Very cute top! I'd love to see a picture of those three layers if you get a chance. I am having a hard time picturing it and I'd like to be lazy and piggyback on your work. Heh.
1/22/09 10:59 AM
Peggym said...
great top . I will look it out and give it a go. It is very elegant
1/22/09 11:34 AM
ryan's mom said...
This rocks, especially with that great print! In fact, I think I made a top in the same type of fabric, but different shade--pink/purple with sequins. That is such a fun print. You're looking like a Hot Momma for sure!
1/22/09 12:47 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very cute top!
1/22/09 1:57 PM
Kbenco said...
Very smart top, and very helpful review. I will be copying your neckline adjustment. A one evening top is just what I need!
1/22/09 3:51 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very cute top! Most helpful review. I, too, will be copying your neckline adjustment. I also love your gorgeous fabric!
1/22/09 4:17 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Duplicate post. People always comment that they didn't know how it happened. Truly, I don't know how this happened!
1/22/09 6:37 PM
Gelbean said...
Cute top. I love the fabric.
1/22/09 7:29 PM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, you look an absolute knock-out in this! The style of the top is intriguingly different and the design of the fabric really sets it off perfectly. You've definitely inspired me to become a Burda WOF convert. Great work!
1/23/09 1:58 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the very kind comments! NiceGirl, I included a quick pic of the inside. I hope that helps!
1/23/09 8:35 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, your top is so flattering and feminine. Thanks for such a helpful review. I'll be referring to your adjustments when I finally start working on mine.
1/23/09 9:16 AM
pterion said...
Nice wrap top and you always have such fun reviews!
1/23/09 9:42 AM
cindy-lou said...
VERRRRRY cute top! Thanks for the helpful post-its. :)
1/23/09 1:43 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love your top!
1/23/09 1:50 PM
cindy-lou said...
VERRRRRY cute top! Thanks for the helpful post-its. :)
1/23/09 2:08 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Very cute. Your titles make me giggle...
1/23/09 9:07 PM
crisford said...
Very nice top, and your fabric looks perfect for this pattern!
1/24/09 9:37 AM
Kellie R. said...
Fabulous top!!!! I agree, it's very feminine and flattering. I can see it dressed up with a nice skirt or down with casual pants or jeans. Great job and very helpful review!
1/31/09 2:38 PM
Elke said...
Cute top and fabric!
1/31/09 3:22 PM
ITAdmin said...
Both your tops and the prints are great. Neat pattern, too, although I can see how it could present some unique challenges.
1/31/09 4:00 PM
marjenann said...
What can I say?? Beautiful as always!!!!
1/31/09 4:32 PM
sewbehind said...
I will add my praise to your growing list! Great looking top. You look terrific.
1/31/09 7:03 PM
Christas said...
This version is fantastic! Love it!
1/31/09 7:27 PM
Heidi Ho said...
This version turned out beautiful too! I have a question though since I plan to make this and raise the neckline. When you joined the bodice front to the curved lower section did you join it higher up on the curved piece or did you gather it more. Since I haven't traced this pattern off yet I was curious how you did it. I like the low version shown in BWOF but it really limits where you can wear it. The tale about your student's comment was cute and entertaining!
1/31/09 8:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Heidi, since I raised the left and right necklines 2" starting from the lower end, tapering to zero below the shoulders, I had to raise the right front's gathered part so that it was higher than what was marked on the curved edge of the left front. I searched and could not find an asterisk or mark for the placement on the curved piece of the lower left section. You can baste all the edges together and adjust accordingly to center the neckline and to determine your desired level of the neckline.
1/31/09 9:20 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Thanks. That was the way it looked when I compared your photo with the one in the magazine but I wasn't quite sure. I love both of your tops, they look great.. I'm inspired...that is what I should be working on instead of wool pants since this winter has been hotter than summer usually is where I live.
1/31/09 11:39 PM
Mufffet said...
Another great top. LOVE the black and white fabric! Terrific fit!
2/1/09 4:38 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Do you manage to keep a straight face when the students come up with the awesome thoughts they so freely share?? :) Another great top! Your daughter is so adorable too!
2/2/09 12:31 PM
UteK said...
Your shirts looks great. Thank you for sharing your modifications which were very helpful for me. With this aid from your review IŽll hurry to get my new shirt.
3/11/09 3:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

StyleArc Ivy knit top Ivy knit top
photo
Review by thequirkyp... on 8/28/13
Read Review

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6366 Apron
photo
Review by abbijane on 12/19/13
Read Review

McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us