SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2241 (1931 Vintage Vogue)

1 more reviews
Viewed 766 times 
Reviewed by:MCBurbage
photo

 
 
About MCBurbagestar
VA USA
Member since: 12/26/08
Reviews: 61 (patterns: 61)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/09 6:34 PM
Last Updated:6/28/09 9:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hethsaunders said... (3/22/13 8:45 AM) Reply
I have made this dress. It is fabulous. You do need the correct fabric, crepe backed satin is to heavy. It is a 1930's dress, they do look best on a slim figure, no tum!!!! They show every lump or bump on your body. The thin waistband adds to the line of the dress, it should not look like a sack. I do think everyone needs to be realistic in hoping that a 30's style dress siuts everyone's shape..the picture is a good guide of that. Good luck in the future.
Athene said... (7/2/09 11:12 PM) Reply
Sorry you did not like the end results. I am really happy to see a review of this pattern. I really like it.
whirrclunk said... (6/29/09 4:27 PM) Reply
The pattern picture looked so promising, I hope it didn't take you long. If it's any consolation, the dress looks much better on you than on the hanger!
Kayseri said... (6/29/09 2:16 AM) Reply
It's a shame that is doesn't work after all your effort. The picture has the midriff blouson out over the belt, which seems odd given the rest is so slim line. But I think this is contributing to the "sack" behaviour. The skirt, however hangs beautifully, maybe you could ditch the bodice and get an evening skirt instead : - )
sewtime said... (2/5/09 8:12 PM) Reply
Looks like it would be beautiful. Sorry the finished dress was a disappointment.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Butterick 5880

photo
by: IveGotStit...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 260079-1002

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Pattern Details