Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: 000 (Table Napkins) thumbsup - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 1701 times 37 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:NancyDaQ
photo
About NancyDaQstar
NM USA
Member since: 1/12/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/19/03 12:30 PM
Last Updated:4/6/04 7:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Looking forward to photos. I want to use my new serger to make Thanksgiving and Christmas napkins, with rolled hems. I have tried your tip about tapering and it works. I wish there was an alternative to using fray check on the napkins, but I guess the rolled hem would be too tight to bury the thread tail under it (using a large darning, etc needle), as one can do with serged seams.
10/21/03 10:39 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Penelope, why are you wanting to avoid Fray check? It absorbs into the rolled edge and is not visible. I also didn't notice any scratchiness.
10/22/03 1:16 PM
Hilary said...
Very nice looking napkins~bright and cheery! Now that I have figured out how to do a rolled hem on my serger(my first attempts were botched) I should be able to whip out some napkins very quickly. Thanks for the review!
4/6/04 8:07 PM
CyberNewt said...
Great napkins! I am so inspired. :)
4/6/04 9:10 PM
JDpenelope said...
Ooo, I like these napkins! Regarding the use of Fray check...Probably I'm more daring now, but I think I was afraid of loose , hard threads showing with sort of bunchy knots where the Fray check was used. But I think I'm getting better at it now (or am less particular!)
4/9/04 7:41 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Try making a puddle of Fray check, then using a toothpick or straight pin to apply it to the fabric. You will get better contol over the application. Besides they're only napkins (not a gift); if the Fray check messed them up to much they would have been tossed. No big loss.
4/13/04 0:32 AM
G.G. said...
nice,quick idea. brightens up a presentation at any meal. may find that fabric and make as a housewarming git for my daughter. use them as we sip ice tea or lemonade on the patio. (haha)
4/13/04 12:29 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for linking to this from the message board. I've been wondering if the quilting cotton would be soft / absorbant enough for napkins. I'll have to check out the selection! (Now I just need to convince DH to use cloth napkins... he always insists on using paper.)
1/20/06 8:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Abacadabra Fashionetta Quilt
photo
Review by AnneMarie6... on 4/15/12
Read Review

Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6643 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6643 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 9549
photo
Review by mymehigan on 7/24/08
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern
SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us