SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3435 (Misses Tops)

5 more reviews
Viewed 347 times 
Reviewed by:LBowman
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LBowmanstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 9/23/08
Reviews: 18 (patterns: 18)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/09 5:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LBowman said... (2/7/09 2:42 PM) Reply
Thanks for the link, renren, and the kind words, jali! I've tried to use that elastic, once, but it slips around when you try to sew it down. I'll give it another go. Knits are all I ever sew - they're so much more forgiving of fitting errors! (To a point).
Jali said... (2/7/09 8:24 AM) Reply
Congratulations on finishing an unfinished project and using your stash! The top is slightly bigger but looks warm and cozy. The colour's lovely on you especially the way you have teamed it up.
renren said... (2/7/09 7:39 AM) Reply
The product is called "clear elastic" and here is the link from Tips & Techniques where its use is described: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/topsearch.pl?search=neckline+&st=rt&submit=Search It's not like normal elastic. After reading about it several times here at PR, I bought some at JoAnns but have not got up enough nerve to sew with knits!
LBowman said... (2/7/09 3:04 AM) Reply
Stretch elastic? Hm. Perhaps I should try that. Though I do think it's too big ... still, I love the colour so much I don't want to just give it away. Maybe I'll try sliding a little elastic in under the facing; thanks for the tip. And thanks for the kind words, all of you!
renren said... (2/6/09 10:29 PM) Reply
I know others are always commenting on adding stretch elastic to necklines to keep them from gaping. I love the color on you and congratulations on your first review!
Diana M said... (2/6/09 6:58 PM) Reply
Gorgeous color, but I agree that it looks too big for you. Gaging the stretch/fit of knits can be a challenge, can't it?
sewtime said... (2/6/09 6:03 PM) Reply
I think your top looks real pretty on you! I love it!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1011

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Pattern Details