Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 74692-1003 (Tailored Shirt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 329 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Richy
photo
About Richystar
MA USA
Member since: 10/6/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/09 10:20 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltersFan said...
Really enjoyed your review. Your work is perfect! You should be proud. Looking forward to more of your reviews. I have David's book and have done a lot of reading but not so much sewing of shirts. Did you find the video helped?
1/27/09 11:18 PM
Richy said...
QuiltersFan, yes the video helped a lot! Being a very visual person, I felt like after watching the video, the illustrations and the text made more sense to me. I still found the text easier to use in the sewing room but the video helped make it more comprehensible.
1/27/09 11:43 PM
Annette1 said...
What a MASTERFUL job you've done with this shirt. It's PERFECT, and I really love your choice of fabric, too. I've never used ShirTailor, and I'm not even sure where I would FIND it, but I did recently use some of Sew Exciting's pro-weft fusible interfacing, and it actually produced a stiffer hand than I had anticipated, so I'm wondering if it might work for collars and cuffs. I'm not a shirt expert by any means, so I'm not sure. Another place where I've purchased hard-to-find items is Atlanta Thread Supply (atlantathread.com). I know they carry a lot of tailoring supplies. (I think they refer to their interfacing as "interlining.") At any rate, BRAVO on your finished shirt! Wear it in good health and soak in the compliments. :o)
1/27/09 11:48 PM
Ody said...
Richy, your shirt shows not only careful research, a well thought out process, but masterful use of technique. You should be very proud of your self. This shirt is wonderful and I really enjoyed your blog. I also am looking forward to more shirts you make with additional informative reviews.
1/28/09 1:09 AM
Karen8320 said...
Absolutely fabulous work, Richy! You definitely have much more shirt making expertise than I do so I can't help you with the information you seek but maybe others can help. I am really, really impressed by your work and you should be justifiably proud of what you'e accomplished here. I look forward to seeing more of your work. Well done!
1/28/09 1:19 AM
Christas said...
I have just recently purchased the same book. Your shirt is very nice. I love your fabric choice.
1/28/09 1:28 AM
Cerisa said...
That is a beautiful shirt with a great colour and sensational fit. I also enjoyed the crwe neck t-shirts that you showed in your blog.
1/28/09 1:51 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful shirt and a great accomplishment. I do have the book by David Coffin. It's full with the right information, but I find it difficult to read and follow. Your reading and rereading and working step by step certainly paid off.
1/28/09 3:05 AM
knitlitcamper said...
Excellent work, your shirt looks so nice and crisp. I will definitely have to take a look at David Coffin's book.
1/28/09 3:35 AM
petro said...
Great garment and review, I'm not a fan of sewing menswear, but you've almost got me convinced to try it again.
1/28/09 6:23 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a lovely shirt. The shirt tail hem is impeccable, how did you do it? I love the tall collar and think you will look dashing in this fine, fine shirt.
1/28/09 6:31 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
BRAVO BRAVO ! ! !
1/28/09 8:46 AM
cindyann said...
You have every right to be proud. Very nice work on that shirt. I think your collar looks perfect! I have David's book but do feel intimidated by it. Perhaps I should follow your advice and take it one step at a time.
1/28/09 9:37 AM
amy in mpls said...
You are GOOD! i see you have a little love for the polardroid as well! I made so many it said i had run out a film! Fantastic shirt, well done!!
1/28/09 3:33 PM
CatMukai said...
i love to collar, it's so stylish. glad you found your perfect pattern!
1/28/09 11:45 PM
Luckylibbet said...
WOW. What an AMAZING shirt! I ADORE to see such perfectionism. I received the David Coffin book as a Christmas present - it's not for the faint of heart! - and have bookmarked this review (thanks!) to go back to for further looks as I proceed through the book. Totally helpful, thank you SO MUCH.
1/31/09 1:11 AM
SewItUp said...
Great job, Richy! I have David Coffin's book but I haven't been successful drafting my own shirt pattern yet. Your review will help motivate me to get back to it. I've used the ShirTaylor interfacing. See my review on 08/14/07. I found it too stiff for the casual shirt I made but it might be what you are looking for.
2/1/09 10:28 AM
Re Becca said...
Amazing! I have referred to his book many times, but I have never been able to draft my own.
2/12/09 11:53 PM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful shirt! I have been rereading Shirtmaking on my exercise bike in the morning so seeing your shirt is very timely. I have not found it easy to follow, hence the reread. I am really impressed with the perfection of your shirt. Coffin would be proud.
2/13/09 7:31 AM
Peggy L said...
Richy - this shirt is stunning! Beautiful, beautiful work. I love all the new shirtings you posted on you blog. Please share when you finish.
2/17/09 6:32 AM
HeyJane said...
Richy if you didn't find the tool yet there's a point turner at thesewingplace.com "Multi Purpose Point Former". http://www.thesewingplace.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=4848. Your shirt is beautiful, thanks for the collar stay info.
2/21/09 9:24 PM
Christas said...
Love your latest shirt! The David Coffin book has grown to be one of my very favorites for shirtmaking. Excellent review!
4/25/09 5:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Burda 7828 Dress, top
photo
Review by textilis on 3/22/09
Read Review

Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1239 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4424 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4424 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 510C Tunic
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 1/25/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )
Peek-A Boo Sea Breeze Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -6 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us