SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5252 (MISSES/MEN'S UNLINED VEST AND)

19 more reviews
Viewed 257 times 
Reviewed by:Riesie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Riesiestar
VA USA
Member since: 1/23/08
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 2:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.25 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
I like this project and the dog as well. Lol! It is good to know the pattern is available. I would like one of these in fleece ( moderate climate here) for dog walks with the ipod pocket. Thanks for showing your zipperless coat interpretation.
2/3/09 2:33 PM
RLL said...
The backdrop of your photo is stunning. The jacket looks great. He is out in the cold, sooooo, was it warm enough? I just made the same view for my DD's boyfriend using sweatshirt fleece. I too felt the sleeves were way to long. I cut off 3 inches and then did a elastic casing like you did. I DID do the IPOD pocket and like it and yes I also had to think a little on the front pocket instructions. Overall, I really like the pattern and will also make it again. My DH wants one now without the hood.
2/3/09 5:03 PM
Riesie said...
Yes, he says the jacket is very warm. We live in the Shenandoah Valley, in the northwest part of Virginia, and just got snow last night, so it was his first chance to try it out.
2/3/09 6:33 PM
Elona said...
I do not normally use any of the Big Four patterns for fleece wear, so thank you very much for the review of this McCall's. You got an awfully fine result for your labors!
2/3/09 7:22 PM
Catbird said...
This came out great and I love the picture!
2/3/09 8:10 PM
Christas said...
Very nice jacket. Love your photograph! Great review.
2/3/09 8:15 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very nice! It does indeed look super warm and comfortable. Thanks for a great review! (especially the humor, Dementors of Azkaban, LOL)
2/4/09 10:49 AM
Hilary said...
This looks great! I am trying to figure out how to line and underline a jacket for my son-can you give any hints as to how you did it? Do you just cut the pieces out again of the lining and underlining? Thanks for any help :o)
10/5/09 3:01 PM
Hilary said...
Thanks, Riesie, Yes-this answers my question perfectly! I, too, am trying to use stash for this project, so I will look for some flannel also. We don't live in a *really* cold area, but DS requested it lined, so I will do my best. Thanks again for taking the time to respond (and so quickly!). I will try and do a review when finished :o) (I would have sent a PM but I am not able too)
10/6/09 9:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Kwik Sew 3527

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now