SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5466 (Pleat Neck Dress)

18 more reviews
Viewed 936 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/09 2:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Sorry you had so many problems with this dress. It turned out so cute. I love the plaid. Perhaps you could have topstitched close to the edge to keep the lining from showing -- however, from experience I know this is not always the solution.
2/3/09 2:16 PM
SexiSadi said...
There's no way you could maybe fix the armhole? It's such a nice looking dress that it's really a shame to not wear it.
2/3/09 2:27 PM
cindyann said...
What a shame the armscyes don't work. It's a lovely dress, though. Really flattering look on you. I had the same thing happen to me on a recent dress so I feel your pain.
2/3/09 2:37 PM
kasizzle said...
Too bad about the arms, because it really looks great on you.
2/3/09 2:47 PM
Leora said...
So much time and energy for bad armholes in the end. How disappointing. Great job pattern matching!!
2/3/09 4:06 PM
Markie1 said...
Nicegirl- thanks for the great review-I have this pattern and will probably not make it now--hmmm... a dress you can't move your arms in that makes your butt look big until you nail down the pleats--sounds like a plan! HOWEVER, you did a great job making it look really cute on you. Didn't Queen Victoria or somebody say you should never raise your arms higher than it takes to drink a cup of tea? Very funny review, thanks.
2/3/09 4:20 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!! LOVE the neckline pleating!!
2/3/09 4:52 PM
Lori V said...
Tha is such a shame, it does look very cut on you.
2/3/09 5:18 PM
Christas said...
What a shame about the armscye. It looks so cute on you. Love the plaid!
2/3/09 5:48 PM
Nancy K said...
Shame about the armscyes, because it looks great on you.
2/3/09 6:18 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Love it, LOVE IT! From the totally awesome picture - you look gorgeous by the way! - to the complete review! Too bad it didn't turn out like you wanted.
2/3/09 6:46 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your dress turned out cute! Sorry to hear about the armholes. I have this pattern and I think that I will skip it now.
2/3/09 6:47 PM
shelyH said...
I noticed the same problem with this pattern in the short sleeve version, but not as severe as it is a cap sleeve. This really looks cute on you though! I haven't worn the one I made yet, since the back pleats stick out out weird. Great review!
2/3/09 7:43 PM
sewtime said...
It looks so cute on you. :(
2/3/09 8:23 PM
Mufffet said...
This is why I love BURDA patterns - the armhole is high and you get range of motion. My daughter is very short, small busted, and I still didn't have to do anything on the Burda I made her except shorted the bodice. Those high armholes were great. Of course, your dress is cute as a button anyhow! As usual, and the job on the plaid is great!! This is a very pretty and dressy style!
2/3/09 8:37 PM
Karen8320 said...
Nicegirl, you've gone to so much trouble and effort with this dress and it really does look fabulous in your photo, that it's such a shame that the final product is disappointing. However, your review is most definitely helpful for the rest of us.
2/3/09 8:51 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I love the pattern next to the picture thingy. i wish all our reviews were just set up like that. that is fabulous thinking nice girl. I fitted this dress at the palmer/pletsch seminar and so did another lady. The bodice piece looked like Frankenstein when we were done with it. It is a very fitted dress with the bust dart moved into those front neck pleats. I had to lengthen the shoulders alot! and do broad back and she had a FBA and i'm assuming a SBA is the same cutting lines so it's just a lot of work. it looks really cute on.
2/3/09 9:08 PM
Sic said...
You careful sewing and drafting really show through in the finished product - sorry the arms, but the dress looks wonderful even if it isn't quite functional! Also, way cute shoes!
2/4/09 8:40 AM
carolynw said...
This looks super on you - sorry that the armscythe has made this not a fave of yours but thanks for the heads up
2/4/09 9:48 AM
Elle D said...
Perfect for holiday cocktail party, hold your champagne glass just so. Boy did you score with the Carol Collection, this is a lovely fabric and your layout is truly inspired. Didn't someone recently save a similar armscye issue by adding a gusset? Not that I ever want to go back and take things apart, but this dress would be so worth it. Or you can just stand around holding your champagne glass just so.
2/5/09 11:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 8990

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now