Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1013 (70's Styled Iconic Shirtdress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 973 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/09 1:10 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
The math students noticed that whenever the winsome Ms. Heatherique wore her "c"razy 70s styled shirtdress, she gave an inordinate number of "C's"--C minuses, C pluses, and plain old C's--and they had the statistics to back it up. I LOVE THIS DRESS!!!
2/12/09 1:21 AM
valerie sews said...
Very nice style, in spite of the 'c'onfusion!
2/12/09 2:04 AM
Annette1 said...
Another GREAT and ENTERTAINING review. :o) What a wonderful dress. It's a true classic, not only in style, but in colors, too. You look GREAT!
2/12/09 2:46 AM
Twinset said...
This style looks really great on you! Thank you for reviewing this dress.
2/12/09 3:28 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Another gorgeous outfit from you Louella! I wish I had your wardrobe....(sigh) I suppose if I worked as hard as you at your sewing I could! Yet another entertaining review, I think you should be a writer!
2/12/09 7:22 AM
Nancy K said...
This is very flattering on you! I find that most of the pattern companies have sparser instructions these days so having additional sources makes sewing a lot easier.
2/12/09 8:05 AM
Sic said...
Love it! Thank you for the detailed review!
2/12/09 8:35 AM
Em's Summer said...
I love your dress! You picked the perfect fabric for it! I agree with the others that the style and fabric are very flattering on you.
2/12/09 9:09 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love this fabric - it was great in your top and rocks as this dress! Have fun discoing!
2/12/09 10:04 AM
RLL said...
You look incredible in this. Great job.
2/12/09 10:36 AM
Byrdie said...
The dress looks great on you! Thanks for all of the helpful information, including links to helpful sites:)
2/12/09 10:52 AM
sewtime said...
Love your dress,and the fabric is beautiful!
2/12/09 10:58 AM
crisford said...
This is a great dress! I don't understand the return to the 70's but I can appreciate anyone pointing out the details of what came back and how it's just a little different. This looks absolutely classic and classy on you!
2/12/09 11:11 AM
wendlesue said...
Way cute!
2/12/09 11:21 AM
oracle said...
heatherrique, you're a riot and that dress looks gorgeous on you. I've got the pattern and it's so great to see it made up one someone and looking so good. The fabric you've chosen really flatters you, too.
2/12/09 11:28 AM
CynthiaSue said...
ok where do I begin...? My usual soapbox to complain about and scold HP for charging 20 bucks for horrible instructions and less than ideal drafting. For the price, both should be above reproach. I don't know if i've just never really read a whole review of yours or just finally let it sink in that the song titles really do match the theme of each paragraph you are discussing! HILARIOUS. "Don't Sleeve Me...??" and "Got Brass....."?? these are BRILLIANT! You should seriously consider righting a sewing book, same theme as Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, her hilariouis anecdotes on knitting. Yours would be a one of a kind bestseller. And this dress is so well sewn. I can't believe you are sitting there trying to point out problems in the neck placket. I still can't see them! And finally, this cut REALLY suits you! Sew many of them for staples in your wardrobe!
2/12/09 12:07 PM
amy in mpls said...
I love your dress, but too have been plagued by how oversized/or unshaped those HP's are! Your version is great though and what a great review!
2/12/09 12:09 PM
Christas said...
What a great review! The dress looks wonderful on you!
2/12/09 5:22 PM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, I'd say that you are definitely dressed for suCCess! How great to see you in a dress and you look so lovely in it. Despite your minor frustrations on the way, this has turned out great. I loved the print of the fabric in your previous top and it really suits this style of dress. You look smashing!
2/12/09 8:10 PM
Catbird said...
Wow...you certainly had to take a long and winding road to achieve complete success on this one! Hot Patterns should be ashamed of themselves -- I agree with dvmcindy -- but they do come up with great patterns when all is said and done. You and your new dress look great!
2/12/09 8:30 PM
Olivia Sews said...
This really is a great looking dress and very flattering on you! 20.00 should buy couture instructions that can be understood!!
2/12/09 10:02 PM
meli88a said...
This dress is fabulous! I love the cut, the fabric, all of it!
2/12/09 10:30 PM
LoriU said...
Loved the links to almost-identical RTW dresses - of course, for many $$. Thank you for the fun and detailed review and your dress looks so cute on you!
2/13/09 10:20 AM
Beek said...
What a fabulous dress! You look stunning in this style and the wonderful fabric!
2/13/09 5:33 PM
Robin Denning said...
Well your dress sure looks fantastic on you! You are fast! Even your confusion seems to zip by! It turned out great.
2/14/09 9:41 PM
rose4524 said...
Cool dress, creative and fun review!
2/15/09 0:12 AM
CatMukai said...
how did I miss this in the review gallery? I love it!
2/20/09 1:41 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Heather, I love your fabric! Nice dress; thanks for another great review!
2/24/09 4:19 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a wonderful, thorough review, and really stunning dress!
2/28/09 12:05 PM
michellep74 said...
I'm not sure how I missed this when you first posted it, but I love it! This really is a great look on you. I have this pattern, too, and if I ever get around to making it, I'll definitely be referring to your review for help.
3/1/09 0:00 AM
crazygrad said...
"Baby, my heart is full of love and desire for you"(r dress)! (Love that song too)
4/29/09 7:49 PM
rose4524 said...
Very helpful AND entertaining review. What an awesome dress - great throwback look!
8/3/09 0:38 AM
melkington said...
You've done a fantastic job on this...it looks VERY expensive too! Looks great on you!
11/27/10 1:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-101
photo
Review by tigergirl on 11/2/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6429
photo
Review by Gelbean on 7/6/08
Read Review

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1920 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1920 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 20-22 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 20-22 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us