SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8497 (MISSES' TOP)

29 more reviews
Viewed 1215 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/09 9:11 PM
Last Updated:1/28/09 9:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Your two pieces look great together. Love the color. I really have enjoyed the top I made like this and am going for the deconstructed look in the next one.
1/28/09 9:21 PM
Mahler said...
I always love the clothes you make. They are so perfectly choice for you. Beautiful colour. Fantastic outfit.
1/28/09 9:41 PM
Ody said...
Wonderful top and looks fantastic on you alone or with the French skirt. I have this pattern and I need to take it out and give it a second look. Great review, thank you.
1/28/09 10:09 PM
Barbara V said...
Making this top with a deconstructed look was a great choice. I agree with the connection to the skirt and you certainly created a "happy accident."
1/28/09 11:10 PM
Karine said...
What a great top on you. It's fun to see something different and little edgy (pun intended)! I hope you try the modification that Marcy has on her website for this. I think she calls it "Fall Rendition of V8497." (Sorry, but I can't figure out how to do a clickable link in these comments). I love the added contrast edges but haven't had a chance to try it myself.
1/29/09 10:19 AM
DorothyK said...
This top is fantastic on you. Now I'm itching to make it myself. I love the deconstructed look but have never tried it. Looks like fun.
1/29/09 5:54 PM
Athene said...
A great look - I really like this top made up to be closer fitting.
1/29/09 10:16 PM
Nancy K said...
Love this on you! I especially like it with the skirt, which I hated in the catalog but absolutely love on you!
1/30/09 11:16 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very interesting! I have this pattern and made the gathered V-neck tee - but had decided to ditch the other options until I saw this review. And may I inquire, where were your photos taken? I know I live not THAT far away from you, and if there's a fashion exhibit out there that I have not heard of, please let me know!
1/31/09 0:55 AM
Ann Smith said...
Luckylibbet, the clothing show was a display I put up at the regional quilt show held here last weekend. It occurs every other year. They have invited it me three times to display my garments. This year I invited my friend Barbara to share the space. Together we put up 20 outfits, complete with jewelry on mannequins and dressforms. Lots of fun and a great honor. Sew more photos at my blog http://annsthreads.blogspot.com/
2/1/09 4:30 PM
Ann Smith said...

2/1/09 4:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
I can't seem to get rid of these extra posts. Sorry.
2/1/09 4:31 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking top.
2/5/09 10:51 AM
Grammy Gin said...
This outfit looks fantastic on you. The color is wonderful with your complexion. Another gorgeous outfit!
2/24/09 11:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now