Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2008-123 - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 521 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/09 8:07 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
senaSews said...
This vest is absolutely fabulous! I love it!
2/4/09 8:18 AM
Sic said...
Oh I love it! Nice work!
2/4/09 8:31 AM
cindyann said...
So nice! Interesting too!
2/4/09 8:37 AM
inkstain said...
This is so spacey, and probably looks more complicated than it was, if I can believe your review. Also, it looks like the right kind of thing for Hong Kong, a little formal around the collar but spaceage modern for running through Admiralty Tower or up and down the Hotel Victoria's escalators!
2/4/09 9:11 AM
Christas said...
Amazing vest! This is so unique and stylish!
2/4/09 9:32 AM
dbsewer said...
This is a really cute vest. I must have missed this one in BWOF so I'll have to go back and take a look. I agree, it has a space-age look to it. You did a great job. Thanks for the review.
2/4/09 10:01 AM
annie11 said...
That is gorgeous! I love your fabric choice.
2/4/09 10:04 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Neat vest - love the fabric choice.
2/4/09 10:44 AM
katlew03 said...
What an unusual vest. At first I though it was leather. It does look very complicated. Great job.
2/4/09 10:45 AM
Ann Smith said...
I love it. Your fabric choice is perfect.
2/4/09 11:02 AM
amy in mpls said...
I've been eyeing this pattern over and over. Your version is so fantastic. The fabric is so great. Nice job!
2/4/09 11:10 AM
Christina Sonja said...
This looks expensive!
2/4/09 11:16 AM
Beek said...
Very sporty and chic. I love this garment and I am sure you will receive numerous compliments while wearing it!
2/4/09 12:10 PM
reethi said...
Love it, and honestly, I didn't give this a second look in the magazine. Now I've seen your version, I want it!
2/4/09 12:42 PM
mendospot said...
Wow!
2/4/09 12:48 PM
Judy Wentz said...
You did a fabulous job. I love your vest!
2/4/09 1:42 PM
Re Becca said...
WOW! that does look really complicated. It is glad to know that it came together well.
2/4/09 2:23 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. Simply amazing vest. I love it.
2/4/09 2:25 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, I've never seen anything quite like it -- beautiful!
2/4/09 2:59 PM
Jolet said...
Looks wonderful, real professional. Nice waistcoat which you can were with a lot of flair!
2/4/09 3:21 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great vest! I love the details and fabric.
2/4/09 3:39 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Wow!
2/4/09 5:57 PM
sewbehind said...
That is really nice. I thought it was leather at first. The collar gives it that appearance and it is the kind of thing that you would see in leather. Super.
2/4/09 6:03 PM
Lori V said...
Amazing vest.
2/4/09 8:27 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Absolutely fabulous!
2/4/09 8:32 PM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous garment! I love the fabric too!
2/4/09 10:05 PM
Vonnevo said...
Your vest is fabulous, Allie !!! I like it much better than the magazine version.
2/5/09 0:24 AM
CatMukai said...
the only word for this is rad, i love it.
2/5/09 0:49 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
What a perfect pairing of interesting fabric and distinctive style. Even the zipper is perfect. Nice job.
2/5/09 7:49 AM
Diane333 said...
I like this top.
2/5/09 1:33 PM
Catbird said...
Loaded with style -- I love it!
2/5/09 8:14 PM
Katerina said...
Looks great!Good job!Wow!
2/7/09 1:37 AM
mylittleelephant said...
LOVE this!
2/7/09 9:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 2553 Car Organizers
photo
Review by JTink on 11/29/13
Read Review

Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3545 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3545 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3513
photo
Review by JewelLaver... on 7/8/09
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us