Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Design and Sew: 328 (Classy Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1664 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Mollykat
photo
About Mollykatstar
MI USA
Member since: 10/3/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/03 2:01 PM
Last Updated:11/3/03 8:02 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Wow! I didn't think the illustration for this patern was attractive, but your coats look great. Here is one idea for creating vertical design interest: you could piece different fabrics in vertical strips, and then cut out the coat from the pre-pieced fabric. The vertical seams could be piped, topstitched, apliqued with ribbon etc. for further emphasis. Or use some upholstery trims instead as they would be compatible with the fabric and are often very pretty in their own right.
10/31/03 4:21 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, your jackets bear little resemblance to the shapeless drawing on the pattern envelope! Very pretty.
10/31/03 5:57 PM
Irene said...
These are beautiful jackets! One reason I've avoided this pattern is the high collar that suits only a long-necked person. The collar on your gray jacket is great! Your artistic sense is inspirational.
10/31/03 6:41 PM
jlg said...
Very interesting, attractive jackets. Thanks for this review. I have wondered how they would look made up.
10/31/03 6:57 PM
Mollykat said...
Thank you for your nice comments. Mini, great idea - and the look would vary depending on how much contrast there was between the colors. Imagine one in varying textures, all white and piped near the center for a focal point. M of Bride coat?!
10/31/03 7:28 PM
MaryBeth said...
The center front button closing on the grey jacket is very interesting--was that one of the pattern's options or your addition. It's a nice counterpoint to the "squareness" of the fabric
11/1/03 9:16 AM
cindyann said...
Very good review. I love your button closing on the grey jacket too. Great creative work.
11/1/03 9:38 AM
Mollykat said...
Thank you for your comments. Marybeth, I made a big roll of bias tape from the coat fabric and played with until I found the right look. It starts at the neck, goes around back in a curlicue, then down the front making button loops along the way. All of it was handstitched down because the layers were too thick for my machine to stitch gracefully. The options in the coat are for collars, faux cuffs, pockets and jacket lengths.
11/1/03 12:57 PM
Mollykat said...
Gigi and Irene, I see what you mean about the drawings compared to the real thing. I saw several examples of this jacket before ever seeing the pattern, so I never did view it as you did. However, take away the paint and pretend it is a line drawing. See how the drawing's sleeve matches my jacket's?
11/1/03 7:43 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful creativity! You did a great job.
11/2/03 7:52 PM
galadriel45 said...
Oh, I really like how much work you put into seeing what different effects you could get from changing fabrics and details. I particularly like the black jacket. This is an inspiration - I will definitely order this pattern.
11/3/03 8:34 AM
Skymom said...
Nice jackets! I've seen some of the samples that Lynn McCabe has made of garments using decorator fabrics, and you did indeed learn from a master--her work is beautiful.
11/3/03 9:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great jackets. I am petite and have avoided Design and Sew patterns as I have heard others say they are overwhelming on petites. Now that you have made three and I am not sure of your size but jackets look great on you. What is your opinion on whether the jackets would work for petites?
11/3/03 6:40 PM
mudcat said...
I like your gray version a lot. The black with the people is a pretty cool print. It's nice that these patterns work so well for you. My luck with them hasn't been that great.
11/3/03 9:19 PM
JDpenelope said...
Very creative. Fun to read about. I'm not there yet!
11/4/03 8:53 AM
Mollykat said...
Linda, The gray jacket and the dancing guys jackets were made for ladies under 5'3". They exclusively buy petite sizing in RTW. All of us feel a little overwhelmed with the fabric under the arm - but as you can see - the visual effect isn't too bad.
11/4/03 11:26 AM
Mollykat said...
Skymom, Lynn McCabe is a constant source of inspiration! I am a big fan of hers and enjoy any class she teaches. Taking the cost of one of her classes and distributing it among the projects I make based on the skills learned from her class - It always ends up less than $5.00 per piece. Great value!
11/4/03 11:31 AM
AnneM said...
Mollykat, love you jackets - particularly the dancing guys one. Nice detail w/ the threads inside. So nice to see what you have done w/ this one pattern.
11/5/03 7:17 AM
ShereeSews said...
These are really attractive jackets! I hope you will wear one to LakeSewciety for Sew N Tell in the near future! I am impressed with how much sewing you accomplish, Mollykat! It was nice meeting you this week! Sheree
11/23/03 9:49 PM
jso4fun said...
Wow! These are great, and a good review, too. I just bought the pattern and can't wait to get started!
2/16/09 1:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Peek-a-Boo Pattern Shop Sugar Plum Nightgown
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 10/10/13
Read Review

Basic Top
Basic Top

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4786 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4786 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains 40033
photo
Review by Noile on 4/10/12
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us