SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2938 (Dress A)

33 more reviews
Viewed 1098 times 
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/09 3:56 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KateS said...
Lovely dress- I like the idea of the added ties! Definately a pattern worth a second look at !
2/8/09 4:23 AM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful dress and great choice of material. Thanks for thorough review - I have this pattern and your info. re the sizing was very useful.
2/8/09 5:43 AM
Sigrid. said...
Love this dress on you. Perfect fit.
2/8/09 6:25 AM
echolalia said...
As always, a fantastic fit, Vonne. Your colour choice is perfect for your dark hair. The Vogue model looks like she is wearing one size too small for her - it is tight across her bust and hips - but you are probably right, pegs do wonders in fashion shoots!
2/8/09 8:01 AM
JamieLiz said...
It's a very pretty dress and a great fit. The fixes you made turned out well, and are very helpful. Thank you!
2/8/09 8:29 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!! I LOVE the neckline pleats!!
2/8/09 9:17 AM
Christas said...
Vonnevo, this looks very nice on you! Thanks so much for all of the fitting details in your review.
2/8/09 9:17 AM
carolynw said...
Looks so nice on you - your usual great work! Thanks for such a helpful review
2/8/09 10:01 AM
Beek said...
You are right! I never noticed what a wonderful pattern this is until reading your review. What a great dress. I, too, prefer armhole facings versus bias tape. Nice work!
2/8/09 10:14 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Wow! Very impressive. I have this pattern as well...will have to give it a try.
2/8/09 11:22 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous - and a great review.
2/8/09 11:45 AM
Diane E said...
What a pretty dress and I love your photos. The garden gate provides such a beautiful rustic contrast to the ladylike quality of the fit and fabric. And yes, I'll bet they pegged the skirt for the photo shoot ;)
2/8/09 11:50 AM
Ann Smith said...
Looks lovely. I really like the idea of the sewn in ties instead of a tie belt. Much more polished looking.
2/8/09 12:04 PM
cindyann said...
I love it!
2/8/09 12:34 PM
ALY said...
Beautiful dress. It looks so nice on you. I love the red silk print.
2/8/09 1:29 PM
Rhoda K said...
Love the dress, fabric and your thorough review!
2/8/09 2:05 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Vonne, you look very pretty indeed in your Summery dress, and I too love the additions of the ties to control the volume ... very smart and stylish. Lovely, Lily
2/8/09 3:09 PM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful dress Vonne. You look gorgeous!
2/8/09 3:59 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for explaining what you did to help us - certainly making me see the possibilities where I didn't before.
2/8/09 4:25 PM
PatM said...
Lovely dress, I like the ties below the bust. Your dress looks better on you then the one on pattern envelope
2/8/09 6:39 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Very nice dress.
2/8/09 7:22 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely dress Vonne - looks great for this warm summer weather we are having!
2/8/09 10:54 PM
Ody said...
Your dress looks better on you than the pattern envelop model. Wonderful fabric. It is the dead of winter here and I am ready to hop on a plane and go where every you are with all the warm weather. Great review and I also want a slide show for my pictures. Excuse the rank all out envy!
2/9/09 1:34 AM
LorelleD said...
After reading your review I did take a second look at this pattern. The fit on your dress looks really nice, as does the colour of your dress. Very pretty. Thanks for an informative review.
2/9/09 5:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is GORGEOUS! The fabric is perfect for this! Feminine and drapey. I have this pattern and was excited to see how lovely your dress turned out. Now I want to move this up on my to do list!
2/9/09 3:20 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress is lovely on you! This is one of those sleeper patterns that you skip by until someone, like you, makes it pop!
2/9/09 9:32 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the info on the excess fabric in the princess seams .... I was just looking at this pattern yesterday, I love the pleats at the neckline. Thanks for the review.
2/9/09 9:37 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work here, Vonne. The fabric is just right for summer and your addition of ties gives it a much more stylish look than a belt. You look great!
2/10/09 8:26 PM
egreen42 said...
Beautiful dress love the added ties, the fabric is lovely and it fit you perfectly. Excellent review!
12/2/13 8:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-30

photo
by: Sandi S

Review