SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2008-123 (Tunic)

7 more reviews
Viewed 699 times 
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/09 6:18 AM
Last Updated:1/28/09 6:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Natasha B said...
Lovely version of this great tunic. I liked your modifications and the fabric looked really interesting.
1/28/09 6:30 AM
craftygamma said...
Great tunic. I really like your variations on print direction--it adds a lot.
1/28/09 7:37 AM
tomed said...
Very nice shirt - looks great on you! Thanks for the review. I'm going to have to give this one a try.
1/28/09 7:45 AM
appleC said...
Thank you for sharing tips on shortening the bodice. It's very helpful. I'm going to make this soon.
1/28/09 7:49 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is great - I don't even remember this pattern, so you're going to send me to the archive to trace it. I love your fabric and the way you used the stripes.
1/28/09 8:00 AM
Morisot said...
Great looking top. Love your version with the inverted pleat. Very nice.
1/28/09 8:07 AM
KateS said...
Lovely top- this looks nice and cool, I may have to check it out to deal with the heat up here in Darwin. Another great garment and review :)
1/28/09 8:27 AM
Morisot said...
Very nice! ;-)
1/28/09 9:03 AM
Christas said...
Very stylish top! I love the changes you made.... so pretty!
1/28/09 9:19 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely looking top - nice use of the stripes on this fabric.
1/28/09 9:25 AM
annie11 said...
Looks great! I love your changes to the pleat and shortening the bodice. I've made this one too, but the original pleat kind of sticks out, and it is definitely lower cut than I would like, so I'm going to implement your ideas and try it again!
1/28/09 10:12 AM
Peacock Chic said...
love this rendition of the pattern. The fabric really goes together wonderfully with the style!
1/28/09 10:33 AM
Ody said...
Wonderful shirt Vonne, and I love your slide show! You not only can sew well, but you definitely have review showmanship!
1/28/09 10:38 AM
blue mooney said...
Looks great - you have such a wonderful sense for picking patterns. Thanks for reviewing!!
1/28/09 11:25 AM
blessedtosew said...
I love that--the fabric is pretty, too!!
1/28/09 11:39 AM
Penny B said...
I love the way you organize your photos with each garment having an album. And then including the line drawings and photo from the pattern, photos of pattern pieces, and other photos as well. It is fun to look through your photos because you are so neat and organized!
1/28/09 12:29 PM
SueV said...
That's really cute, I missed that one... I need to find it and make it! thanks
1/28/09 1:03 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, you've done it again, made a wonderfully stylish and elegant top with the perfect designer details! I love your use of this fabric for this top.
1/28/09 1:13 PM
fuzzygalore said...
This is great, but has anyone thanked you lately for living in Australia? I'm getting really addicted to those rays of sunshine in the winter, the reviews of light cotton shirts and swimsuits, modeled by relaxed people in sunglasses :-)... Thanks for reminding the rest of us of spring!
1/28/09 2:01 PM
Erica B. said...
Very lovely!
1/28/09 3:03 PM
Liana said...
You're right, this is a great style. You look wonderful!
1/28/09 5:41 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
1/28/09 6:12 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Vonne. This is a smart, trendy top slightly different to the usual and you've made really good use of the fabric design to make it just that little bit extra special.
1/28/09 7:12 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely top Vonne and a helpful review - thank you!
1/29/09 3:44 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric that you used. Very nice job!!
1/29/09 4:07 AM
Fran G said...
What a lovely tunic on you, Vonne! The magazine photo held little appeal for me but your version is a must! Thanks especially for showing how you altered the pattern..that is very helpful to me.
1/29/09 7:48 AM
cmarie12 said...
The fabric is what really makes this top special! Can't wait to see the review for the caftan using the cotton panel print!
1/29/09 12:25 PM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful top Vonne. I love the fabric!
1/30/09 2:19 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful top - you look lovely as always (you're just so classy!!!).
1/30/09 11:28 PM
Kathi R said...
Once again, you wrote a very informative and complete review....I love the way you illustrate the subtle changes you make to the pattern. Thank you.
1/31/09 0:57 AM
Meredith P said...
Great review. Can't wait for the photo of the finished caftan, too.
2/1/09 9:41 AM
Sew4Fun said...
I don't know how I missed your original review, but lovely tunic! I like how you used the print.
2/26/09 4:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns 8748

photo
by: PattyE

Review
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now