SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3435 (Misses Tops)

5 more reviews
Viewed 344 times 
Reviewed by:LBowman
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LBowmanstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 9/23/08
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/09 5:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
I think your top looks real pretty on you! I love it!
2/6/09 6:03 PM
Diana M said...
Gorgeous color, but I agree that it looks too big for you. Gaging the stretch/fit of knits can be a challenge, can't it?
2/6/09 6:58 PM
Renren said...
I know others are always commenting on adding stretch elastic to necklines to keep them from gaping. I love the color on you and congratulations on your first review!
2/6/09 10:29 PM
LBowman said...
Stretch elastic? Hm. Perhaps I should try that. Though I do think it's too big ... still, I love the colour so much I don't want to just give it away. Maybe I'll try sliding a little elastic in under the facing; thanks for the tip. And thanks for the kind words, all of you!
2/7/09 3:04 AM
Renren said...
The product is called "clear elastic" and here is the link from Tips & Techniques where its use is described: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/topsearch.pl?search=neckline+&st=rt&submit=Search It's not like normal elastic. After reading about it several times here at PR, I bought some at JoAnns but have not got up enough nerve to sew with knits!
2/7/09 7:39 AM
Jali said...
Congratulations on finishing an unfinished project and using your stash! The top is slightly bigger but looks warm and cozy. The colour's lovely on you especially the way you have teamed it up.
2/7/09 8:24 AM
LBowman said...
Thanks for the link, renren, and the kind words, jali! I've tried to use that elastic, once, but it slips around when you try to sew it down. I'll give it another go. Knits are all I ever sew - they're so much more forgiving of fitting errors! (To a point).
2/7/09 2:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5185

photo
by: mochimo

Review
Butterick 5147

photo
by: cmarie12

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now