Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Mrs. Stylebook Magazine: 04-2002-(92/225) (Pintuck Sleeveless Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 246 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Jali
photo
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/09 5:58 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
When I saw the pintucks, I thought it was intentionally an asymmetric look, and thought they looked great. Very precise and how lucky that center-to-center measurement of the design was 1 cm. Wonder how often we get that lucky with our fabric??? Very nice detail in your top and in your review. Someone was asking about pintucks the other day; I'll point her here.
1/25/09 6:37 AM
Renren said...
One thing I meant to tell you, as a way of offering help: I read just last week that it is sometimes easier to add embellishments, such as pintucks, to fabric before the pattern is cut out. Never having done this, I don't know, but it seems reasonable. Anyway, I think your top is perfect as fabricated!
1/25/09 6:40 AM
Jali said...
Yes, it does seem reasonable Renren. I think the grainlines would be clearer so its possible to have straighter pintucks. Thank you very much, that's very helpful and much appreciated.
1/25/09 7:24 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Yes, some sort of regular print would help pintucks a lot! I second renren's advice of doing them before cutting too. Easier, and more accurate in the later steps. But might you also consider a wee adjustment for sloping shoulders? I can't remember whose shirt lately, with those same diagonal folds from the neck, elicited that unanimous advice from the peanut gallery (myself included). The MS picture does seem to have more ease, but mostly it's made in a drapier fabric, and you might have ended up with a potato sack if you'd added more ease into this fairly crisp rendition. Anyway, from what I gather of Singapore's climate, you'll be getting a lot of use out of this cute top :-)..
1/25/09 12:02 PM
Seaspur said...
Cute top, very thorough review, thanks!
1/25/09 12:18 PM
knitlitcamper said...
Looks great on you, you did an excellent job.
1/25/09 4:51 PM
ALY said...
Your blouse is lovely. Congrats on doing such a great job with the drafting after a lapse of a couple years
1/25/09 8:03 PM
AuntieShel said...
I love your top!! It looks fabulous and you did a great job with your sloper. That takes a lot of patience. Would love to get my hands on a Mrs. Stylebook.
1/25/09 8:03 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for the kind comments everyone. Its a nice, breezy and sunny holiday in Singapore today and I wore the top outdoors for strolling by the Singapore River. I found myself wearing it with pride in spite of its imperfections (and I am a perfectionist) preferring this to wearing mass market RTW. Its just more personal and satisfying.
1/26/09 3:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 6838 6838
photo
Review by Kayseri on 9/9/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

McCalls 6228 Pattern ( Size 34-36 )
McCalls 6228 Pattern ( Size 34-36 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us