Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Studio Kat Designs: Portapockets (Portapockets) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 548 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:denaria
photo
About denaria
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 9/8/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/09 10:53 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Thanks for the review. They look cute on the website but complicated.
2/15/09 11:15 AM
sewing for fun said...
If you try it again, I suggest Timtex hat brim interfacing or heavy buckram like that used inside curtain cornices.
2/15/09 3:26 PM
marthamyers said...
I made this one too. It seems everyone has trouble with the binding. It's just too thick at the end. But it is a great idea and yours looks fabulous, so great save!
2/15/09 4:03 PM
KrystalL said...
I just love crafty things like this! I made a roll-up purse organizer, but it unrolls in my purse and sometimes the contents come out. I will definitely check out this pattern. Your's looks great despite the challenges you had with it. Thanks for the review.
2/16/09 8:55 AM
Athene said...
I like the concept - very nice results.
2/24/09 0:41 AM
Carriel said...
I bought one of these purse organizers from QVC and love the convienece of switching purses so quickly. I carry a (pretty and homemade) backpack purse so want to show them off whenever I can. So changing purses (bakpacks) is a almost daily thing for me. I would like to make another organizer to fit my personal needs and this review was very helpful to me. Carrie
2/28/09 10:04 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very cute organizer.
2/28/09 5:46 PM
rsersh said...
This is a great idea. Thanks for the tip on the binding.
3/2/09 2:23 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the frank review -- I have looked at this, but thought it would be better to customize for the junk I carry....your experience has proved my initial instinct was right and saved me some time. Consider this a wearable muslin for your perfect purse organizer.
3/4/09 12:10 PM
dawn said...
I had the same floppy outer section problem. It wasn't too bad at first, but over time, it became floppier and more annoying. I would probably use stiff interfacing if I make this again.
4/30/09 7:30 PM
ysmith16@cfl.rr.com said...
I have never read or heard of any difficulty in sewing the portapocket. Maybe if she had made one exactly the same as the pattern, it would've turned out better.
3/9/10 7:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-112
photo
Review by sandramary on 9/5/09
Read Review

New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used crate cover crate cover
photo
Review by raymondmom on 2/15/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us