SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2681 (Choice of Gored Skirts)

14 more reviews
Viewed 485 times 
Reviewed by:crazygrad
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About crazygradstar
Member since: 11/11/07
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 54
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/09 3:31 PM
Last Updated:2/15/09 11:47 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Such a shame about the fit. This pattern looks really cute. And, your fabirc seems just right for the style.
2/9/09 4:03 PM
Renren said...
The skirt looks nice and I love the fabric. I recently purchased this pattern at fabrics.com and I'm now concerned because I have some of the same mid-section fitting issues you describe. Hmm, may have to plan on a loose-fitting top to hide the fluff . . . I was hoping for a great outcome but now I will have to approach the project with caution. I hope you can make it work out for you because the skirt really is lovely . . .
2/9/09 5:11 PM
crazygrad said...
Mlt and Debbie Cook have also reviewed this pattern and had much better success with it than I did. Give theirs a peak and give the pattern a try. Like I said, it goes together quickly and easily so you won't waste a bunch of time on it if it doesn't work for you. I also used a sale fabric (though I like it a lot) so I didn't suck a bunch of $$ into it either.
2/9/09 6:01 PM
moushka said...
Gored skirts are usually pretty forgiving but where the gores start is critical. It could be that you need the flare to start higher up on the torso, or to flare out more quickly, than your skirt does. If the gores are too fitted around the tummy, it can be unflattering (ask me how I know!). Of it could be that you need more length or flare. It's a matter of proportion. If this is a style you like, and you'd like it to work for you, I'd suggest making up a long one in some cheap, plain fabric without any elastic. Put some elastic around your waist, and play with the the length of the skirt in front of a mirror. You will soon find that there is a magic spot where you will look slim and elegant in this style. I know it sounds like a lot of work but it's worth it if you like the style. Love your fabric. Hope you can get the pattern to work for you. Sue
2/9/09 7:45 PM
Seaspur said...
Pretty skirt! Jalie patterns tend to fit quite close IMO and I have learned to size up 1 or 2 sizes when making them.
2/9/09 7:50 PM
katlew03 said...
Is it possible to let out each seam about 1/8 - 1/4 inch down past the hips? Sometimes that small amount makes all the difference.
2/9/09 9:04 PM
Ody said...
First of all, about the wonky---It has been said on this very sewing forum, that if you can't see it from 10 feet---don't worry about it! Second, most garment challenges are opportunities for a creative design feature. Wow! that fabric is so gorgeous maybe you could add some fabric pannels vertically (for design they should be an odd number, like three in the front and three in the back). Then, as my creative mind is going crazy here trying to help you salvage this skirt, maybe you could screen paint, or stencil over all to make it look like one wonderfully clever piece of art design. Did you see Peggy L's latest blouse. Really, it would be super! Anyway, you can throw out all my ideas, but this was a great review!
2/9/09 9:34 PM
sewing for fun said...
I think your skirt is very pretty. I can relate to the PFD comment, too, after weight loss. I am planning to try this pattern and I appreciate your comments a great deal. I wonder if a partial lining would help if made of glistenette or the underarmour lycra or a lightweight powernet ... maybe just to hip level.
2/10/09 8:41 PM
crazygrad said...
I can't wear my really powerful spanx because the skirt falls off if I do! I can wear the light one (the one that basically makes sure there are no panty lines) without a problem. I think a slip will help too with possible cling issues. It is a touch see through in bright lights anyway. I still think its pretty unflattering.
2/15/09 11:44 AM
persevering said...
Your pretty skirt looks very nice on you! I hope you wear it. (Aren't we needlessly our own worst critics?)
2/15/09 1:03 PM
sewtime said...
Sorry about the fit, it looks like a very pretty skirt!
2/15/09 2:25 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your skirt turned out very cute! I looked at the pic of you wearing it and I can't see the problem you're describing. Maybe the amount of ease is smaller than you're use to. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.
2/16/09 0:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 1776

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
Tilly and the Buttons 1001

photo
by: karenball

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now