Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8497 (MISSES' TOP) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1206 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/09 9:11 PM
Last Updated:1/28/09 9:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Your two pieces look great together. Love the color. I really have enjoyed the top I made like this and am going for the deconstructed look in the next one.
1/28/09 9:21 PM
Mahler said...
I always love the clothes you make. They are so perfectly choice for you. Beautiful colour. Fantastic outfit.
1/28/09 9:41 PM
Ody said...
Wonderful top and looks fantastic on you alone or with the French skirt. I have this pattern and I need to take it out and give it a second look. Great review, thank you.
1/28/09 10:09 PM
Barbara V said...
Making this top with a deconstructed look was a great choice. I agree with the connection to the skirt and you certainly created a "happy accident."
1/28/09 11:10 PM
Karine said...
What a great top on you. It's fun to see something different and little edgy (pun intended)! I hope you try the modification that Marcy has on her website for this. I think she calls it "Fall Rendition of V8497." (Sorry, but I can't figure out how to do a clickable link in these comments). I love the added contrast edges but haven't had a chance to try it myself.
1/29/09 10:19 AM
DorothyK said...
This top is fantastic on you. Now I'm itching to make it myself. I love the deconstructed look but have never tried it. Looks like fun.
1/29/09 5:54 PM
Athene said...
A great look - I really like this top made up to be closer fitting.
1/29/09 10:16 PM
Nancy K said...
Love this on you! I especially like it with the skirt, which I hated in the catalog but absolutely love on you!
1/30/09 11:16 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very interesting! I have this pattern and made the gathered V-neck tee - but had decided to ditch the other options until I saw this review. And may I inquire, where were your photos taken? I know I live not THAT far away from you, and if there's a fashion exhibit out there that I have not heard of, please let me know!
1/31/09 0:55 AM
Ann Smith said...
Luckylibbet, the clothing show was a display I put up at the regional quilt show held here last weekend. It occurs every other year. They have invited it me three times to display my garments. This year I invited my friend Barbara to share the space. Together we put up 20 outfits, complete with jewelry on mannequins and dressforms. Lots of fun and a great honor. Sew more photos at my blog http://annsthreads.blogspot.com/
2/1/09 4:30 PM
Ann Smith said...

2/1/09 4:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
I can't seem to get rid of these extra posts. Sorry.
2/1/09 4:31 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking top.
2/5/09 10:51 AM
Grammy Gin said...
This outfit looks fantastic on you. The color is wonderful with your complexion. Another gorgeous outfit!
2/24/09 11:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 9848
photo
Review by KatieN on 5/13/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3658
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 12/15/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4173 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 4173 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us