SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2700 (Now MUCH Better Fit Pants)

45 more reviews
Viewed 1640 times 
Reviewed by:amy in mpls
photo

 
 
About amy in mplsstar
MN USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/09 12:32 PM
Last Updated:2/2/09 11:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NancyC said...
Dear Amy, I have had pants fitting issues for years and all the books I had on fitting pants never seam to address my issues then I bought Kenneth King's CD on drafting and fitting pants. It covers every fitting issue you can think of. I highly recommend it. Nancy C
3/1/09 7:35 AM
nicegirl said...
Those pants look great!
2/3/09 4:11 PM
catwoman! said...
I think you did a really nice job with the sewing, but you are right, the fit needs some adjustment. I think you're on the right track, because they fit well around the largest part of your hips/thighs, but the waist is too large. If you do as you say, and resize and reattach the waistband, I think it would be a great improvement. You might want to tighten up on the side seams up near the waistband, just to make them match up well. You seem to have the bulk to do that, since the piece at the pocket is rather roomy. And taking in the inseam a tad is also a good idea. Also, perhaps a touch shorter? Or do you plan to wear them with heels? At any rate, your sewing skills do show. Once you fit them perfectly, make those changes on the pattern right away, so that you will have your fit for your next pair. Thanks for the review! Gigi
1/28/09 3:54 AM
PrairieTides said...
Thanks for the great review! I'd like to get this pattern, but only if someone else can get it to work nicely first! LOL! I definitely agree that you need to go down a size or two.
1/27/09 8:26 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Thanks so much for your review! The pants look very well constructed, even if they are a bit big. Denim has a pesky habit of stretching out as you sew/wear, so that might be complicating matters. Be sure to keep us updated on your progress!
1/27/09 10:32 AM
Cody7 said...
I really like the style of these pants on you. They are just too big. By the look of your picture I would not say you are a size 16. You look more like a size 12 or 14. Have you double checked your measurements then looked at the finished measurements on the pattern piece to see what the finished measurement including ease will be. Keeping working on them though, you can tell they will suit you once you refine the fit.
1/27/09 5:35 AM
solosmocker said...
I am working on one of these amazing fit patterns as we speak. I did a muslin. Once that was tweaked I realized I would be better a size down from what the pattern suggested I needed. I should have a review shortly. I think you are on the road to a great pair of pants. Keep on keepin on.
1/26/09 7:00 PM
tr1c14 said...
I agree with EWP601 - they are definitely too big but the crotch curve looks right. My method for dealing with this kind of a fit issue is unorthodox but may soon yield a review of pants that fit me. My method is to put on the pants, and then grab a stapler and staple it down to the size that feels right. If you're not in love with the fabric, this can save you the trouble of finding a sewing buddy to help you pin. PS - your 4leg friend is beautiful.
1/26/09 6:19 PM
mastdenman said...
Definitely, these pants look like they are too big. But remember that denim grows throughout the day as you wear it.
1/26/09 5:08 PM
TC Sew What said...
I suggest Palmer/pletsch's book Pants for Real People. It has lots of suggestions for getting a good fit. I am always amazed by the measurements on patterns. You follow their instructions to choose the right size and style and it still doesn't work. But the previous poster is right- that crotch curve works for you. It is just the sides that need to come in. You need a sewing buddy who will pin stuff on you.
1/26/09 3:41 PM
Darla in PA said...
Well, I would definitely say that you need to make a smaller size but not sure on how much smaller. Do you own RTW pants that have the right amount of ease? That would definitely put you in the correct size. Thanks for the review. I have this pattern also but haven't tried it yet.
1/26/09 12:47 PM
amy in mpls said...
Thank you EWP601!!!
1/26/09 12:45 PM
EleanorSews said...
From the photo it looks as if you could go down a size or two. I'm not a fan of painted on pants, but you are drowning in those. One thing is that the crotch seam appears to be working for you. You might want to keep that and reduce at the edges.
1/26/09 12:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2148

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-127

photo
by: arianamani...

Review