SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8306 (Misses' Jacket & Belt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 918 times 
Reviewed by:Nancy K
photo

 
 
About Nancy Kstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/09 3:17 PM
Last Updated:3/21/09 11:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette Wright said...
What a smokin' jacket. I LOVE it. You'll have a lot of fun wearing this one.
3/22/09 7:02 PM
Kellie R. said...
Simply beautiful. I love yellow. This is such a soft and feminine shade and of course, the style is gorgeous. I'm sorry that you're unhappy with the weight of the coat, but it still looks fabulous.
3/22/09 1:37 PM
poplin said...
Beautiful coat, lovely color! Glad to have found your blog.
3/21/09 11:41 PM
Erica B. said...
Gorgeous! Just gorgeous! I love the color!
3/21/09 10:20 PM
solosmocker said...
This is so pretty, Nancy. It looks comfortable to wear as well and the color is great on you.
3/21/09 9:19 PM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous coat Nancy ! The beautiful colour will brighten up any grey day :)
3/21/09 5:17 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great to see it on you, it's wonderful.
3/21/09 3:46 PM
sewhappygrams said...
Love your coat and what a fit! The yellow color is just what one needs on a wintery day. You did a fantastic job and review. Thanks so much!
3/21/09 2:46 PM
nancy2001 said...
What a beautiful and impeccably made coat -- it looks like you spent a bundle for it at Bergdorf's. The custom fit and the sunny lemon color look lovely on you. Congratulations on your new blog.
3/21/09 1:46 PM
cindyann said...
Gorgeous color! Fantastic on you.
3/21/09 12:54 PM
Luckylibbet said...
So sunshiny for dreary winter days! Just love the marriage of color, style and proportion - excellent job on all your changes. And congrats on joining blogdom, looking forward to more from you.
3/21/09 12:46 PM
nglalala said...
Your coat is awesome! Great job!
3/21/09 12:29 PM
eugenia123 said...
This coat is fabulous! I absolutely LOVE the color and the style really suits you. Great review.
3/21/09 12:21 PM
Christas said...
Your coat is so lovely! What a pretty lining too! Beautiful sewing....
3/21/09 11:50 AM
Mahler said...
Congratulations on your new blog. Mistake on the fabric or not, I think that your coat is wonderful. The colour is more then gorgeous on you. The lining is more then beautiful.
3/21/09 11:29 AM
Rebecca D said...
It's gorgeous, pure and simple. I so appreciate your thorough reviews.
3/21/09 8:54 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful coat
3/21/09 8:06 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! Wonderful coat and a great review.
3/21/09 6:42 AM
Annette1 said...
THANK YOU for such a THOROUGH and INFORMATION-PACKED review. Your coat is SOOOOOOOOO pretty in that SUNNY YELLOW, I just LOVE it. OF COURSE, all of your tailoring details make ALL the difference in this "easy" Vogue. I'm not a fan of Vogue "easy" patterns either, but I have to admit I've often mulled this one over. I thought the collar was a little TOO big, but as you've altered yours, to my eye it's perfect. Of course, your lining just MAKES it. I don't make a lot of patch pockets, because I don't like the stitching lines drawing attention to them. Your method that you've demonstrated is PERFECT.
3/20/09 11:45 PM
JoanneM said...
Lovely color! Great review!
3/20/09 9:47 PM
Re Becca said...
Lovely! This will be so nice on a cold winter day. Youwill look fabulous and warm. I love that patch pocket method.
3/20/09 9:28 PM
Ody said...
Nancy---just gorgeous! What a wonderful outcome for such hard work! I love snazzy linings, and the one you chose just takes that beautiful coat up a few more notches. I think you will look very springy like a daffodil on cool spring days, and all you have to do is open it up to show the lining and it will get HOT!!! Great and informative review. Love your new blog!
3/20/09 7:45 PM
QuickFade said...
If only it were cold enough often enough here.... Gorgeous coat! Thanks for the reviews!
3/20/09 7:11 PM
bananaoil said...
It looks great! Did you make a muslin?
3/20/09 6:54 PM
Sewliz said...
Even in little photos the fabric looks ultra delicious and I read delightedly through the first part of your review looking forward to seeing where you had purchased this fab stuff. I love the color, how refreshing in the grey dreary winter! Beautiful work, beautiful coat, lovely review, lovely woman in the coat.
3/20/09 6:49 PM
colourbynumber said...
I love the yellow. And the collar is wonderful.
3/20/09 6:37 PM
Beek said...
Love this bright, cheerful jacket!
3/20/09 5:58 PM
MaryDB said...
It looks beautiful and warm and perfect. I hear you on the thick fabric - thank goodness it's spring!
3/20/09 5:31 PM
carolynw said...
Magnificent job - just love it. Great work
3/20/09 5:11 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review and amazingly beautiful coat.
3/20/09 5:11 PM
pterion said...
Brava, Nancy! Such a lovely coat, very flattering style and color for you. And thank you for the detailed, thoughtful review.
3/20/09 4:15 PM
Michelle L said...
Beautiful coat, I love the color!
3/20/09 4:12 PM
Dei said...
That coat is gorgeous and that color qualifies and scrumptious!
3/20/09 3:49 PM
Deborah L said...
GORGEOUS. The color looks stunning on you. Very nice.
3/20/09 3:30 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Wonderful jacket with a very detailed review. I just saw it on your blog last night.
3/20/09 3:30 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your coat is beautiful! I hope that you get much enjoyment from wearing something so lovely!
3/20/09 3:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Other Mango Tango

photo
by: jannw

Review
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

More Info
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

More Info