SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-108 (Knit Top with Bateau Neckline)

45 more reviews
Viewed 742 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:2/5/09 8:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
Looks great on you. I'm about half done this one, had to take a break, glad to know it turns out this well. I love it when BWOF throws us a great basic shape we can use over and over.
2/5/09 8:57 AM
Re Becca said...
That looks maahvelous! Meeoow. When are they going to realize that that is the hard way to put in knit sleeves?
2/5/09 9:30 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very stylish. I like that you added the tie belt and dressed up this basic tee. Thanks for heads-up on noting that the neckline may be a little wide. For someone like me who has narrow shoulders, this is great info to have prior to tracing the pattern.
2/5/09 10:01 AM
pterion said...
Great style for you! I just started subscribing and thought this top would be a good 'first BWOF'. Thanks for the review!
2/5/09 10:22 AM
Michelle L said...
Adorable! I lovelovelove the fabric! Thanks for the hint on the neckline, I am forever forgetting to stabilize or staystitch.
2/5/09 10:35 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, thanks for the info on the neckline. This is one of the (many) items I wish to make from the February issue.
2/5/09 10:59 AM
crisford said...
Wow! Very sleek and flattering. Looks fabulous on you!
2/5/09 11:02 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I like it!
2/5/09 11:04 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Your top looks so much better than the one in the magazine. Lovely!
2/5/09 11:25 AM
2BSewing said...
Your version looks great on you. I saw this, but wasn't sure how the neckline would look on me. You've confirmed that I need to try it. Thanks for the tip on how the neckline behaves.
2/5/09 11:58 AM
nellc said...
Very nice top, the neckline is a lovely flattering shape.
2/5/09 12:36 PM
Izzie said...
Nice top! I like that neckline on you.
2/5/09 12:42 PM
squirrellypoo said...
This looks great! I totally missed this pattern in the preview, so I'm hoping my issue arrives soon!
2/5/09 12:49 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Cute top. I am finishing up another top and planned to start with that top from the Feb issue too. I love this issue, there are so many great things in it!
2/5/09 1:19 PM
Karendee said...
Great top; I love this pattern.
2/5/09 1:59 PM
Annette1 said...
Great review, clear and concise. LOVE your new top, especially the bateau neck and your fun print! :o) It's especially nice that you can whip this one up so quickly (even WITHOUT a serger or coverstitch, of which I have neither). :o)
2/5/09 2:04 PM
JamieLiz said...
Very nice. Love the print!
2/5/09 2:36 PM
persevering said...
Can you tell me how you stabilized the neckline? (I haven't done a knit yet.) The style is quite becoming on you. Thanks for your review.
2/5/09 2:53 PM
CynthiaSue said...
great print on you. thank you for the always so complete sewing instructions!
2/5/09 3:44 PM
figtree said...
WOW, so quick, I just got this magazine yesterday! I do like this top, nice basic, thanks for the tips!
2/5/09 3:56 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for another great review :)))
2/5/09 5:07 PM
TanyaMT said...
So nice to see this made up. I have a post-it note in my copy on this top and was just getting ready to trace it. :)
2/5/09 5:09 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
THis is first on the list from that issue - thanks for the review!
2/5/09 5:17 PM
nicegirl said...
Great top! The fabric is so fun and the neckline is flattering.
2/5/09 5:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks everyone for the kind words! You are tempting me to make more! To Persevering, I edited the section on "other features" to include the method I use to finish a knit neckline. Using invisible elastic is popular. You can also search the database for other ingenious ways.
2/5/09 6:17 PM
Catbird said...
Great top! Wasn't the February issue just loaded with good things? This one caught my eye too -- classic and simple design that we can't get enough of. Thanks for the review!
2/5/09 8:02 PM
Karla Kizer said...
That's the one I traced first from this issue. Yours is lovely. Very encouraging!
2/5/09 8:21 PM
Dinosauarwoman said...
I love your top....it looks wonderful! I also really like all of your items you have sewn! VERY inspiring!
2/5/09 8:25 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Your top is very cute. You are quick! I just got my issue yesterday and haven't even finished drooling over all the cute styles in it and you've already got something made!! I like the top a lot and was thinking I'd make it myself...very very becoming and a great print too!
2/5/09 9:06 PM
persevering said...
Thank you for answer - I feel more confident now about making a knit top. Also, about the slippage feeling on the shoulders:- If you haven't already, making & attaching 'bra strap holders" (or whatever they are called) could alleviate a potential slippage and keep this top wearable - it is a real winner! Thanks again!
2/6/09 0:29 AM
Karen8320 said...
Now this is one top that definitely belongs in a Duran Duran video clip! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lv6Cr5LZStE comes to mind) Louella, this is one very sleek and smart top and you look really fabulous in it! I love the fabric. Simon Le Bon would notice you straight away! Great work!
2/6/09 0:53 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Gosh, my February issue hasn't even arrived yet, and you have completed a garment from it! The neckline is really flattering and draws attention to your lovely face.
2/6/09 7:40 AM
jkaori said...
Looks great! I've had my eye on this pattern, so thank you for your review!
2/6/09 9:14 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
This top looks SOOOO NICE on you!! I LOVE the fabric you picked!!
2/7/09 6:02 PM
Kellie R. said...
You make absolutely THE funnest, cutest and best stuff! I love this top and it looks FABULOUS on you!!
2/9/09 3:24 PM
marjenann said...
OOH! LA! LA! What a smashing top!! You look divine!!
2/10/09 7:54 AM
kerrynw said...
Lovely top, great print.
2/14/09 9:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Lekala Patterns 4093

photo
by: Mazzygirl

Review