SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2938 (Dress A)

33 more reviews
Viewed 1102 times 
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
Australia
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/09 3:56 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KateS said...
Lovely dress- I like the idea of the added ties! Definately a pattern worth a second look at !
2/8/09 4:23 AM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful dress and great choice of material. Thanks for thorough review - I have this pattern and your info. re the sizing was very useful.
2/8/09 5:43 AM
Sigrid. said...
Love this dress on you. Perfect fit.
2/8/09 6:25 AM
echolalia said...
As always, a fantastic fit, Vonne. Your colour choice is perfect for your dark hair. The Vogue model looks like she is wearing one size too small for her - it is tight across her bust and hips - but you are probably right, pegs do wonders in fashion shoots!
2/8/09 8:01 AM
JamieLiz said...
It's a very pretty dress and a great fit. The fixes you made turned out well, and are very helpful. Thank you!
2/8/09 8:29 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!! I LOVE the neckline pleats!!
2/8/09 9:17 AM
Christas said...
Vonnevo, this looks very nice on you! Thanks so much for all of the fitting details in your review.
2/8/09 9:17 AM
carolynw said...
Looks so nice on you - your usual great work! Thanks for such a helpful review
2/8/09 10:01 AM
Beek said...
You are right! I never noticed what a wonderful pattern this is until reading your review. What a great dress. I, too, prefer armhole facings versus bias tape. Nice work!
2/8/09 10:14 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Wow! Very impressive. I have this pattern as well...will have to give it a try.
2/8/09 11:22 AM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous - and a great review.
2/8/09 11:45 AM
Diane E said...
What a pretty dress and I love your photos. The garden gate provides such a beautiful rustic contrast to the ladylike quality of the fit and fabric. And yes, I'll bet they pegged the skirt for the photo shoot ;)
2/8/09 11:50 AM
Ann Smith said...
Looks lovely. I really like the idea of the sewn in ties instead of a tie belt. Much more polished looking.
2/8/09 12:04 PM
cindyann said...
I love it!
2/8/09 12:34 PM
ALY said...
Beautiful dress. It looks so nice on you. I love the red silk print.
2/8/09 1:29 PM
Rhoda K said...
Love the dress, fabric and your thorough review!
2/8/09 2:05 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Vonne, you look very pretty indeed in your Summery dress, and I too love the additions of the ties to control the volume ... very smart and stylish. Lovely, Lily
2/8/09 3:09 PM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful dress Vonne. You look gorgeous!
2/8/09 3:59 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for explaining what you did to help us - certainly making me see the possibilities where I didn't before.
2/8/09 4:25 PM
PatM said...
Lovely dress, I like the ties below the bust. Your dress looks better on you then the one on pattern envelope
2/8/09 6:39 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Very nice dress.
2/8/09 7:22 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely dress Vonne - looks great for this warm summer weather we are having!
2/8/09 10:54 PM
Ody said...
Your dress looks better on you than the pattern envelop model. Wonderful fabric. It is the dead of winter here and I am ready to hop on a plane and go where every you are with all the warm weather. Great review and I also want a slide show for my pictures. Excuse the rank all out envy!
2/9/09 1:34 AM
LorelleD said...
After reading your review I did take a second look at this pattern. The fit on your dress looks really nice, as does the colour of your dress. Very pretty. Thanks for an informative review.
2/9/09 5:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is GORGEOUS! The fabric is perfect for this! Feminine and drapey. I have this pattern and was excited to see how lovely your dress turned out. Now I want to move this up on my to do list!
2/9/09 3:20 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress is lovely on you! This is one of those sleeper patterns that you skip by until someone, like you, makes it pop!
2/9/09 9:32 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the info on the excess fabric in the princess seams .... I was just looking at this pattern yesterday, I love the pleats at the neckline. Thanks for the review.
2/9/09 9:37 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work here, Vonne. The fabric is just right for summer and your addition of ties gives it a much more stylish look than a belt. You look great!
2/10/09 8:26 PM
egreen42 said...
Beautiful dress love the added ties, the fabric is lovely and it fit you perfectly. Excellent review!
12/2/13 8:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 3155

photo
by: ChristyInT...

Review