SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M5633 (Shorts and Pants in 2 lengths)

1 more reviews
Viewed 422 times 
Reviewed by:QuiltSewSewSue
photo

 
 
About QuiltSewSewSuestarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/09 4:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Natasha B said...
You wear your short shorts well! I thought they looked short in your photo - I figured you were braver than me, until I read there were issues with the cuff. They look great even if they aren't what you were planning. I just made KS3614 and was really happy (although they weren't cuffed). I'll race you for review 28!!!
1/27/09 4:51 AM
donna mel said...
sorry you didn't end up with what you set out wanting. beautiful choice of fabric. i have to say mccalls is not my favorite.
1/27/09 7:49 AM
persevering said...
Looking good! The fit looks great to me! And you didn't have to make adjustments (crotch, etc.)? Thanks for your review. (I've been wondering about how these would be to sew and look as pants.)
1/27/09 1:40 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Persevering - the fit was good apart from the things mentioned in the review.
1/27/09 5:21 PM
persevering said...
QSSS - Your reply is greatly appreciated. Thanks again for your attention to detail which you are so kindly sharing.
1/28/09 1:38 AM
Caitycat said...
What a disappointment! We must try and find a solution to this cuff thing - why do they fit FINE then suddenly turn into tourniquets when rolled? I don't understand that at all. That said - WORK THOSE SHORT SHORTS, WOO HOOO!!! I think they look great. Ok, not as "going out for the evening" shorts, but as knockaround everyday shorts? Fine! (Of course, I still cannot come to grips with the juxtaposition of the words "Formal" and "Shorts" - it just DOES. NOT. WORK.)
1/28/09 10:03 AM
Caroleleah said...
QSSS: A fitting issue with the cuffs!That's great information to have on this pattern; thank you so much for your description of your fitting challenge, and your "gosh-darn-it-I'm-gonna-wear-these!" solution. You truly look cute in your short shorts! With your fix, the legs ended up being just exactly the right width at the thigh, and the overall fit is just GREAT! You look like a very petite/shorter lady, and the waistline sitting a bit higher than you'd hoped actually gives you the appearance of more leg length - you're totally cute! Thanks for the review!
1/30/09 7:00 PM
Em's Summer said...
Thank you for covering the pitfalls! Great review!
5/23/09 1:36 PM
velosewer said...
Thank you for sharing your experiences with this pattern. I'm just about to cut a pair out for the beach and now I'll definitely take your advice and see what challenges I have. I'm also ditching the cuff on the shorts because I have cyclist thighs. That's a nice way of saying thick and heavy:)
6/13/10 4:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's m4769

photo
by: Alinka.thi...

Review
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now