SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Design and Sew> 328 (Classy Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1666 times 
Reviewed by:Mollykat
photo

 
 
About Mollykatstar
MI USA
Member since: 10/3/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/03 2:01 PM
Last Updated:11/3/03 8:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jso4fun said...
Wow! These are great, and a good review, too. I just bought the pattern and can't wait to get started!
2/16/09 1:05 PM
ShereeSews said...
These are really attractive jackets! I hope you will wear one to LakeSewciety for Sew N Tell in the near future! I am impressed with how much sewing you accomplish, Mollykat! It was nice meeting you this week! Sheree
11/23/03 9:49 PM
AnneM said...
Mollykat, love you jackets - particularly the dancing guys one. Nice detail w/ the threads inside. So nice to see what you have done w/ this one pattern.
11/5/03 7:17 AM
Mollykat said...
Skymom, Lynn McCabe is a constant source of inspiration! I am a big fan of hers and enjoy any class she teaches. Taking the cost of one of her classes and distributing it among the projects I make based on the skills learned from her class - It always ends up less than $5.00 per piece. Great value!
11/4/03 11:31 AM
Mollykat said...
Linda, The gray jacket and the dancing guys jackets were made for ladies under 5'3". They exclusively buy petite sizing in RTW. All of us feel a little overwhelmed with the fabric under the arm - but as you can see - the visual effect isn't too bad.
11/4/03 11:26 AM
JDpenelope said...
Very creative. Fun to read about. I'm not there yet!
11/4/03 8:53 AM
mudcat said...
I like your gray version a lot. The black with the people is a pretty cool print. It's nice that these patterns work so well for you. My luck with them hasn't been that great.
11/3/03 9:19 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great jackets. I am petite and have avoided Design and Sew patterns as I have heard others say they are overwhelming on petites. Now that you have made three and I am not sure of your size but jackets look great on you. What is your opinion on whether the jackets would work for petites?
11/3/03 6:40 PM
Skymom said...
Nice jackets! I've seen some of the samples that Lynn McCabe has made of garments using decorator fabrics, and you did indeed learn from a master--her work is beautiful.
11/3/03 9:12 AM
galadriel45 said...
Oh, I really like how much work you put into seeing what different effects you could get from changing fabrics and details. I particularly like the black jacket. This is an inspiration - I will definitely order this pattern.
11/3/03 8:34 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful creativity! You did a great job.
11/2/03 7:52 PM
Mollykat said...
Gigi and Irene, I see what you mean about the drawings compared to the real thing. I saw several examples of this jacket before ever seeing the pattern, so I never did view it as you did. However, take away the paint and pretend it is a line drawing. See how the drawing's sleeve matches my jacket's?
11/1/03 7:43 PM
Mollykat said...
Thank you for your comments. Marybeth, I made a big roll of bias tape from the coat fabric and played with until I found the right look. It starts at the neck, goes around back in a curlicue, then down the front making button loops along the way. All of it was handstitched down because the layers were too thick for my machine to stitch gracefully. The options in the coat are for collars, faux cuffs, pockets and jacket lengths.
11/1/03 12:57 PM
cindyann said...
Very good review. I love your button closing on the grey jacket too. Great creative work.
11/1/03 9:38 AM
MaryBeth said...
The center front button closing on the grey jacket is very interesting--was that one of the pattern's options or your addition. It's a nice counterpoint to the "squareness" of the fabric
11/1/03 9:16 AM
Mollykat said...
Thank you for your nice comments. Mini, great idea - and the look would vary depending on how much contrast there was between the colors. Imagine one in varying textures, all white and piped near the center for a focal point. M of Bride coat?!
10/31/03 7:28 PM
jlg said...
Very interesting, attractive jackets. Thanks for this review. I have wondered how they would look made up.
10/31/03 6:57 PM
Irene said...
These are beautiful jackets! One reason I've avoided this pattern is the high collar that suits only a long-necked person. The collar on your gray jacket is great! Your artistic sense is inspirational.
10/31/03 6:41 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, your jackets bear little resemblance to the shapeless drawing on the pattern envelope! Very pretty.
10/31/03 5:57 PM
Mini said...
Wow! I didn't think the illustration for this patern was attractive, but your coats look great. Here is one idea for creating vertical design interest: you could piece different fabrics in vertical strips, and then cut out the coat from the pre-pieced fabric. The vertical seams could be piped, topstitched, apliqued with ribbon etc. for further emphasis. Or use some upholstery trims instead as they would be compatible with the fabric and are often very pretty in their own right.
10/31/03 4:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape 2:Top #4

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

More Info
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 4079

photo
by: Aroura

Review