SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 74692-1003 (Tailored Shirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 330 times 
Reviewed by:Richy
photo

 
 
About Richystar
MA USA
Member since: 10/6/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/09 10:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltersFan said...
Really enjoyed your review. Your work is perfect! You should be proud. Looking forward to more of your reviews. I have David's book and have done a lot of reading but not so much sewing of shirts. Did you find the video helped?
1/27/09 11:18 PM
Richy said...
QuiltersFan, yes the video helped a lot! Being a very visual person, I felt like after watching the video, the illustrations and the text made more sense to me. I still found the text easier to use in the sewing room but the video helped make it more comprehensible.
1/27/09 11:43 PM
Annette1 said...
What a MASTERFUL job you've done with this shirt. It's PERFECT, and I really love your choice of fabric, too. I've never used ShirTailor, and I'm not even sure where I would FIND it, but I did recently use some of Sew Exciting's pro-weft fusible interfacing, and it actually produced a stiffer hand than I had anticipated, so I'm wondering if it might work for collars and cuffs. I'm not a shirt expert by any means, so I'm not sure. Another place where I've purchased hard-to-find items is Atlanta Thread Supply (atlantathread.com). I know they carry a lot of tailoring supplies. (I think they refer to their interfacing as "interlining.") At any rate, BRAVO on your finished shirt! Wear it in good health and soak in the compliments. :o)
1/27/09 11:48 PM
Ody said...
Richy, your shirt shows not only careful research, a well thought out process, but masterful use of technique. You should be very proud of your self. This shirt is wonderful and I really enjoyed your blog. I also am looking forward to more shirts you make with additional informative reviews.
1/28/09 1:09 AM
Karen8320 said...
Absolutely fabulous work, Richy! You definitely have much more shirt making expertise than I do so I can't help you with the information you seek but maybe others can help. I am really, really impressed by your work and you should be justifiably proud of what you'e accomplished here. I look forward to seeing more of your work. Well done!
1/28/09 1:19 AM
Christas said...
I have just recently purchased the same book. Your shirt is very nice. I love your fabric choice.
1/28/09 1:28 AM
Cerisa said...
That is a beautiful shirt with a great colour and sensational fit. I also enjoyed the crwe neck t-shirts that you showed in your blog.
1/28/09 1:51 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful shirt and a great accomplishment. I do have the book by David Coffin. It's full with the right information, but I find it difficult to read and follow. Your reading and rereading and working step by step certainly paid off.
1/28/09 3:05 AM
knitlitcamper said...
Excellent work, your shirt looks so nice and crisp. I will definitely have to take a look at David Coffin's book.
1/28/09 3:35 AM
petro said...
Great garment and review, I'm not a fan of sewing menswear, but you've almost got me convinced to try it again.
1/28/09 6:23 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a lovely shirt. The shirt tail hem is impeccable, how did you do it? I love the tall collar and think you will look dashing in this fine, fine shirt.
1/28/09 6:31 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
BRAVO BRAVO ! ! !
1/28/09 8:46 AM
cindyann said...
You have every right to be proud. Very nice work on that shirt. I think your collar looks perfect! I have David's book but do feel intimidated by it. Perhaps I should follow your advice and take it one step at a time.
1/28/09 9:37 AM
amy in mpls said...
You are GOOD! i see you have a little love for the polardroid as well! I made so many it said i had run out a film! Fantastic shirt, well done!!
1/28/09 3:33 PM
CatMukai said...
i love to collar, it's so stylish. glad you found your perfect pattern!
1/28/09 11:45 PM
Luckylibbet said...
WOW. What an AMAZING shirt! I ADORE to see such perfectionism. I received the David Coffin book as a Christmas present - it's not for the faint of heart! - and have bookmarked this review (thanks!) to go back to for further looks as I proceed through the book. Totally helpful, thank you SO MUCH.
1/31/09 1:11 AM
SewItUp said...
Great job, Richy! I have David Coffin's book but I haven't been successful drafting my own shirt pattern yet. Your review will help motivate me to get back to it. I've used the ShirTaylor interfacing. See my review on 08/14/07. I found it too stiff for the casual shirt I made but it might be what you are looking for.
2/1/09 10:28 AM
Re Becca said...
Amazing! I have referred to his book many times, but I have never been able to draft my own.
2/12/09 11:53 PM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful shirt! I have been rereading Shirtmaking on my exercise bike in the morning so seeing your shirt is very timely. I have not found it easy to follow, hence the reread. I am really impressed with the perfection of your shirt. Coffin would be proud.
2/13/09 7:31 AM
Peggy L said...
Richy - this shirt is stunning! Beautiful, beautiful work. I love all the new shirtings you posted on you blog. Please share when you finish.
2/17/09 6:32 AM
HeyJane said...
Richy if you didn't find the tool yet there's a point turner at thesewingplace.com "Multi Purpose Point Former". http://www.thesewingplace.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=4848. Your shirt is beautiful, thanks for the collar stay info.
2/21/09 9:24 PM
Christas said...
Love your latest shirt! The David Coffin book has grown to be one of my very favorites for shirtmaking. Excellent review!
4/25/09 5:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 5595

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com LD-5-PTD-1

photo
by: RachelSton...

Review