SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-101 (Cape)

3 more reviews
Viewed 338 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 453
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 420
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/09 11:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ariadne said...
Agent 99, no question. Now, how does it become Agent Ari, who loves capes and cloaks with an almost unholy passion? The 99-ness comes from the short shape- no elves will try to hump your leg- and the sharp buttons- and no rumply seamlines- it seems like nannies things never quite fit right. And, you look great. So, totally, you, Anne Hathaway, the original- ya'll could go get drinks together at a suave boite.
5/26/09 4:30 PM
Kathi R said...
Who knew you needed a cape? But now that you have it, I'm sure it will become part of your wardrobe for your secret agent assignment.....or as an extra layer if you go somewhere cold. Nice looking garment thanks for the review.
1/31/09 1:28 PM
SueV said...
inkstain: I like that: foreign office on assignment.... I think I need a matching cap
1/31/09 11:18 AM
inkstain said...
I've finished mine but haven't had time to review. Did you line it? I lined mine but had problems cutting out the facing and side pieces. Thanks for getting it out for all of us to see in such a nice colour. I'd said not nanny and too feminine in brown for agent 99, but definitely "Foreign Office" on assignment.
1/30/09 1:38 PM
1betsy1 said...
Sue, it's beautiful! You look great
1/29/09 11:44 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Gorgeous, very stylish!
1/29/09 7:35 AM
SueV said...
sherril... I'm tired of tripping over fabric and need to get rid of it.... so I can buy more!
1/28/09 10:21 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Yep! Agent 99. She was always so stylish. And Sue, do you think you could slow down a bit. You're sewing like the wind this month and putting the rest of us to shame.
1/28/09 6:59 PM
amy in mpls said...
Wow, I really love this! Not nanny at all, very sophisticated!
1/28/09 3:30 PM
michellep74 said...
Definitely Agent 99! You look smashing!
1/28/09 1:13 PM
cindy-lou said...
Wow! I love this cape. Definitely Agent 99-- though if you're the Super Nanny, you get to tell people, 'You've been very, very naughty...' -- which would be fun. Thanks for making this one and letting us see it!
1/28/09 12:09 PM
blessedtosew said...
I am so happy to see that made. I have been wanting to make that. It is very pretty on you.
1/28/09 11:40 AM
MissCelie said...
What a chic cape! I have fabric for this, but am waiting for it to warm out. I'm going to have to wish for spring harder now that you've shown this!
1/28/09 11:18 AM
21wale said...
I like it! It's both classic and modern.
1/28/09 8:57 AM
Sic said...
Super cute! Thanks for the review!
1/28/09 8:37 AM
Karen6790 said...
Definitely not super nanny. (Though if they ever updated Mary Poppins, she would swoon to wear this, and would carry a tiny little parrot headed umbrella in an inside pocket). But Agent 99 wouldn't let her wear it. Beautiful.
1/28/09 8:05 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Definitely Agent 99! Great cape, might push this up my (very long) to do list of BWOF must-haves!
1/28/09 7:34 AM
Vonnevo said...
A very stylish cape, Sue :) Definitely 99 !
1/28/09 7:02 AM
petro said...
Very nice cape, I like the slight swing it has in the back, definitely smart, not nannyish.
1/28/09 6:02 AM
rivergum said...
This looks great on you. I normally don't like capes that much but I like your version and it makes me think I should give one a try. Definitely 99!
1/28/09 1:25 AM
Christas said...
Either way, it is CUTE, CUTE, CUTE!
1/28/09 1:20 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous cape.
1/28/09 0:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now