Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8499 (MISSES' SKIRT AND PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 944 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/09 5:06 PM
Last Updated:5/24/09 7:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Very Cute, and very conservative for Montrose. I thought that you needed to be pierced to eat there... I love them, you could wear them anywhere.
2/15/09 5:27 PM
Izzie said...
Your pants turned out cute! I like the detail with the horizontal stripe..great idea.
2/15/09 5:28 PM
snaffles said...
Very good review. I have this pattern. Any idea how much to downsize it for pants? Or even the skirt (is it as oversized)?
2/15/09 6:06 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"If you are in the mood for something totally out of the ordinary, go for it!!" When I saw this outfit, I wondered if it was for you, Peggy... COOL!! I could take lessons from you about how to not look too conservative!! Enjoy the comments/compliments, eh!
2/15/09 6:07 PM
Peggy L said...
Snaffles - I went down one size but they are still pretty roomy. Rhonda - these are way out of my comfort zone!!! I am turning the big 6-0 this year so am getting ready.
2/15/09 6:18 PM
PegL said...
Very good and complete review! I'm going to have to adjust to this style I think. You're braver than than I am. I want to hear what your DDs think before I cast my final vote. ;>)
2/15/09 6:20 PM
BillieJean said...
Really cute pants. When I made mine last year I ended up taking about 2" out of each side back. The front fit, but I think it is the back that adds all the fullness.
2/15/09 8:20 PM
Renren said...
I also have been intrigued by this pattern, but it scares me. Anytime I try something avant garde like this, I feel a bit clownish while others can wear it with style and flair and look very artistic and chic. Maybe it's about confidence? You're definitely looking chic.
2/16/09 9:54 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Cute! Love the idea of the contrasting stripes.
2/16/09 1:37 PM
KristenI said...
I love these pants as I always like unusal and casual styles. Thanks for the detailed review. Enjoy the pants :)
2/16/09 2:23 PM
janetbrooke82 said...
Mom - I like how you used the stripes, but I don't think they are very flattering. Capris make short people look shorter. I think you are right though - they may look better if you went down a size. I'm glad you tried something different!
2/17/09 11:34 PM
blue mooney said...
Ultra-casual vibe with these pants, and sometimes that's just what's called for! Very clam-digger-y. I like the way the black sobers them up just a little bit.
2/19/09 6:45 PM
Re Becca said...
I like them with just a bit shaved off the sides, and the fabric does look fabulous.
5/24/09 9:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Very nice! I think you've got the fit JUST RIGHT on there. As for topstitching down the side seams and regretting it later: Been there, done that. :o(
5/25/09 0:46 AM
Renren said...
Very nice and the fabric sounds delicious. If I ever go to Berkeley, I'm taking an empty suitcase to bring home fabric from Stone Mountain and Daughter.
5/25/09 3:28 AM
blue mooney said...
Love the combination of casual style with luxe fabric! They look super - and black will go with all the great shirts you've been making!
5/29/09 10:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 8550
photo
Review by ShereeSews on 6/17/03
Read Review

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1201 Renfrew Top
photo
Review by laurajanef... on 11/21/13
Read Review

Butterick 5965 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5965 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6886 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6886 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us