SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 74692-1002 (Classic Crew Neck T-shirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 109 times 
Reviewed by:Richy
photo

 
 
About Richystar
MA USA
Member since: 10/6/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/09 11:55 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jill Giard said...
Great shirt! The fabric is awesome - where did you get it?
1/25/09 12:03 PM
Richy said...
CatMukai, the wrong side of the fabric has an almost shear black backing. I don't think this is pieced in the sense that each color is seamed together. I was having a really hard time trying to explain the look of the fabric and I think what I wrote was misleading. Basically the fabric is not flat: each color is raised a tiny bit in the center with the edges depressed, given the illusion that each color is separate. The fabric is probably continuous but the way the fabric is constructed each color appears separate. Jill, I got the fabric at a fabric warehouse in Rahway, NJ. You have to sort through a lot, but often times you will find something great.
1/25/09 12:09 PM
JustTrina said...
Great Shirt, love the fabric. You might want to try a double needle on your reg. machine with a stretch straight stitch or a single needle with a stretch zig zag. I do the zig zag on my toddlers shirts, it works will but may not look as nice for an adult shirt. and i really like the print in the other shirt as well in photo 4!
1/25/09 1:01 PM
Immelu said...
Hi Richy! that looks great! Here's what i do for hems, and it seems to be working great. I first overlock, then I use dritz wash away wonder tape to hold the hem up, then double needle. After washing the tape out, the hem is really stretchy and pretty much perfect. Here's a link to the stuff. http://scrapmasters-inc.amazonwebstore.com/Washaway-Wonder-Tape-14X10-Yards/M/B000YZAQJQ.htm I use it on all my knit hems (and even some wovens) because it works so well.
1/25/09 1:12 PM
CatMukai said...
The fabric is pieced? Wow. Can you post a photo of the fabric's wrong side please? I'm curious
1/25/09 1:44 PM
Christas said...
Wow! Great shirt.... looks fantastic!
1/25/09 4:38 PM
MammaJamma said...
To answer your hem question: The others gave great alternatives. My latest favorite knit hem treatment is to use a double needle. The pattern of the bobbin thread on the back side is better than a regular zigzag stitch when it comes to stretch. For even better stretch, hand-wind wooly nylon onto the bobbin. It even works on swimsuit elastic, and almost matches the look of a factory double stitch row. Double needles come in different spacings. The more narrow ones seem to create a ridge of fabric between the 2 rows of stitching. People even use them to make pintucks on more heirloom linen type projects. Good luck! It is fun to see your progress from garment to garment.
1/27/09 11:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

New Look 6103

photo
by: carolinasc...

Review
Other Stuffed Sloth

photo
by: Nikki

Review
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now