SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7862 (Brocade Bag)

9 more reviews
Viewed 510 times 
Reviewed by:Noile
photo

 
 
About Noilestarstar
USA
Member since: 7/3/04
Reviews: 108 (patterns: 95)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/09 10:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Noile said... (1/22/09 5:31 PM) Reply
Thanks for your comments, everyone! fuzzygalore, yes, my wallet does fall out of this pocket! (Not, however, anywhere other than in my sewing room.) If you move around at all, or shift other things in the pocket, the danger's real, and worth avoiding. You make an an interesting point about cell phones, and you can see in the picture above that I actually keep it in the shoulder strap, since this bag has that handy feature. In over five years of using my transferable pockets, none of my low-tech cell phones has ever affected any of the cards I carry -- but that may not be true for those of you who have much cooler phones than I do!
fuzzygalore said... (1/22/09 1:44 PM) Reply
Actually your wallet won't fall out of it. I've tried on the original, and SB says so too (and she's not that stupid..). I even have a vertical pocket in my current backpack, and nothing's ever fallen out of it, even when I forget it open for hours. Really like your transferable pocket, it does allow you to change bags without forgetting half your life. But now that I've found out that your cell phone can demagnetize your credit card, your bus pass, your work badge, I'd recommend putting it into the handle pocket for it on this bag, and not having it part of the whole thing as you pictured..
renren said... (1/22/09 0:20 AM) Reply
Very beautiful! I have this pattern and will refer to your review prior to sewing it. In total amazement that you saw the problem with the vertical zipper BEFORE sewing it and BEFORE all your stuff fell on the floor! Thanks for saving me.
pterion said... (1/21/09 10:57 PM) Reply
You have certainly improved this pattern and your bag looks beautiful.
QuiltersFan said... (1/21/09 10:50 PM) Reply
I just made this bag on the weekend but still need to review. I like the way it hangs on the shoulder. I plan to make the smaller version next time and am looking at adding additional pockets as well. I like your additions. Yours looks great.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

StyleArc Cosy Cardi

photo
by: PattyE

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 197911-1001

photo
by: Mimsy Boro...

Review
Mini Miranda Bag Paper Pattern

Mini Miranda Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Pattern Details