SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Stitch Magazine - Winter (Asymmetrical Folds Skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 647 times 
Reviewed by:sincerelyyourskater
photo

 
 
About sincerelyyourskaterstar
TX USA
Member since: 4/23/08
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/2/09 7:05 PM
Last Updated:5/6/09 6:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Very stylish and cute skirt!!
2/2/09 7:07 PM
Christas said...
Cute skirt!
2/2/09 7:51 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very cute!
2/2/09 11:43 PM
piffle said...
Love it, love it, love it. Where did you find the magazine? I would be interested in trying this pattern.
2/3/09 6:58 AM
Kay Y said...
Your skirt looks fabulous! This Stitch magazine is intriguing - I might have to order it just to get this pattern!
2/3/09 9:18 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I have this magazine (highly recommend - lots of really interesting projects) and am planning this skirt for spring - thanks so much for your tips! And yours looks so elegant in velvet - the lining is adorable!
2/3/09 12:00 PM
sincerelyyourskater said...
Thank you for the nice comments. I am really pleased with how the skirt turned out, which is something I (unfortunately) can't say for all my projects. I tried to by the magazine over Thanksgiving in Denver and the bookstore was sold out, so when I found it later at a Borders I snatched it up. You can also order it online at http://www.quiltingarts.com/shop/Stitch.html. It's on sale, so hurry. Plus, it includes patterns for several projects, so its a bargain. Good luck and share your own version of the skirt!
2/3/09 2:37 PM
nicegirl said...
That came out really cute! I'm mad at myself for missing out on picking up that issue.
2/3/09 4:05 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Awesome! Awesome! And thanks for the detailed review, too!
2/3/09 4:43 PM
oohisay said...
Ooh! I'm planning to make this skirt too. Your advice will really come in handy.
2/4/09 8:23 PM
merteuil said...
Very pretty skirt! Great review
2/7/09 7:12 AM
candyo said...
I'm tracing the pattern right now (ugh!) and can't figure out how to join the front pieces. You'd think they'd include some registration marks! How did you do it?
4/27/09 10:44 PM
MeganJ said...
What a nice skirt, and thanks for the review! I am working on this skirt now, and had the same issues tracing! Even more difficult than most magazine tracing, imho. Thanks for the tip on the short facings. That will come in handy!
5/6/09 0:37 AM
Raye Ann said...
very unique and pretty! thanks for the detailed review and info on how to obtain the mag- good job!
5/6/09 1:28 AM
marthamyers said...
Very intriguing skirt. I may have to buy this magazine. Thanks for the review with all the helpful detail.
5/6/09 9:38 AM
Patti B said...
Oh, I'm so glad you reviewed this skirt! Your velvet version is just gorgeous. Excellent and helpful review. I have the magazine and have been tempted and now it has moved up 'the list'.
5/6/09 10:19 AM
sincerelyyourskater said...
I just guesstimated where to join the pieces. I don't think it matters dramatically, as the wrap pieces are not that technical. You might try holding it up to your waist and gauging how much room you need, and attaching around there. Tracing was by far my least favorite part. The only consolation I can offer is that this is a great skirt, and you are sure to use the pattern more than once.
5/6/09 1:36 PM
Nikki S. said...
What a cute skirt! I checked out the website; they don't appear to have it online, which is a shame.
5/6/09 7:09 PM
SewSara said...
I love your skirt, the lining peeking out is so clever. I saw this magazine in the grocery store, I think I'll pick it up next time I'm there. EDIT: I got it! Yay
5/6/09 8:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 6606

photo
by: trinicity

Review
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now