Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6749 (Misses Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 870 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:laranoelle
photo
About laranoellestar
WA USA
Member since: 1/29/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/09 6:23 PM
Last Updated:9/21/09 0:38 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewcrazy53 said...
I had similar problems with a prom dress for my daughter, which I cut out in the smallest size - Size 6. The bodice was at least two inches too big; much too much to take in and look decent. The sewing teacher helped, and then the dress look a lot nicer. Good luck with your dress.
1/30/09 6:36 PM
PatM said...
Welcome to pattern review! You must be disappointed with this dress. If you read the other reviews of this pattern, you will see that others have had similar problems.with the cap sleeves and bodice. You may have still decided to make this dress for the reasons you metioned. I hop your next dress is more successful. Check the reviews for the other versions. It is better to change the view and be successful than to persist with a view that doesn't work. The thumbs up sign means only that the pattern has been reviewed more than 5 times. It doesn't mean they are all good reviews or even that the same view or garment has been made from the pattern. I hope your next effort is a winner.
1/30/09 9:14 PM
EleanorSews said...
So sorry this was not a good experience. But, it is so important so share the wadders as well as the winners. Better luck next time around. Most of us have our share of wadders, too.
6/3/09 10:17 AM
Kayseri said...
Thanks for the review, it's a shame your dress didn't work (such pretty fabric), but its good to warn the rest of us.
9/20/09 5:49 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Sorry your dress did not come out wearable! I hope you can salvage the fabric for a top maybe because it is a beautiful print and color. Nice try.
9/20/09 7:59 AM
arianamaniacs said...
You did lovely work! Even though you're not 100% satisfied, you can still wear it. You also learned from it, so it's already a winner from my point of view =)
9/21/09 7:40 AM
okie2thdoc said...
Is there anyone who can help you fit the dresses you make before you do the final sewing? You've got talent and now you need a little help before you become frustrated. Hang in there!!! Cute dress, sorry it didn't work out like you'd hoped but don't give up!!
9/21/09 8:43 AM
laranoelle said...
Thanks for the comments. I am getting better now at basting first and fitting dresses on my dress form before doing the final stitching. I am also more comfortable taking things apart and trying again! Thanks for the encouragement!! :)
9/21/09 11:13 AM
Jaloma said...
I think your dress looks amazing! Sorry to hear it doesn't fit well. I made another New Look pattern recently with a boat neck and cap sleeves and the front was too wide and gappy; I ripped the front seam away from the facing, carefully sewed four pintucks in the front, then (painstakingly) cut and joined the facing to match the shortened front of the bodice and reattached to the front. It worked an absolute treat. I think New Look (for me) run large around the upper and lower chest; then again I'm a C or D cup so maybe need to cut smaller size and do FBA.
5/9/12 9:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 3242 OOP
photo
Review by MaryDB on 3/10/09
Read Review

Burda 7155 Pattern
Burda 7155 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3134
photo
Review by GailV on 8/10/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us