SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Patrones Magazine> 272-37 (Inauguration Coat)

Viewed 433 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/09 11:49 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
Great coat which is definitely worthy of the occasion! I've been following along on your blog.
2/5/09 12:05 PM
marec said...
This is really nice. I love the lines of the coat-it has a flirty quality that matches you perfectly. The colors are quite striking too. Thanks for a great review.
2/5/09 12:09 PM
kathi s said...
Amazing coat and skills- I bow down to you!
2/5/09 12:16 PM
Diana M said...
I gulped as I read "cut it off one inch above the pockets" . . . great courage and creativity resulted in a wonderful coat!!
2/5/09 12:41 PM
Karen6790 said...
I agree, the line drawing was much more interesting than the photo. I think you set a record here, not only for speed of coat-making, but for speed of use of fabric purchased in November, and used together. I loved it then, and I like it even better now. The lining is gorgeous. Good save on the re-drafting after you'd made the shell, it looks perfectly sized for you now.
2/5/09 12:45 PM
JEF said...
Beautiful!
2/5/09 1:10 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful coat. The redesign of the bottom makes it extra special.
2/5/09 1:30 PM
Karendee said...
This is a very thorough review; I also love your purple coat. Glad it kept you warm on the big day!
2/5/09 1:47 PM
amy in mpls said...
I love what you did with the jacket. It still has those great lines at the neck, but with a fun and flirty swing! Looks Fantastic!
2/5/09 2:09 PM
SueV said...
BEE-U-TI-FUL great review; I wish I needed a coat
2/5/09 2:21 PM
Mufffet said...
GREAT coat and great blog entry of the inauguration day!
2/5/09 2:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. I'm full of admiration for your skill and creativity.
2/5/09 6:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your time and efforts produced an elegant, chic and superbly fitting coat!
2/5/09 10:59 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! What a transformation from the "shapeless" photos to FINISHED and FABULOUS! This is a beautiful coat, made all the more so by all of your special details. I'm so jealous that you got to go to the inauguration. As in, AND I DIDN'T. :o)
2/6/09 0:45 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful coat so quickly sewn. All of your creative changes and additions are interesting and clever. Hope you got a picture of yourself at the Inauguration wearing your coat! Lucky you...sure wish I could have gone to such an historic event.
2/6/09 11:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Simplicity 1717

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now