Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3012 (Making History Bustle gown) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 511 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo
About Kellie R.starstar
TX USA
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/09 5:11 PM
Last Updated:1/26/09 7:57 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shelyH said...
What a gorgeous dress! It looks awesome and you did a great job!
1/25/09 5:22 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your costume is a meticulously crafted masterpiece. You look stunning in it. I commend you for completing your labor-intensive endeavor well before it's needed, too.
1/25/09 5:33 PM
Kbenco said...
I love your stupendous gown. What a project!
1/25/09 5:36 PM
Stephenie said...
Wow!! This is gorgeous!!! Congratulations on finishing this huge project!
1/25/09 5:53 PM
Renren said...
Breathtakingly beautiful! Oh, Kellie R., this was worth the wait. My 16 y.o. dd2 stood over my shoulder and admired each of your views. The rosettes are beautiful. I am in awe of this fabulous UFO which had made landing!
1/25/09 6:28 PM
Re Becca said...
Stunning! I see why you spent so much time gathering and working on those rosettes. My hands hurt just thinking about it!
1/25/09 6:57 PM
AuntieShel said...
I'm speechless!! Awestruck!! This is beyond gorgeous!! It belongs on the red carpet!!
1/25/09 7:55 PM
cdi9c said...
Fabulous! I especially love the neckline and bottom hem trim!
1/25/09 8:03 PM
mars418 said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress! What an accomplishment!
1/25/09 9:04 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review. I just can't get OVER all of these EXQUISITE details you've incorporated into this dress. It's TOO NICE to be a costume! :o) I REALLY can't decide WHICH part I like the best, so I guess I just have to say THE WHOLE THING! Man, I think this would be a beautiful WEDDING DRESS too! (Okay, maybe not in BLACK, but you know what I mean.) :o) It's certainly as much WORK as a wedding dress.
1/25/09 9:29 PM
Deepika said...
You know the museums we all love to go to? Your dress belongs there. It really does. I mean just look at it. WOW!!!! Will you bring it to Portland? And you look STUNNING. The fit is perfect.
1/25/09 9:36 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I'm speechless! Wow. WOW. Major WOW.
1/25/09 11:12 PM
Annette1 said...
Don't mind me, I'm just looking at all the pictures AGAIN. :o) That NECKLINE ...
1/26/09 0:08 AM
merteuil said...
Absolutely stunning! I love all the fabulous details!
1/26/09 2:00 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
Whow, this looks great ! I really must get back to my victorian patterns, if the result is something like this...
1/26/09 5:06 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you all so much for your kind comments! I love making fun things, and this will definitely be fun to wear!
1/26/09 7:59 AM
squirrellypoo said...
WOW. the work you put into this is apparent in the final garment! This is museum quality!
1/26/09 8:28 AM
Renren said...
I, too, like Annette1, am back again! Thanks for adding the rosettes tutorial because ever since you mentioned those at the UFO discussion board, I have been intrigued by them. I'm leaving your review on the screen so dd2 can look at it again before she heads off for school. It will give her something beautiful to think about during physics and pre-cal.
1/26/09 8:34 AM
cindyann said...
Wow! That is lovely!
1/26/09 9:03 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a lot of work, it is such a unique dress and what fun for you to be able to say that you made it!
1/26/09 1:39 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can see how a project of this magnitude became a UFO, but I'm so glad you finished it. It's an amazing piece of work and looks fabulous on you.
1/26/09 3:02 PM
Diane333 said...
it's beautiful
1/26/09 9:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Impressively dazzling, Kellie! Thanks for a very helpful review!
1/27/09 8:43 AM
suebbb said...
OMG what an impressive project!! well done and congratulations on a spectacular job.
1/29/09 4:25 AM
alviana said...
WOW! Absolutely beautiful dress!!!! Love it!!!
1/30/09 10:18 PM
lotusposition said...
Wow, it's nice to see this made in black as that is how I intend to make it one day. Hmmm, not looking forward to it now but thanks for the extensive review.
2/3/09 11:29 PM
wendlesue said...
This is such a fabulous dress! And what a great review! I can't believe I missed this when you posted it....You look amazing in the dress, and IMHO you could wear it for more than Halloween!
2/26/09 7:26 AM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! This is amazing!!! What a beautiful gown!
3/10/09 10:17 AM
Tallahasseelassie said...
Thank you for taking the time to post your full review. I really appreciate the instructive advice for the pattern errors. You look gorgeous in your beautiful dress.
12/31/10 1:31 PM
LaSiddons said...
I was thinking of buying this pattern for a victorian ball I'm going to in September, however, I'd assumed that it would be a three part bodice, skirt, and over-skirt/train, and that it would be designed for wearing over a bustle petticoat, not with a faux bustle in the train ... very helpful to find all this out before shelling out the 40 to buy the pattern!!
3/7/13 2:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Japanese Pattern Books A1
photo
Review by TracyTheMa... on 8/15/11
Read Review

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Doll Emporium DE 601
photo
Review by jnamcd on 3/4/08
Read Review

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3963 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3963 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3804 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3804 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us