SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> 000 (Table Napkins)

37 more reviews
Viewed 1709 times 
Reviewed by:NancyDaQ
photo

 
 
About NancyDaQstar
NM USA
Member since: 1/12/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/03 12:30 PM
Last Updated:4/6/04 7:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Thanks for linking to this from the message board. I've been wondering if the quilting cotton would be soft / absorbant enough for napkins. I'll have to check out the selection! (Now I just need to convince DH to use cloth napkins... he always insists on using paper.)
1/20/06 8:30 PM
G.G. said...
nice,quick idea. brightens up a presentation at any meal. may find that fabric and make as a housewarming git for my daughter. use them as we sip ice tea or lemonade on the patio. (haha)
4/13/04 12:29 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Try making a puddle of Fray check, then using a toothpick or straight pin to apply it to the fabric. You will get better contol over the application. Besides they're only napkins (not a gift); if the Fray check messed them up to much they would have been tossed. No big loss.
4/13/04 0:32 AM
JDpenelope said...
Ooo, I like these napkins! Regarding the use of Fray check...Probably I'm more daring now, but I think I was afraid of loose , hard threads showing with sort of bunchy knots where the Fray check was used. But I think I'm getting better at it now (or am less particular!)
4/9/04 7:41 AM
CyberNewt said...
Great napkins! I am so inspired. :)
4/6/04 9:10 PM
Hilary said...
Very nice looking napkins~bright and cheery! Now that I have figured out how to do a rolled hem on my serger(my first attempts were botched) I should be able to whip out some napkins very quickly. Thanks for the review!
4/6/04 8:07 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Penelope, why are you wanting to avoid Fray check? It absorbs into the rolled edge and is not visible. I also didn't notice any scratchiness.
10/22/03 1:16 PM
JDpenelope said...
Looking forward to photos. I want to use my new serger to make Thanksgiving and Christmas napkins, with rolled hems. I have tried your tip about tapering and it works. I wish there was an alternative to using fray check on the napkins, but I guess the rolled hem would be too tight to bury the thread tail under it (using a large darning, etc needle), as one can do with serged seams.
10/21/03 10:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

No Pattern Used Shorts/no pattern went of

photo
by: usbeckers

Review
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2339

photo
by: MegWight

Review