Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Patrones Magazine: 272-37 (Inauguration Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 432 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/09 11:49 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
Great coat which is definitely worthy of the occasion! I've been following along on your blog.
2/5/09 12:05 PM
marec said...
This is really nice. I love the lines of the coat-it has a flirty quality that matches you perfectly. The colors are quite striking too. Thanks for a great review.
2/5/09 12:09 PM
kathi s said...
Amazing coat and skills- I bow down to you!
2/5/09 12:16 PM
Diana M said...
I gulped as I read "cut it off one inch above the pockets" . . . great courage and creativity resulted in a wonderful coat!!
2/5/09 12:41 PM
Karen6790 said...
I agree, the line drawing was much more interesting than the photo. I think you set a record here, not only for speed of coat-making, but for speed of use of fabric purchased in November, and used together. I loved it then, and I like it even better now. The lining is gorgeous. Good save on the re-drafting after you'd made the shell, it looks perfectly sized for you now.
2/5/09 12:45 PM
JEF said...
Beautiful!
2/5/09 1:10 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful coat. The redesign of the bottom makes it extra special.
2/5/09 1:30 PM
Karendee said...
This is a very thorough review; I also love your purple coat. Glad it kept you warm on the big day!
2/5/09 1:47 PM
amy in mpls said...
I love what you did with the jacket. It still has those great lines at the neck, but with a fun and flirty swing! Looks Fantastic!
2/5/09 2:09 PM
SueV said...
BEE-U-TI-FUL great review; I wish I needed a coat
2/5/09 2:21 PM
Mufffet said...
GREAT coat and great blog entry of the inauguration day!
2/5/09 2:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. I'm full of admiration for your skill and creativity.
2/5/09 6:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your time and efforts produced an elegant, chic and superbly fitting coat!
2/5/09 10:59 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! What a transformation from the "shapeless" photos to FINISHED and FABULOUS! This is a beautiful coat, made all the more so by all of your special details. I'm so jealous that you got to go to the inauguration. As in, AND I DIDN'T. :o)
2/6/09 0:45 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful coat so quickly sewn. All of your creative changes and additions are interesting and clever. Hope you got a picture of yourself at the Inauguration wearing your coat! Lucky you...sure wish I could have gone to such an historic event.
2/6/09 11:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 2101
photo
Review by cecelia on 5/30/06
Read Review

Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6221 (Vintage)
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 7/29/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us