Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: 000 (Little Stars Memory Quilt) thumbsup - Type:Quilts    printable version
Viewed 104 times 37 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/09 10:16 AM
Last Updated:1/30/09 10:33 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
What a beautiful tribute to your father, Cindy-Lou.
1/30/09 10:48 AM
bluenines said...
beautiful quilt , made with love! a great idea for keeping memories close to the heart ,,,, thank your for sharing it with us
1/30/09 10:57 AM
MarthaH said...
Thanks for sharing this with us. Quilts are meant to be loved (IMHO) and this surely will be. A beautiful tribute to both of your parents.
1/30/09 11:09 AM
annie11 said...
It's not often that a pattern review brings tears to my eyes, but this sure does! Beautiful job on a keepsake. So perfect in every way.
1/30/09 11:39 AM
pterion said...
What a lovely and thoughtful way to honor your father's memory. Thanks so much for writing this touching review.
1/30/09 12:45 PM
21wale said...
What a great gift for your mom! I love the pocket.
1/30/09 1:17 PM
mmmckay said...
What a beautiful gift and tribute! I aspire to be as loving a daughter as you. If, after a time, you just can't let the green strip go, I saw an idea in one of Kaffe Fassett's quilt books. They were unsatisfied with the contrast of one of the fabrics in a finished quilt, so they very carefully painted that fabric with fabric dye. You could make it disappear by darkening it a bit. Of course, that requires revisiting a finished project, which I have personally vowed to avoid...
1/30/09 1:45 PM
Karen6790 said...
What a lovely way for your mom to have your dad with her always - and a beautiful piece of you, as well. I love the quote - how perfectly appropriate for what you planned in this quilt. Wonderful work and a beautiful sentiment behind it.
1/30/09 2:18 PM
quathy said...
Very touching, and well done!
1/30/09 2:38 PM
Mary W said...
The light green strip will cause people to look closely and realize that it is more than just an attractive quilt . What a wonderful way to remember your father.
1/30/09 5:06 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautiful story, Cindy. What a special memory of your dear father. I think the quilt is perfect as is. Your mother looks pleased holding this loving tribute to her mate. I hope you will write and submit a narrative about this quilt for publication in one of the popular women's magazines. Sharing your family's journey could be such a blessing and a comfort to others facing grief and loss. What a special family you have.
1/30/09 8:31 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Wonderful and thoughtful use of your Dad's things. You and your Mom will both be able to enjoy! Thanks for sharing!
1/30/09 8:51 PM
Sharon1952 said...
Sometimes mistakes are providential too. I find the light green strip drew my eye to the center bottom of the quilt - to the stars and then down to the pocket. I don't think you could have planned it better. What a perfect way to lovingly compile your dad's life into a tangible "hug" for your mom. I pray it brings her the comfort of his arms.
1/31/09 8:08 AM
ChristineBR said...
I see that my "not many reviews make me cry" is one that others have felt. But it's so true. I am sure that your father would love to know this is what was done with some of his things.
1/31/09 9:26 AM
Jane S said...
Cindy, what a loving tribute to your dad and to the compassion you feel for your mother. You are a thoughtful, kind daughter.
1/31/09 7:42 PM
Nancywin said...
Oh, Cindy. What a wonderful, wonderful thing you've done. I liked the quilt when I first saw it, but after reading your story, it just brought tears to my eyes. Yes, you will always cringe at that light green piece (not because it looks bad, but because you don't like it), but in old times, quilters used to do something "imperfect" on all of their quilts as a reminder that God is the only perfect being and perfect creator. There is so much love in this quilt; not only will it be a blessing to your mother, I'm sure it was a blessing to you as you made it as well. I'd say it's "practically perfect in every way."
2/1/09 11:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2007-125 Cocktail dress
photo
Review by liliv on 11/6/13
Read Review

Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5815 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5815 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1085 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by CarolynGM on 6/24/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us