SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2681 (Choice of Gored Skirts)

14 more reviews
Viewed 486 times 
Reviewed by:crazygrad
photo

 
 
About crazygradstar
Member since: 11/11/07
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 55
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/09 3:31 PM
Last Updated:2/15/09 11:47 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Darla in PA said...
Your skirt turned out very cute! I looked at the pic of you wearing it and I can't see the problem you're describing. Maybe the amount of ease is smaller than you're use to. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.
2/16/09 0:21 AM
sewtime said...
Sorry about the fit, it looks like a very pretty skirt!
2/15/09 2:25 PM
persevering said...
Your pretty skirt looks very nice on you! I hope you wear it. (Aren't we needlessly our own worst critics?)
2/15/09 1:03 PM
crazygrad said...
I can't wear my really powerful spanx because the skirt falls off if I do! I can wear the light one (the one that basically makes sure there are no panty lines) without a problem. I think a slip will help too with possible cling issues. It is a touch see through in bright lights anyway. I still think its pretty unflattering.
2/15/09 11:44 AM
sewing for fun said...
I think your skirt is very pretty. I can relate to the PFD comment, too, after weight loss. I am planning to try this pattern and I appreciate your comments a great deal. I wonder if a partial lining would help if made of glistenette or the underarmour lycra or a lightweight powernet ... maybe just to hip level.
2/10/09 8:41 PM
Ody said...
First of all, about the wonky---It has been said on this very sewing forum, that if you can't see it from 10 feet---don't worry about it! Second, most garment challenges are opportunities for a creative design feature. Wow! that fabric is so gorgeous maybe you could add some fabric pannels vertically (for design they should be an odd number, like three in the front and three in the back). Then, as my creative mind is going crazy here trying to help you salvage this skirt, maybe you could screen paint, or stencil over all to make it look like one wonderfully clever piece of art design. Did you see Peggy L's latest blouse. Really, it would be super! Anyway, you can throw out all my ideas, but this was a great review!
2/9/09 9:34 PM
katlew03 said...
Is it possible to let out each seam about 1/8 - 1/4 inch down past the hips? Sometimes that small amount makes all the difference.
2/9/09 9:04 PM
Seaspur said...
Pretty skirt! Jalie patterns tend to fit quite close IMO and I have learned to size up 1 or 2 sizes when making them.
2/9/09 7:50 PM
moushka said...
Gored skirts are usually pretty forgiving but where the gores start is critical. It could be that you need the flare to start higher up on the torso, or to flare out more quickly, than your skirt does. If the gores are too fitted around the tummy, it can be unflattering (ask me how I know!). Of it could be that you need more length or flare. It's a matter of proportion. If this is a style you like, and you'd like it to work for you, I'd suggest making up a long one in some cheap, plain fabric without any elastic. Put some elastic around your waist, and play with the the length of the skirt in front of a mirror. You will soon find that there is a magic spot where you will look slim and elegant in this style. I know it sounds like a lot of work but it's worth it if you like the style. Love your fabric. Hope you can get the pattern to work for you. Sue
2/9/09 7:45 PM
crazygrad said...
Mlt and Debbie Cook have also reviewed this pattern and had much better success with it than I did. Give theirs a peak and give the pattern a try. Like I said, it goes together quickly and easily so you won't waste a bunch of time on it if it doesn't work for you. I also used a sale fabric (though I like it a lot) so I didn't suck a bunch of $$ into it either.
2/9/09 6:01 PM
Renren said...
The skirt looks nice and I love the fabric. I recently purchased this pattern at fabrics.com and I'm now concerned because I have some of the same mid-section fitting issues you describe. Hmm, may have to plan on a loose-fitting top to hide the fluff . . . I was hoping for a great outcome but now I will have to approach the project with caution. I hope you can make it work out for you because the skirt really is lovely . . .
2/9/09 5:11 PM
EleanorSews said...
Such a shame about the fit. This pattern looks really cute. And, your fabirc seems just right for the style.
2/9/09 4:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

New Look 6150

photo
by: Lori9999

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
Marfy 2245

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review