SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2008-102 (Fur coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 351 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/09 9:31 AM
Last Updated:1/27/09 9:32 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
I love your luxurious faux fur jacket and will soon be sewing my own faux fur jacket (I got a great deal on Donna Salyer's sable). Thanks for your very helpful review.
1/27/09 9:43 AM
kkkkaty said...
well, let me be the first (oops, second) to say that your jacket is really beautiful, and it was so much fun to read about how much you love it! Is it possible that Burda has this, or something similar, in a standard pattern? A very good store here is closing, and they have some very nice faux fur to clear out...:)
1/27/09 9:44 AM
annie11 said...
Your coat is to die for! I think fabric.com is going to sell a lot of that fur today because of you! Congratulations on a stunning jacket.
1/27/09 9:53 AM
carolynw said...
I want your coat - I just love, love it. Sympathise with you re Peta as my faux faur looks so real I have received some really nasty looks - so far no spray paint tho. But when it's way below freezing -which is almost every day - I wear it and feel so luxuriously warm and toasty. Enjoy wearing yours!!
1/27/09 9:57 AM
Stephenie said...
I seriously thought this was real fur when I saw your picture! This coat is gorgeous!! It looks so warm and comfy...it's sooo cold here in the midwest...I'm green with envy...
1/27/09 10:00 AM
Karen6790 said...
You will tackle anything, won't you? And it works every time. This is gorgeous, and warm, and fabulous in every way. You look ridiculously happy wearing it, and that's the way it should be.
1/27/09 10:01 AM
Tany said...
Truly MAGNIFICENT!!!!
1/27/09 10:32 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love your coat too! It's so luscious and chic! I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it for many years to come.
1/27/09 10:39 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That jacket is FABULOUS!!
1/27/09 10:41 AM
Beek said...
I can see why you love your coat! It's absolutely beautiful. And it truly looks like the real-deal! Don't tell a soul that it's faux!
1/27/09 11:25 AM
Peggy L said...
Awesome!
1/27/09 11:39 AM
blue mooney said...
Fab, fab, fab, fab, fab!!!! No wonder you love your coat! It looks ultra-luxurious. Great job - loved reading this review.
1/27/09 11:57 AM
michellep74 said...
Ooh, this is absolutely gorgeous! I love everything about it! If I had a coat like this, I'd probably never want to take it off!
1/27/09 12:57 PM
Elke said...
Gorgeous coat and looks like real fur! It looks great on you!
1/27/09 3:01 PM
Catbird said...
Wow -- excellent job! I love the lining and the bright zippered pockets. Fun review, although I was a bit startled to be thought of as an 'idiot' since I'm a PETA member! I understand what you meant, I think, and I don't like those extreme forms of protest either, but please don't let the rude fringe members distract from the good work of the organization. Anyway, congratulations on your gorgeous new coat!
1/27/09 3:51 PM
blessedtosew said...
Peta idiot--I love it!!! You are making me want to sew faux fur.
1/27/09 4:10 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Your coat looks so cuddly and beautiful! Well done!
1/27/09 4:14 PM
AnitaJ said...
Gorgeous coat!! You look so happy wearing it. :)
1/27/09 4:15 PM
Heatherrique said...
Intriguingly gorgeous! Your coat sure looked real to me!
1/27/09 5:58 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Absooolutely faaaabulousss!
1/27/09 9:43 PM
Karen8320 said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous!!! This looks so luxurious and you've done a wonderful job. Great work!
1/28/09 1:38 AM
petro said...
Super jacket, many thanks for the link to sewing tips for fake fur.
1/28/09 6:37 AM
donna mel said...
i am so happy for you. there is nothing like LOVING something you made yourself. congrats on sewing the faux fur without trouble. enjoy!
1/28/09 7:33 AM
Fran G said...
Yours is a gret jacket! Wonderful work!
1/28/09 7:58 AM
digs57 said...
Oh, that is SOOOO tempting! imitation being the sincerest form of flattery, need I say more....?
1/28/09 8:32 AM
crisford said...
You look absolutely darling in this gorgeous coat! It's because we can tell you feel so good in it! I love sewing with fur, too, but I agree--you only need one!
1/28/09 11:51 AM
nancy2001 said...
Incidentally, Peta sells "faux not fur" lapel pins that can keep those fur protesters at bay. Here's the link: https://www.petacatalog.org/prodinfo.asp?number=AT374
1/28/09 3:10 PM
cindy-lou said...
That is a great coat. Great. GREAT!! If I saw it in a store I'd want to buy it but would be too afraid to look at the price tag. It's a true keeper. Thanks for the great review!
1/30/09 10:43 AM
Athene said...
You have so many comments already, but I must add another one. I love this jacket - it looks so gorgeous - I wish it was mine. Congratulations on making yourself such a wonderful coat. You look fabulous in it.
1/31/09 3:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 3392

photo
by: LonestarLa...

Review
Simplicity 3644

photo
by: KamiSue2

Review
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now