SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Green Pepper> 522 (Beret, Mt. and scrap caps)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest
Viewed 2007 times 
Reviewed by:Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Janie Viersstar
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/03 10:16 PM
Last Updated:1/14/12 2:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Katharine in BXL said...
OMG, you made 20! What a production! Thx for the tip on this great pattern. Most of us are heading for winter so it's welcome news. Yesterday it snowed for 4 hours here in the Netherlands! Is that leopard print fleece? It looks more like a faux fur. Very snazzy!
10/25/03 3:42 AM
AnneM said...
20! Yikes. I like the scrap hat idea. Your hat (& matching scarf) look very nice. I don't think I've seen a polar fleece beret before; I rather like the look.
10/25/03 8:28 AM
MaryBeth said...
I'm loving seeing these Green Pepper reviews you've done. The line drawings at the pattern site are so utilitarian that I don't think of fashion fabrics like leopard prints. Thanks for bringing this pattern company up for us to see.
10/25/03 9:22 AM
Diane E said...
OOOh, Janie, these are fun! Wow! 20! I am amazed and impressed. I love Green Pepper. The polar socks are a great way to use stretchy fleece scraps, too.
10/25/03 10:45 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Wow, how snazzy! I have some polar cheetah print... great idea here, thanks, oh and btw yours looks just great!
10/26/03 8:43 AM
clc said...
These look great, Janie. Did you use a serger or a sewing machine to make these? If sewing machine, which stitch did you use?
10/26/03 10:14 AM
Janie Viers said...
I used my straight stitch for all seams except the zig zag to flatten the seams. They advocate a "stretch" stitch, but I have found that If I stretch the fabric as I sew a long straight stitch works great (I have used a zig zag that was the smalled one I could get, and it looked much like a regular straight stitch) As far as using my serger....why bother. The darn fleece dulls the blades on the serger that it isn't worth it. Plus I do like less thread rather than more thread when sewing polar fleece
10/27/03 6:10 PM
Aroura said...
These Green Pepper patterns are so interesting! Also, thank for the tips on stitching.
1/13/12 3:31 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Very nice!
1/25/12 3:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-10

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
StyleArc Tori Crop Pant

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now