SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Studio Kat Designs> Portapockets (Portapockets)

6 more reviews
Viewed 563 times 
Reviewed by:denaria

About denaria
Member since: 9/8/06
Reviews: 5 (patterns: 4)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/09 10:53 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
[email protected] said... (3/9/10 7:02 PM) Reply
I have never read or heard of any difficulty in sewing the portapocket. Maybe if she had made one exactly the same as the pattern, it would've turned out better.
dawn said... (4/30/09 7:30 PM) Reply
I had the same floppy outer section problem. It wasn't too bad at first, but over time, it became floppier and more annoying. I would probably use stiff interfacing if I make this again.
Kathi R said... (3/4/09 12:10 PM) Reply
Thanks for the frank review -- I have looked at this, but thought it would be better to customize for the junk I carry....your experience has proved my initial instinct was right and saved me some time. Consider this a wearable muslin for your perfect purse organizer.
rsersh said... (3/2/09 2:23 PM) Reply
This is a great idea. Thanks for the tip on the binding.
nancy2001 said... (2/28/09 5:46 PM) Reply
Very cute organizer.
Carriel said... (2/28/09 10:04 AM) Reply
I bought one of these purse organizers from QVC and love the convienece of switching purses so quickly. I carry a (pretty and homemade) backpack purse so want to show them off whenever I can. So changing purses (bakpacks) is a almost daily thing for me. I would like to make another organizer to fit my personal needs and this review was very helpful to me. Carrie
Athene said... (2/24/09 0:41 AM) Reply
I like the concept - very nice results.
KrystalL said... (2/16/09 8:55 AM) Reply
I just love crafty things like this! I made a roll-up purse organizer, but it unrolls in my purse and sometimes the contents come out. I will definitely check out this pattern. Your's looks great despite the challenges you had with it. Thanks for the review.
marthamyers said... (2/15/09 4:03 PM) Reply
I made this one too. It seems everyone has trouble with the binding. It's just too thick at the end. But it is a great idea and yours looks fabulous, so great save!
sewing for fun said... (2/15/09 3:26 PM) Reply
If you try it again, I suggest Timtex hat brim interfacing or heavy buckram like that used inside curtain cornices.
crazygrad said... (2/15/09 11:15 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. They look cute on the website but complicated.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

StyleArc Linda Stretch Pant

by: Austragirl

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Pattern Details