SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8499 (MISSES' SKIRT AND PANTS)

32 more reviews
Viewed 968 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/09 5:06 PM
Last Updated:5/24/09 7:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Very Cute, and very conservative for Montrose. I thought that you needed to be pierced to eat there... I love them, you could wear them anywhere.
2/15/09 5:27 PM
Izzie said...
Your pants turned out cute! I like the detail with the horizontal stripe..great idea.
2/15/09 5:28 PM
snaffles said...
Very good review. I have this pattern. Any idea how much to downsize it for pants? Or even the skirt (is it as oversized)?
2/15/09 6:06 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"If you are in the mood for something totally out of the ordinary, go for it!!" When I saw this outfit, I wondered if it was for you, Peggy... COOL!! I could take lessons from you about how to not look too conservative!! Enjoy the comments/compliments, eh!
2/15/09 6:07 PM
Peggy L said...
Snaffles - I went down one size but they are still pretty roomy. Rhonda - these are way out of my comfort zone!!! I am turning the big 6-0 this year so am getting ready.
2/15/09 6:18 PM
PegL said...
Very good and complete review! I'm going to have to adjust to this style I think. You're braver than than I am. I want to hear what your DDs think before I cast my final vote. ;>)
2/15/09 6:20 PM
BillieJean said...
Really cute pants. When I made mine last year I ended up taking about 2" out of each side back. The front fit, but I think it is the back that adds all the fullness.
2/15/09 8:20 PM
Renren said...
I also have been intrigued by this pattern, but it scares me. Anytime I try something avant garde like this, I feel a bit clownish while others can wear it with style and flair and look very artistic and chic. Maybe it's about confidence? You're definitely looking chic.
2/16/09 9:54 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Cute! Love the idea of the contrasting stripes.
2/16/09 1:37 PM
KristenI said...
I love these pants as I always like unusal and casual styles. Thanks for the detailed review. Enjoy the pants :)
2/16/09 2:23 PM
janetbrooke82 said...
Mom - I like how you used the stripes, but I don't think they are very flattering. Capris make short people look shorter. I think you are right though - they may look better if you went down a size. I'm glad you tried something different!
2/17/09 11:34 PM
blue mooney said...
Ultra-casual vibe with these pants, and sometimes that's just what's called for! Very clam-digger-y. I like the way the black sobers them up just a little bit.
2/19/09 6:45 PM
Re Becca said...
I like them with just a bit shaved off the sides, and the fabric does look fabulous.
5/24/09 9:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Very nice! I think you've got the fit JUST RIGHT on there. As for topstitching down the side seams and regretting it later: Been there, done that. :o(
5/25/09 0:46 AM
Renren said...
Very nice and the fabric sounds delicious. If I ever go to Berkeley, I'm taking an empty suitcase to bring home fabric from Stone Mountain and Daughter.
5/25/09 3:28 AM
blue mooney said...
Love the combination of casual style with luxe fabric! They look super - and black will go with all the great shirts you've been making!
5/29/09 10:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now