SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 01-2008-27 (#27 Chimpanzee T-Shirt)

100 more reviews
Viewed 96 times 
Reviewed by:callmeRuth
photo

 
 
About callmeRuthstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews: 124 (patterns: 124)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 11:24 AM
Last Updated:2/3/09 12:35 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JustTrina said... (2/4/09 8:33 PM) Reply
i love ottobre designs and have never tried their stencils, you method sounds easy enough for me to give it a try, thanks for sharing!
callmeRuth said... (2/3/09 7:25 PM) Reply
To answer a few questions... :) I transferred the monkey to the freezer paper by placing the paper on top of the monkey picture and tracing the design. The freezer paper has just enough transparency to see through---would be nice if it were more transparent, lol. Yes, the freezer paper sticks to the fabric when you iron it down. Just be sure to iron with the waxy side down. After painting, I let it dry for about 20 minutes and then just peeled the freezer paper right off. The fabric paint I used did not tell how to heat set the paint, but I am going to get the hair dryer out or run the shirt through the dryer before washing. Thanks for all the comments!
Christas said... (2/3/09 4:59 PM) Reply
Great top! The monkey is so cool! Your coverstitching looks PERFECT!
Meggie LuLu said... (2/3/09 4:54 PM) Reply
What a CUTE shirt!! I LOVE the monkey!! Jacob looks SOOO HAPPY in his new shirt!!
katlew03 said... (2/3/09 2:21 PM) Reply
Did your paint call for heat setting? This usually keeps the design from washing out. Your idea of using freezer paper was great. You should add it to the tip section. I have an Ottobre childrens magazine and will soon be trying one of their patterns since everyone seems to like them. Hope my DGS's turns out as good as your shirt.
Stephenie said... (2/3/09 12:48 PM) Reply
Thanks for the tip about the freezer paper. This is a great shirt!! Looks like your son loves it!
mendospot said... (2/3/09 11:58 AM) Reply
Very cool! Does the freezer paper stick to the fabric?
squirrellypoo said... (2/3/09 11:35 AM) Reply
This is just fabulously cute on your cheeky monkey!! I've got some freezer paper but haven't had a chance to try this technique yet - how did you transfer their monkey onto your paper?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Pattern Details