Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 74692-1002 (Classic Crew Neck T-shirt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 109 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Richy
photo
About Richystar
MA USA
Member since: 10/6/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/09 11:55 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jill Giard said...
Great shirt! The fabric is awesome - where did you get it?
1/25/09 12:03 PM
Richy said...
CatMukai, the wrong side of the fabric has an almost shear black backing. I don't think this is pieced in the sense that each color is seamed together. I was having a really hard time trying to explain the look of the fabric and I think what I wrote was misleading. Basically the fabric is not flat: each color is raised a tiny bit in the center with the edges depressed, given the illusion that each color is separate. The fabric is probably continuous but the way the fabric is constructed each color appears separate. Jill, I got the fabric at a fabric warehouse in Rahway, NJ. You have to sort through a lot, but often times you will find something great.
1/25/09 12:09 PM
JustTrina said...
Great Shirt, love the fabric. You might want to try a double needle on your reg. machine with a stretch straight stitch or a single needle with a stretch zig zag. I do the zig zag on my toddlers shirts, it works will but may not look as nice for an adult shirt. and i really like the print in the other shirt as well in photo 4!
1/25/09 1:01 PM
Immelu said...
Hi Richy! that looks great! Here's what i do for hems, and it seems to be working great. I first overlock, then I use dritz wash away wonder tape to hold the hem up, then double needle. After washing the tape out, the hem is really stretchy and pretty much perfect. Here's a link to the stuff. http://scrapmasters-inc.amazonwebstore.com/Washaway-Wonder-Tape-14X10-Yards/M/B000YZAQJQ.htm I use it on all my knit hems (and even some wovens) because it works so well.
1/25/09 1:12 PM
CatMukai said...
The fabric is pieced? Wow. Can you post a photo of the fabric's wrong side please? I'm curious
1/25/09 1:44 PM
Christas said...
Wow! Great shirt.... looks fantastic!
1/25/09 4:38 PM
MammaJamma said...
To answer your hem question: The others gave great alternatives. My latest favorite knit hem treatment is to use a double needle. The pattern of the bobbin thread on the back side is better than a regular zigzag stitch when it comes to stretch. For even better stretch, hand-wind wooly nylon onto the bobbin. It even works on swimsuit elastic, and almost matches the look of a factory double stitch row. Double needles come in different spacings. The more narrow ones seem to create a ridge of fabric between the 2 rows of stitching. People even use them to make pintucks on more heirloom linen type projects. Good luck! It is fun to see your progress from garment to garment.
1/27/09 11:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 1756 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by sewmytime on 10/4/13
Read Review

McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3588 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3588 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-120
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 5/11/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Louey Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Louey Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us