Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2008-101 (Cape) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 335 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR
About SueVstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 427
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 394
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/09 11:23 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Gorgeous cape.
1/28/09 0:15 AM
Christas said...
Either way, it is CUTE, CUTE, CUTE!
1/28/09 1:20 AM
rivergum said...
This looks great on you. I normally don't like capes that much but I like your version and it makes me think I should give one a try. Definitely 99!
1/28/09 1:25 AM
petro said...
Very nice cape, I like the slight swing it has in the back, definitely smart, not nannyish.
1/28/09 6:02 AM
Vonnevo said...
A very stylish cape, Sue :) Definitely 99 !
1/28/09 7:02 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Definitely Agent 99! Great cape, might push this up my (very long) to do list of BWOF must-haves!
1/28/09 7:34 AM
Karen6790 said...
Definitely not super nanny. (Though if they ever updated Mary Poppins, she would swoon to wear this, and would carry a tiny little parrot headed umbrella in an inside pocket). But Agent 99 wouldn't let her wear it. Beautiful.
1/28/09 8:05 AM
Sic said...
Super cute! Thanks for the review!
1/28/09 8:37 AM
21wale said...
I like it! It's both classic and modern.
1/28/09 8:57 AM
MissCelie said...
What a chic cape! I have fabric for this, but am waiting for it to warm out. I'm going to have to wish for spring harder now that you've shown this!
1/28/09 11:18 AM
blessedtosew said...
I am so happy to see that made. I have been wanting to make that. It is very pretty on you.
1/28/09 11:40 AM
cindy-lou said...
Wow! I love this cape. Definitely Agent 99-- though if you're the Super Nanny, you get to tell people, 'You've been very, very naughty...' -- which would be fun. Thanks for making this one and letting us see it!
1/28/09 12:09 PM
michellep74 said...
Definitely Agent 99! You look smashing!
1/28/09 1:13 PM
amy in mpls said...
Wow, I really love this! Not nanny at all, very sophisticated!
1/28/09 3:30 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Yep! Agent 99. She was always so stylish. And Sue, do you think you could slow down a bit. You're sewing like the wind this month and putting the rest of us to shame.
1/28/09 6:59 PM
SueV said...
sherril... I'm tired of tripping over fabric and need to get rid of it.... so I can buy more!
1/28/09 10:21 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Gorgeous, very stylish!
1/29/09 7:35 AM
1betsy1 said...
Sue, it's beautiful! You look great
1/29/09 11:44 AM
inkstain said...
I've finished mine but haven't had time to review. Did you line it? I lined mine but had problems cutting out the facing and side pieces. Thanks for getting it out for all of us to see in such a nice colour. I'd said not nanny and too feminine in brown for agent 99, but definitely "Foreign Office" on assignment.
1/30/09 1:38 PM
SueV said...
inkstain: I like that: foreign office on assignment.... I think I need a matching cap
1/31/09 11:18 AM
Kathi R said...
Who knew you needed a cape? But now that you have it, I'm sure it will become part of your wardrobe for your secret agent assignment.....or as an extra layer if you go somewhere cold. Nice looking garment thanks for the review.
1/31/09 1:28 PM
Ariadne said...
Agent 99, no question. Now, how does it become Agent Ari, who loves capes and cloaks with an almost unholy passion? The 99-ness comes from the short shape- no elves will try to hump your leg- and the sharp buttons- and no rumply seamlines- it seems like nannies things never quite fit right. And, you look great. So, totally, you, Anne Hathaway, the original- ya'll could go get drinks together at a suave boite.
5/26/09 4:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's 8026
photo
Review by Peter in N... on 7/7/10
Read Review

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 001
photo
Review by Karen6790 on 1/15/09
Read Review

Vogue 8795 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8795 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5214 Pattern ( Size SML-XLG )
McCalls 5214 Pattern ( Size SML-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us