Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Design Magazine: 01-2008-27 (#27 Chimpanzee T-Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 95 times 100 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:callmeRuth
photo
About callmeRuthstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 122
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 11:24 AM
Last Updated:2/3/09 12:35 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
This is just fabulously cute on your cheeky monkey!! I've got some freezer paper but haven't had a chance to try this technique yet - how did you transfer their monkey onto your paper?
2/3/09 11:35 AM
mendospot said...
Very cool! Does the freezer paper stick to the fabric?
2/3/09 11:58 AM
Stephenie said...
Thanks for the tip about the freezer paper. This is a great shirt!! Looks like your son loves it!
2/3/09 12:48 PM
katlew03 said...
Did your paint call for heat setting? This usually keeps the design from washing out. Your idea of using freezer paper was great. You should add it to the tip section. I have an Ottobre childrens magazine and will soon be trying one of their patterns since everyone seems to like them. Hope my DGS's turns out as good as your shirt.
2/3/09 2:21 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE shirt!! I LOVE the monkey!! Jacob looks SOOO HAPPY in his new shirt!!
2/3/09 4:54 PM
Christas said...
Great top! The monkey is so cool! Your coverstitching looks PERFECT!
2/3/09 4:59 PM
callmeRuth said...
To answer a few questions... :) I transferred the monkey to the freezer paper by placing the paper on top of the monkey picture and tracing the design. The freezer paper has just enough transparency to see through---would be nice if it were more transparent, lol. Yes, the freezer paper sticks to the fabric when you iron it down. Just be sure to iron with the waxy side down. After painting, I let it dry for about 20 minutes and then just peeled the freezer paper right off. The fabric paint I used did not tell how to heat set the paint, but I am going to get the hair dryer out or run the shirt through the dryer before washing. Thanks for all the comments!
2/3/09 7:25 PM
JustTrina said...
i love ottobre designs and have never tried their stencils, you method sounds easy enough for me to give it a try, thanks for sharing!
2/4/09 8:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 2282
photo
Review by Irene Bull... on 4/1/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4109
photo
Review by oliveoyl45 on 4/7/07
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7037 Pattern
Burda 7037 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Tank Dress Group
Loes Hinse Tank Dress Group

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us