SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 74692-1002 (Classic Crew Neck T-shirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 109 times 
Reviewed by:Richy
photo

 
 
About Richystar
MA USA
Member since: 10/6/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/09 11:55 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MammaJamma said...
To answer your hem question: The others gave great alternatives. My latest favorite knit hem treatment is to use a double needle. The pattern of the bobbin thread on the back side is better than a regular zigzag stitch when it comes to stretch. For even better stretch, hand-wind wooly nylon onto the bobbin. It even works on swimsuit elastic, and almost matches the look of a factory double stitch row. Double needles come in different spacings. The more narrow ones seem to create a ridge of fabric between the 2 rows of stitching. People even use them to make pintucks on more heirloom linen type projects. Good luck! It is fun to see your progress from garment to garment.
1/27/09 11:22 PM
Christas said...
Wow! Great shirt.... looks fantastic!
1/25/09 4:38 PM
CatMukai said...
The fabric is pieced? Wow. Can you post a photo of the fabric's wrong side please? I'm curious
1/25/09 1:44 PM
Immelu said...
Hi Richy! that looks great! Here's what i do for hems, and it seems to be working great. I first overlock, then I use dritz wash away wonder tape to hold the hem up, then double needle. After washing the tape out, the hem is really stretchy and pretty much perfect. Here's a link to the stuff. http://scrapmasters-inc.amazonwebstore.com/Washaway-Wonder-Tape-14X10-Yards/M/B000YZAQJQ.htm I use it on all my knit hems (and even some wovens) because it works so well.
1/25/09 1:12 PM
JustTrina said...
Great Shirt, love the fabric. You might want to try a double needle on your reg. machine with a stretch straight stitch or a single needle with a stretch zig zag. I do the zig zag on my toddlers shirts, it works will but may not look as nice for an adult shirt. and i really like the print in the other shirt as well in photo 4!
1/25/09 1:01 PM
Richy said...
CatMukai, the wrong side of the fabric has an almost shear black backing. I don't think this is pieced in the sense that each color is seamed together. I was having a really hard time trying to explain the look of the fabric and I think what I wrote was misleading. Basically the fabric is not flat: each color is raised a tiny bit in the center with the edges depressed, given the illusion that each color is separate. The fabric is probably continuous but the way the fabric is constructed each color appears separate. Jill, I got the fabric at a fabric warehouse in Rahway, NJ. You have to sort through a lot, but often times you will find something great.
1/25/09 12:09 PM
Jill Giard said...
Great shirt! The fabric is awesome - where did you get it?
1/25/09 12:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 8278

photo
by: shaleenyma...

Review
New Look 6145

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now