Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4055 thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 696 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Needs More Info by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/09 1:15 PM
Last Updated:4/28/10 3:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
Seems unlikely it was that straightforward, since Simplicity patterns rarely fit the size advertised?
1/28/09 1:51 PM
Frosty772 said...
I made this pattern and have to say that if you are a high B bust or higher you may have to lower the bodice. I made this and the bodice was too high on me. Your dress is very pretty.
1/28/09 2:37 PM
AliciaNoel said...
Lovely dress! Also you've got some beautiful gowns on your website!!
1/28/09 2:54 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely, but I don't think you're allowed to advertise here.
1/28/09 3:15 PM
marec said...
yep, have to agree with cindyann. Please don't use our site for advertising.
1/28/09 5:03 PM
timetravelcostumes said...
fuzzygalore: I didn't have any trouble with this pattern fitting the size advertised... I think it might be because it was not drafted by the normal simplicity drafters but rather by the a gal who does patterns from this era as her main job... it was definitely easier to use than the average simplicity pattern!

frosty772: yes the bust ran a bit tight!

cindyann/marec: my apologies, I had forgotten that page still had a "for sale" link. I removed the link since I didn't intend it as advertising but rather to show off the gown I made. Thanks for the heads up!
1/28/09 7:24 PM

AnneMarie60 said...
The gown is beautiful. I love Jane Austen's characters, and I enjoyed seeing your lovely creation. You look beautiful in it.
1/28/09 7:27 PM
Catbird said...
Unfortunately, the 'for sale' link is still active.
1/28/09 9:04 PM
Deepika said...
Would love it if you could provide more information in your review.
2/8/09 6:16 PM
SewSewFunny said...
I never go by Simplicity/McCalls pattern sizes. I go by the wearing ease sizes. A corset should not have a wearing ease of 2" (Beware! That was actually on one of the corset patterns I purchased!) If you take ease into mind and have a good idea about your own measurements, this dress is really easy to do. I "eyeballed" the back pleating and basically half-did this dress and it turned out really pretty. I also used the same pattern, altered it and turned it into a great long-sleeved overdress with no problem.
10/24/11 4:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 4237 Bubble Skirt
photo
Review by DorothyK on 9/7/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Blossom Digital Pattern
In-House Blossom Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8196 easy tops
photo
Review by Kristine K... on 3/30/08
Read Review

Jalie 3246 Pattern
Jalie 3246 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 22 )
Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 22 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us