Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7862 (Brocade Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 464 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Noile
photo
About Noilestarstar
USA
Member since: 7/3/04
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 95
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/09 10:36 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltersFan said...
I just made this bag on the weekend but still need to review. I like the way it hangs on the shoulder. I plan to make the smaller version next time and am looking at adding additional pockets as well. I like your additions. Yours looks great.
1/21/09 10:50 PM
pterion said...
You have certainly improved this pattern and your bag looks beautiful.
1/21/09 10:57 PM
Renren said...
Very beautiful! I have this pattern and will refer to your review prior to sewing it. In total amazement that you saw the problem with the vertical zipper BEFORE sewing it and BEFORE all your stuff fell on the floor! Thanks for saving me.
1/22/09 0:20 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Actually your wallet won't fall out of it. I've tried on the original, and SB says so too (and she's not that stupid..). I even have a vertical pocket in my current backpack, and nothing's ever fallen out of it, even when I forget it open for hours. Really like your transferable pocket, it does allow you to change bags without forgetting half your life. But now that I've found out that your cell phone can demagnetize your credit card, your bus pass, your work badge, I'd recommend putting it into the handle pocket for it on this bag, and not having it part of the whole thing as you pictured..
1/22/09 1:44 PM
Noile said...
Thanks for your comments, everyone! fuzzygalore, yes, my wallet does fall out of this pocket! (Not, however, anywhere other than in my sewing room.) If you move around at all, or shift other things in the pocket, the danger's real, and worth avoiding. You make an an interesting point about cell phones, and you can see in the picture above that I actually keep it in the shoulder strap, since this bag has that handy feature. In over five years of using my transferable pockets, none of my low-tech cell phones has ever affected any of the cards I carry -- but that may not be true for those of you who have much cooler phones than I do!
1/22/09 5:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2008-108:Blouse Blouse
photo
Review by CatMukai on 3/20/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8687 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8687 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4760
photo
Review by smarttart on 9/26/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us