Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3628 (Jackets/Blazers (Threads)) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 706 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Heidi Ho
photo
About Heidi Hostar
CA USA
Member since: 2/2/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/09 11:28 PM
Last Updated:1/21/09 11:40 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
What a great review, not to mention the jacket! It's PERFECTLY fitted. I FEEL YOUR PAIN with the fusible interfacing problem. I've done EXACTLY the same thing you did before. I will say, though, the BEST fusible interfacing I've EVER used comes from Pamela Erny (I hope I'm spelling her last name correctly), which you can get at this site, should you ever wish to: http://sewexciting.blogspot.com/ In the meantime, though, we'll be looking forward to your next FABULOUS jacket! :o)
1/21/09 11:55 PM
Christas said...
This looks perfect! The fit and everything is wonderful! You did a great job. EXCELLENT review!
1/22/09 0:22 AM
Renren said...
You have made a beautiful jacket to go with your wonderful Burda pants and the top you reviewed earlier today! Everything is just gorgeous!
1/22/09 0:27 AM
jlg said...
The jacket turned out beautiful. Great job of fitting.
1/22/09 5:31 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous looking jacket! Superb and flattering fit! I'm glad that you found the solution to the interfacing problem. It took me years to switch over to fusible interfacing because I always have preferred the sew-in ones! Yup, there are still uses for the sew-ins!
1/22/09 8:02 AM
jent said...
The fit of this jacket on you is exceptional. It looks fantastic!
1/22/09 8:16 AM
KrystalL said...
Nice review. Great looking jacket!
1/22/09 8:49 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great jacket! Thank you so much for the link to bagging a lining. I was just wondering yesterday about this technique and wanted to try it. You are a mind reader! lol Ronda
1/22/09 9:57 AM
mastdenman said...
Great looking jacket. I feel your pain with the fusible too. I will never, ever again use a fusible on a nice fabric.
1/22/09 10:31 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful jacket to go with the trousers - thought I recognized them! So glad you were able to overcome your problems, as the jacket is tremendously flattering. Esp love the pocket!
1/22/09 12:45 PM
ALY said...
I think the fit is suberb. It shows off your great figure. The next jacket you make will be easier because of all the "learnings" you had with this one.
1/22/09 6:20 PM
Sew Shy said...
I made this pattern recently and love it! Definitely a wardrobe builder. Yours looks great, and I said aloud to my hubby when I saw yours "she put pockets in!!". Thanks for the great review and the clear pictures.
1/22/09 11:07 PM
persevering said...
Thank you for your great review. The fit and style look superb on you!
1/22/09 11:23 PM
persevering said...
Can you please add what size pattern you used (as that would be most helpful as we may share some measurements)?
1/22/09 11:28 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Persevering, I used a size 10 pattern even though my measurements are closer to a 12. Though the fit looks good, from a comfort standpoint it binds a bit on me through the upper arms and shoulder though I don't think it looks tight..who can figure.
1/22/09 11:48 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Thank all of you for your nice comments, it really makes me feel good and glad that I hung in there to finish this jacket!
1/22/09 11:50 PM
persevering said...
Your response with additional information is very much appreciated! :)
1/22/09 11:58 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautifully done. Great looking jacket and great review.
1/23/09 4:06 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Really cute and better than the envelope! Fits beautifully.
1/23/09 4:25 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
SHARP JACKET, lady! The pockets are excellent and I do hear ya, jackets without pockets - meh! A real, lined, tailored jacket is my personal Mt. Everest -- never attempted yet, I am so impressed by yours.
1/24/09 10:33 PM
kristinlala said...
Wow- great job! I am looking at patterns I want since they are on sale at HL this week- and I LOVE yours....soooo nice. Maybe I'll buy it for the future so I can learn how to do the pockets, etc! :) Awesome job!
3/29/10 11:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 2700
photo
Review by JennyAnne on 1/7/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3527 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3527 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5893 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5893 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5357
photo
Review by sewin on 10/3/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jeans for Real People DVD Set
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us