SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> 000 (Little Stars Memory Quilt)

37 more reviews
Viewed 104 times 
Reviewed by:cindy-lou
photo

 
 
About cindy-loustarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/21/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/09 10:16 AM
Last Updated:1/30/09 10:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gatorgirl4325 said...
What a beautiful tribute to your father, Cindy-Lou.
1/30/09 10:48 AM
bluenines said...
beautiful quilt , made with love! a great idea for keeping memories close to the heart ,,,, thank your for sharing it with us
1/30/09 10:57 AM
MarthaH said...
Thanks for sharing this with us. Quilts are meant to be loved (IMHO) and this surely will be. A beautiful tribute to both of your parents.
1/30/09 11:09 AM
annie11 said...
It's not often that a pattern review brings tears to my eyes, but this sure does! Beautiful job on a keepsake. So perfect in every way.
1/30/09 11:39 AM
pterion said...
What a lovely and thoughtful way to honor your father's memory. Thanks so much for writing this touching review.
1/30/09 12:45 PM
21wale said...
What a great gift for your mom! I love the pocket.
1/30/09 1:17 PM
mmmckay said...
What a beautiful gift and tribute! I aspire to be as loving a daughter as you. If, after a time, you just can't let the green strip go, I saw an idea in one of Kaffe Fassett's quilt books. They were unsatisfied with the contrast of one of the fabrics in a finished quilt, so they very carefully painted that fabric with fabric dye. You could make it disappear by darkening it a bit. Of course, that requires revisiting a finished project, which I have personally vowed to avoid...
1/30/09 1:45 PM
Karen6790 said...
What a lovely way for your mom to have your dad with her always - and a beautiful piece of you, as well. I love the quote - how perfectly appropriate for what you planned in this quilt. Wonderful work and a beautiful sentiment behind it.
1/30/09 2:18 PM
quathy said...
Very touching, and well done!
1/30/09 2:38 PM
Mary W said...
The light green strip will cause people to look closely and realize that it is more than just an attractive quilt . What a wonderful way to remember your father.
1/30/09 5:06 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautiful story, Cindy. What a special memory of your dear father. I think the quilt is perfect as is. Your mother looks pleased holding this loving tribute to her mate. I hope you will write and submit a narrative about this quilt for publication in one of the popular women's magazines. Sharing your family's journey could be such a blessing and a comfort to others facing grief and loss. What a special family you have.
1/30/09 8:31 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Wonderful and thoughtful use of your Dad's things. You and your Mom will both be able to enjoy! Thanks for sharing!
1/30/09 8:51 PM
Sharon1952 said...
Sometimes mistakes are providential too. I find the light green strip drew my eye to the center bottom of the quilt - to the stars and then down to the pocket. I don't think you could have planned it better. What a perfect way to lovingly compile your dad's life into a tangible "hug" for your mom. I pray it brings her the comfort of his arms.
1/31/09 8:08 AM
ChristineBR said...
I see that my "not many reviews make me cry" is one that others have felt. But it's so true. I am sure that your father would love to know this is what was done with some of his things.
1/31/09 9:26 AM
Jane S said...
Cindy, what a loving tribute to your dad and to the compassion you feel for your mother. You are a thoughtful, kind daughter.
1/31/09 7:42 PM
Nancywin said...
Oh, Cindy. What a wonderful, wonderful thing you've done. I liked the quilt when I first saw it, but after reading your story, it just brought tears to my eyes. Yes, you will always cringe at that light green piece (not because it looks bad, but because you don't like it), but in old times, quilters used to do something "imperfect" on all of their quilts as a reminder that God is the only perfect being and perfect creator. There is so much love in this quilt; not only will it be a blessing to your mother, I'm sure it was a blessing to you as you made it as well. I'd say it's "practically perfect in every way."
2/1/09 11:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6163

photo
by: ShanniLove...

Review
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 9966

photo
by: queenlathe...

Review