SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5466 (Pleat Neck Dress)

18 more reviews
Viewed 942 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 2:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elle D said...
Perfect for holiday cocktail party, hold your champagne glass just so. Boy did you score with the Carol Collection, this is a lovely fabric and your layout is truly inspired. Didn't someone recently save a similar armscye issue by adding a gusset? Not that I ever want to go back and take things apart, but this dress would be so worth it. Or you can just stand around holding your champagne glass just so.
2/5/09 11:36 PM
carolynw said...
This looks super on you - sorry that the armscythe has made this not a fave of yours but thanks for the heads up
2/4/09 9:48 AM
Sic said...
You careful sewing and drafting really show through in the finished product - sorry the arms, but the dress looks wonderful even if it isn't quite functional! Also, way cute shoes!
2/4/09 8:40 AM
CynthiaSue said...
I love the pattern next to the picture thingy. i wish all our reviews were just set up like that. that is fabulous thinking nice girl. I fitted this dress at the palmer/pletsch seminar and so did another lady. The bodice piece looked like Frankenstein when we were done with it. It is a very fitted dress with the bust dart moved into those front neck pleats. I had to lengthen the shoulders alot! and do broad back and she had a FBA and i'm assuming a SBA is the same cutting lines so it's just a lot of work. it looks really cute on.
2/3/09 9:08 PM
Karen8320 said...
Nicegirl, you've gone to so much trouble and effort with this dress and it really does look fabulous in your photo, that it's such a shame that the final product is disappointing. However, your review is most definitely helpful for the rest of us.
2/3/09 8:51 PM
Mufffet said...
This is why I love BURDA patterns - the armhole is high and you get range of motion. My daughter is very short, small busted, and I still didn't have to do anything on the Burda I made her except shorted the bodice. Those high armholes were great. Of course, your dress is cute as a button anyhow! As usual, and the job on the plaid is great!! This is a very pretty and dressy style!
2/3/09 8:37 PM
sewtime said...
It looks so cute on you. :(
2/3/09 8:23 PM
shelyH said...
I noticed the same problem with this pattern in the short sleeve version, but not as severe as it is a cap sleeve. This really looks cute on you though! I haven't worn the one I made yet, since the back pleats stick out out weird. Great review!
2/3/09 7:43 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your dress turned out cute! Sorry to hear about the armholes. I have this pattern and I think that I will skip it now.
2/3/09 6:47 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Love it, LOVE IT! From the totally awesome picture - you look gorgeous by the way! - to the complete review! Too bad it didn't turn out like you wanted.
2/3/09 6:46 PM
Nancy K said...
Shame about the armscyes, because it looks great on you.
2/3/09 6:18 PM
Christas said...
What a shame about the armscye. It looks so cute on you. Love the plaid!
2/3/09 5:48 PM
Lori V said...
Tha is such a shame, it does look very cut on you.
2/3/09 5:18 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!! LOVE the neckline pleating!!
2/3/09 4:52 PM
Markie1 said...
Nicegirl- thanks for the great review-I have this pattern and will probably not make it now--hmmm... a dress you can't move your arms in that makes your butt look big until you nail down the pleats--sounds like a plan! HOWEVER, you did a great job making it look really cute on you. Didn't Queen Victoria or somebody say you should never raise your arms higher than it takes to drink a cup of tea? Very funny review, thanks.
2/3/09 4:20 PM
Leora said...
So much time and energy for bad armholes in the end. How disappointing. Great job pattern matching!!
2/3/09 4:06 PM
kasizzle said...
Too bad about the arms, because it really looks great on you.
2/3/09 2:47 PM
cindyann said...
What a shame the armscyes don't work. It's a lovely dress, though. Really flattering look on you. I had the same thing happen to me on a recent dress so I feel your pain.
2/3/09 2:37 PM
SexiSadi said...
There's no way you could maybe fix the armhole? It's such a nice looking dress that it's really a shame to not wear it.
2/3/09 2:27 PM
katlew03 said...
Sorry you had so many problems with this dress. It turned out so cute. I love the plaid. Perhaps you could have topstitched close to the edge to keep the lining from showing -- however, from experience I know this is not always the solution.
2/3/09 2:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 2812

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
McCall's 6123

photo
by: wendlesue

Review