Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2008-123 (Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 699 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 176 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/09 6:18 AM
Last Updated:1/28/09 6:26 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Natasha B said...
Lovely version of this great tunic. I liked your modifications and the fabric looked really interesting.
1/28/09 6:30 AM
craftygamma said...
Great tunic. I really like your variations on print direction--it adds a lot.
1/28/09 7:37 AM
tomed said...
Very nice shirt - looks great on you! Thanks for the review. I'm going to have to give this one a try.
1/28/09 7:45 AM
appleC said...
Thank you for sharing tips on shortening the bodice. It's very helpful. I'm going to make this soon.
1/28/09 7:49 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is great - I don't even remember this pattern, so you're going to send me to the archive to trace it. I love your fabric and the way you used the stripes.
1/28/09 8:00 AM
Morisot said...
Great looking top. Love your version with the inverted pleat. Very nice.
1/28/09 8:07 AM
KateS said...
Lovely top- this looks nice and cool, I may have to check it out to deal with the heat up here in Darwin. Another great garment and review :)
1/28/09 8:27 AM
Morisot said...
Very nice! ;-)
1/28/09 9:03 AM
Christas said...
Very stylish top! I love the changes you made.... so pretty!
1/28/09 9:19 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely looking top - nice use of the stripes on this fabric.
1/28/09 9:25 AM
annie11 said...
Looks great! I love your changes to the pleat and shortening the bodice. I've made this one too, but the original pleat kind of sticks out, and it is definitely lower cut than I would like, so I'm going to implement your ideas and try it again!
1/28/09 10:12 AM
Peacock Chic said...
love this rendition of the pattern. The fabric really goes together wonderfully with the style!
1/28/09 10:33 AM
Ody said...
Wonderful shirt Vonne, and I love your slide show! You not only can sew well, but you definitely have review showmanship!
1/28/09 10:38 AM
blue mooney said...
Looks great - you have such a wonderful sense for picking patterns. Thanks for reviewing!!
1/28/09 11:25 AM
blessedtosew said...
I love that--the fabric is pretty, too!!
1/28/09 11:39 AM
Penny B said...
I love the way you organize your photos with each garment having an album. And then including the line drawings and photo from the pattern, photos of pattern pieces, and other photos as well. It is fun to look through your photos because you are so neat and organized!
1/28/09 12:29 PM
SueV said...
That's really cute, I missed that one... I need to find it and make it! thanks
1/28/09 1:03 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, you've done it again, made a wonderfully stylish and elegant top with the perfect designer details! I love your use of this fabric for this top.
1/28/09 1:13 PM
fuzzygalore said...
This is great, but has anyone thanked you lately for living in Australia? I'm getting really addicted to those rays of sunshine in the winter, the reviews of light cotton shirts and swimsuits, modeled by relaxed people in sunglasses :-)... Thanks for reminding the rest of us of spring!
1/28/09 2:01 PM
Erica B. said...
Very lovely!
1/28/09 3:03 PM
Liana said...
You're right, this is a great style. You look wonderful!
1/28/09 5:41 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
1/28/09 6:12 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Vonne. This is a smart, trendy top slightly different to the usual and you've made really good use of the fabric design to make it just that little bit extra special.
1/28/09 7:12 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely top Vonne and a helpful review - thank you!
1/29/09 3:44 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric that you used. Very nice job!!
1/29/09 4:07 AM
Fran G said...
What a lovely tunic on you, Vonne! The magazine photo held little appeal for me but your version is a must! Thanks especially for showing how you altered the pattern..that is very helpful to me.
1/29/09 7:48 AM
cmarie12 said...
The fabric is what really makes this top special! Can't wait to see the review for the caftan using the cotton panel print!
1/29/09 12:25 PM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful top Vonne. I love the fabric!
1/30/09 2:19 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful top - you look lovely as always (you're just so classy!!!).
1/30/09 11:28 PM
Kathi R said...
Once again, you wrote a very informative and complete review....I love the way you illustrate the subtle changes you make to the pattern. Thank you.
1/31/09 0:57 AM
Meredith P said...
Great review. Can't wait for the photo of the finished caftan, too.
2/1/09 9:41 AM
Sew4Fun said...
I don't know how I missed your original review, but lovely tunic! I like how you used the print.
2/26/09 4:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 5838
photo
Review by rubbecca on 7/29/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-102
photo
Review by elily00 on 11/30/09
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6187 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6187 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2902 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2902 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us