Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2700 (Now MUCH Better Fit Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1632 times 41 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:amy in mpls
photo
About amy in mplsstar
MN USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/09 12:32 PM
Last Updated:2/2/09 11:23 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
From the photo it looks as if you could go down a size or two. I'm not a fan of painted on pants, but you are drowning in those. One thing is that the crotch seam appears to be working for you. You might want to keep that and reduce at the edges.
1/26/09 12:42 PM
amy in mpls said...
Thank you EWP601!!!
1/26/09 12:45 PM
Darla in PA said...
Well, I would definitely say that you need to make a smaller size but not sure on how much smaller. Do you own RTW pants that have the right amount of ease? That would definitely put you in the correct size. Thanks for the review. I have this pattern also but haven't tried it yet.
1/26/09 12:47 PM
TC Sew What said...
I suggest Palmer/pletsch's book Pants for Real People. It has lots of suggestions for getting a good fit. I am always amazed by the measurements on patterns. You follow their instructions to choose the right size and style and it still doesn't work. But the previous poster is right- that crotch curve works for you. It is just the sides that need to come in. You need a sewing buddy who will pin stuff on you.
1/26/09 3:41 PM
mastdenman said...
Definitely, these pants look like they are too big. But remember that denim grows throughout the day as you wear it.
1/26/09 5:08 PM
tr1c14 said...
I agree with EWP601 - they are definitely too big but the crotch curve looks right. My method for dealing with this kind of a fit issue is unorthodox but may soon yield a review of pants that fit me. My method is to put on the pants, and then grab a stapler and staple it down to the size that feels right. If you're not in love with the fabric, this can save you the trouble of finding a sewing buddy to help you pin. PS - your 4leg friend is beautiful.
1/26/09 6:19 PM
solosmocker said...
I am working on one of these amazing fit patterns as we speak. I did a muslin. Once that was tweaked I realized I would be better a size down from what the pattern suggested I needed. I should have a review shortly. I think you are on the road to a great pair of pants. Keep on keepin on.
1/26/09 7:00 PM
Cody7 said...
I really like the style of these pants on you. They are just too big. By the look of your picture I would not say you are a size 16. You look more like a size 12 or 14. Have you double checked your measurements then looked at the finished measurements on the pattern piece to see what the finished measurement including ease will be. Keeping working on them though, you can tell they will suit you once you refine the fit.
1/27/09 5:35 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Thanks so much for your review! The pants look very well constructed, even if they are a bit big. Denim has a pesky habit of stretching out as you sew/wear, so that might be complicating matters. Be sure to keep us updated on your progress!
1/27/09 10:32 AM
PrairieTides said...
Thanks for the great review! I'd like to get this pattern, but only if someone else can get it to work nicely first! LOL! I definitely agree that you need to go down a size or two.
1/27/09 8:26 PM
catwoman! said...
I think you did a really nice job with the sewing, but you are right, the fit needs some adjustment. I think you're on the right track, because they fit well around the largest part of your hips/thighs, but the waist is too large. If you do as you say, and resize and reattach the waistband, I think it would be a great improvement. You might want to tighten up on the side seams up near the waistband, just to make them match up well. You seem to have the bulk to do that, since the piece at the pocket is rather roomy. And taking in the inseam a tad is also a good idea. Also, perhaps a touch shorter? Or do you plan to wear them with heels? At any rate, your sewing skills do show. Once you fit them perfectly, make those changes on the pattern right away, so that you will have your fit for your next pair. Thanks for the review! Gigi
1/28/09 3:54 AM
nicegirl said...
Those pants look great!
2/3/09 4:11 PM
NancyC said...
Dear Amy, I have had pants fitting issues for years and all the books I had on fitting pants never seam to address my issues then I bought Kenneth King's CD on drafting and fitting pants. It covers every fitting issue you can think of. I highly recommend it. Nancy C
3/1/09 7:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6078 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Lucinda on 7/17/10
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2054
photo
Review by ssmills on 11/6/12
Read Review

New Look 6056 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6056 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us