Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2008-102 (Fur coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 350 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/09 9:31 AM
Last Updated:1/27/09 9:32 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
I love your luxurious faux fur jacket and will soon be sewing my own faux fur jacket (I got a great deal on Donna Salyer's sable). Thanks for your very helpful review.
1/27/09 9:43 AM
kkkkaty said...
well, let me be the first (oops, second) to say that your jacket is really beautiful, and it was so much fun to read about how much you love it! Is it possible that Burda has this, or something similar, in a standard pattern? A very good store here is closing, and they have some very nice faux fur to clear out...:)
1/27/09 9:44 AM
annie11 said...
Your coat is to die for! I think fabric.com is going to sell a lot of that fur today because of you! Congratulations on a stunning jacket.
1/27/09 9:53 AM
carolynw said...
I want your coat - I just love, love it. Sympathise with you re Peta as my faux faur looks so real I have received some really nasty looks - so far no spray paint tho. But when it's way below freezing -which is almost every day - I wear it and feel so luxuriously warm and toasty. Enjoy wearing yours!!
1/27/09 9:57 AM
Stephenie said...
I seriously thought this was real fur when I saw your picture! This coat is gorgeous!! It looks so warm and comfy...it's sooo cold here in the midwest...I'm green with envy...
1/27/09 10:00 AM
Karen6790 said...
You will tackle anything, won't you? And it works every time. This is gorgeous, and warm, and fabulous in every way. You look ridiculously happy wearing it, and that's the way it should be.
1/27/09 10:01 AM
Tany said...
Truly MAGNIFICENT!!!!
1/27/09 10:32 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love your coat too! It's so luscious and chic! I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it for many years to come.
1/27/09 10:39 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That jacket is FABULOUS!!
1/27/09 10:41 AM
Beek said...
I can see why you love your coat! It's absolutely beautiful. And it truly looks like the real-deal! Don't tell a soul that it's faux!
1/27/09 11:25 AM
Peggy L said...
Awesome!
1/27/09 11:39 AM
blue mooney said...
Fab, fab, fab, fab, fab!!!! No wonder you love your coat! It looks ultra-luxurious. Great job - loved reading this review.
1/27/09 11:57 AM
michellep74 said...
Ooh, this is absolutely gorgeous! I love everything about it! If I had a coat like this, I'd probably never want to take it off!
1/27/09 12:57 PM
Elke said...
Gorgeous coat and looks like real fur! It looks great on you!
1/27/09 3:01 PM
Catbird said...
Wow -- excellent job! I love the lining and the bright zippered pockets. Fun review, although I was a bit startled to be thought of as an 'idiot' since I'm a PETA member! I understand what you meant, I think, and I don't like those extreme forms of protest either, but please don't let the rude fringe members distract from the good work of the organization. Anyway, congratulations on your gorgeous new coat!
1/27/09 3:51 PM
blessedtosew said...
Peta idiot--I love it!!! You are making me want to sew faux fur.
1/27/09 4:10 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Your coat looks so cuddly and beautiful! Well done!
1/27/09 4:14 PM
AnitaJ said...
Gorgeous coat!! You look so happy wearing it. :)
1/27/09 4:15 PM
Heatherrique said...
Intriguingly gorgeous! Your coat sure looked real to me!
1/27/09 5:58 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Absooolutely faaaabulousss!
1/27/09 9:43 PM
Karen8320 said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous!!! This looks so luxurious and you've done a wonderful job. Great work!
1/28/09 1:38 AM
petro said...
Super jacket, many thanks for the link to sewing tips for fake fur.
1/28/09 6:37 AM
donna mel said...
i am so happy for you. there is nothing like LOVING something you made yourself. congrats on sewing the faux fur without trouble. enjoy!
1/28/09 7:33 AM
Fran G said...
Yours is a gret jacket! Wonderful work!
1/28/09 7:58 AM
digs57 said...
Oh, that is SOOOO tempting! imitation being the sincerest form of flattery, need I say more....?
1/28/09 8:32 AM
crisford said...
You look absolutely darling in this gorgeous coat! It's because we can tell you feel so good in it! I love sewing with fur, too, but I agree--you only need one!
1/28/09 11:51 AM
nancy2001 said...
Incidentally, Peta sells "faux not fur" lapel pins that can keep those fur protesters at bay. Here's the link: https://www.petacatalog.org/prodinfo.asp?number=AT374
1/28/09 3:10 PM
cindy-lou said...
That is a great coat. Great. GREAT!! If I saw it in a store I'd want to buy it but would be too afraid to look at the price tag. It's a true keeper. Thanks for the great review!
1/30/09 10:43 AM
Athene said...
You have so many comments already, but I must add another one. I love this jacket - it looks so gorgeous - I wish it was mine. Congratulations on making yourself such a wonderful coat. You look fabulous in it.
1/31/09 3:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 4142
photo
Review by sewnaomi on 7/5/13
Read Review

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2005-102 Coat
photo
Review by Lisette on 3/15/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0142 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0142 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us