SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Victoria Jones Collection> 210 (Hawaiian Classics: Aloha Shirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 286 times 
Reviewed by:Joey in Katy
photo

 
 
About Joey in Katystar
TX
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/09 10:59 PM
Last Updated:1/24/09 11:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heidi Ho said...
Nice shirt!
1/22/09 11:12 PM
Leora said...
This has been touted as the most authentic Hawaiian style pattern available, but wouldn't you know every time I go look it is sold out!?! Mayhaps I should look again. Your shirt is great looking, nice fabric!
1/23/09 1:38 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very distinctive garment. Well done.
1/23/09 1:59 AM
Renren said...
This is the 2nd very cool shirt review you have posted recently . . . and they are both great. Again, another pattern company I have not heard of. I think December is the men's clothing contest, and maybe I will be up to trying it after reading your reviews. How do you compare this pattern with the last one you posted as far as ease of sewing and fit?
1/23/09 2:18 AM
Joey in Katy said...
They both are easy to sew, the collar instructions are easier on this one. Since I've done several of these, I've figured out what alterations I need to make it fit me. The Islander shirt fit pretty well out of the box, though. BTW, Leora, this pattern is available on the Victoria Jones website at http://victoriajonescollection.com -- although I got my copy from Ebay.
1/23/09 9:38 AM
Mufffet said...
So - not a Hawaii shirt, but a VERMONT shirt!!!! HAHAHAHHAAA......I love it!
1/23/09 10:23 AM
donna wicks said...
Thanks for doing this review. I was in Hawaii recently and bought this pattern to make a shirt for my husband. I had never heard of these patterns before until I found them in a fabric store in Waikiki. I bought fabric there also for several shirts.
1/24/09 10:20 PM
Renu Dee said...
Thank you for your detailed review. It is greatly appreciated.
12/29/09 9:33 PM
caps326 said...
I'm having problem with the front band. Don't know why I can't figure it out. Any comments? Carol
7/2/14 0:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Portabello Pixie Sewing Bits & Pieces

photo
by: dawn so ca...

Review
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5700

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review