SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1087 (MISSES' DRESS)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1125 times 
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/09 9:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
Lovely!
11/27/09 4:35 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress! It is very flattering on you.
11/27/09 5:39 AM
Janetmarie said...
Great review. Thank you. I have the pattern and have been thinking about making it. The dress is beautiful. You did a wonderful and masterful job. The dress looks great on you.
6/23/09 9:42 PM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job! On my list of projects. Thanks for the review.
5/10/09 10:49 AM
Moxie Carol said...
Your review and photostream are going to be really helpful when I get to work on this for my h.s. reunion in August. Where would you make fitting adjustments to get more ease in the back, esp. around the waist and lower back?
5/9/09 10:25 AM
Marji said...
Thanks for all the detail in the review. The dress is fabulous on you. I'm debating over cutting this out tonight, and your review is very helpful.
4/17/09 9:02 PM
Mahler said...
Challenging but, so chic on you ! I missed the initial publication of your review. Thank you for the excellent review. I think that after crying over another DKNY pattern, I will pass on this one.
4/1/09 7:27 PM
SheriF said...
I just ordered this on sale for $5.99. I came right over to patternreview.com to see how it goes together. Thanks for such a detailed review. Have you heard back from Vogue? I want to look great in this dress - just like you!
3/26/09 8:44 AM
stephiechapman said...
This is a lovely dress! Looks great
3/24/09 10:53 PM
AnnMarieJ said...
This is an extremely helpful review - so great to know where the challenges are. Thanks so much. What a fabulous dress - you look divine!
3/12/09 10:34 PM
gotasew said...
Thamkyou I thought about tackling this one and after reading your review I am going to give it a miss. Even though you did a great job and it looks great it's just to complicated for me.
3/9/09 9:11 PM
nglalala said...
The dress is gorgeous on you! Great job and thanks for the review!
3/7/09 1:19 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I'm thinking of making it and having someone go there first is very helpful!
3/6/09 5:49 PM
layla said...
Wow .. this is so cute on you. !! Thank you for the informative reveiw . I can't wait to get started !!
3/5/09 6:58 PM
Moxie Carol said...
This dress really caught my eye - and it's even better in red! As I sat here reading through the pattern instructions and trying to picture the construction, I said out loud, "What have I gotten myself into?!" I came right to Pattern Review and how wonderful to find your terrific review! I also thought this would be flattering on a mature figure. Your helpful review and many pictures are inspiring. I'll definitely do a pattern-fitting and muslin. Gorgeous, beautiful, stunning! Thank you.
3/1/09 9:45 PM
Sewnforever said...
need to think very carefully about fabric choice
2/20/09 6:34 PM
waltzqueen said...
Kudos to you for such masterful work on a tricky pattern. Th dress looks maaaavelous on you.
2/11/09 12:17 PM
pinkli said...
Great dress - you've inspired me to take advantage of the sale on at the moment. Informative review too - thank you. Enjoy your event - the dress will be perfect!
2/9/09 8:37 AM
Skye said...
that's stunni9ng dress. thanks for the detailed review too.
2/6/09 5:56 PM
BillieJean said...
How brave of you to tackle this! And your results look beautiful.
2/5/09 6:34 AM
valerie sews said...
Your dress looks stunning on you. I'm thinking I'll have to buy this pattern...thanks for a very helpful review.
2/5/09 3:30 AM
kerrynw said...
Stunning dress, perfect for valentines day!
2/5/09 3:22 AM
rivergum said...
Lovely dress and great job putting it together. Thanks so much for the review, I have been eyeing this one and am thrilled to see it made up and worn by a real human.
2/5/09 1:38 AM
Caitycat said...
WOW. Thank you for such a thorough review. The dress looks great on you, very flattering!
2/5/09 1:27 AM
Athene said...
You look gorgeous - a fabulous dress on you - thanks for all the detailed pictures - very helpful in demystifying the process.
2/5/09 1:02 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Yummy dress! Red is certainly your color! This dress looks fabulous on you. While it is a little advanced for me, I'm very thankful you posted! Great review too!
2/5/09 0:30 AM
Immelu said...
That is fantastic! Do you think it would be hard to turn the skirt into having a slight a-line?
2/4/09 11:52 PM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous dress! Perfect for Valentine's day. Thanks for your very detailed review. This is my favorite pattern of the new Vogues. I think you were right in making the front bodice piece symmetrical.
2/4/09 10:34 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Gorgeous!
2/4/09 8:31 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This dress is STUNNING on you especially the red.
2/4/09 8:10 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Fabulous - I love it, the colour and style look stunning on you - enjoy your Valentines day event. Thanks for the very helpful review.
2/4/09 7:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Aly, you are electrifying! Great color and style for you! You will be the belle of the ball! Super review and thanks for the details of this pattern!
2/4/09 6:11 PM
sewbehind said...
I really like the collar and the dress is very flattering on you.
2/4/09 6:06 PM
Ann Smith said...
Ravishing in Red! Thanks for a great review with lots of helpful tips. Very puzzling about the different dart heights??
2/4/09 1:54 PM
Barbara V said...
I'm so glad you tackled this new pattern. I have been fascinated with it and will buy it soon. Your version using wool jersey in red was a great choice. It's beautiful, fits well and is very flattering on you. Thanks for all the detailed tips.
2/4/09 1:13 PM
nellc said...
Gorgeous dress, it looks wonderful in red. I just received this pattern today so your detailed review is very welcome.
2/4/09 1:07 PM
eugenia123 said...
Wow! this dress looks fantastic - congratulations on all your hard work.
2/4/09 1:02 PM
merry-one said...
Gorgeous!
2/4/09 12:52 PM
sewing for fun said...
Great looking dress. Red is definitely YOUR color!
2/4/09 12:25 PM
katlew03 said...
Beautiful dress. The picture does not show the details like your photostream. At first I thought it was just a fitted dress with wrinkles across the front until I saw the other pictures that showed the details. You did a great job with the fitting and the color looks nice on you. I think the final product was well worth the complexity of construction.
2/4/09 10:39 AM
Michele19 said...
Congratulations on your beautiful red dress. It looks stunning on you. I am sure you will be the belle of the Valentine's Party.
2/4/09 10:27 AM
JamieLiz said...
I was just looking at this pattern last evening, thinking it looked incredibly difficult. You did a masterful job with it -- the dress is drop-dead gorgeous on you. I think I'll pass on making it, but I admire your courage for tackling this one!
2/4/09 10:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2012-38

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

More Info
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info