SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4080 (Geisha Kimono)

13 more reviews
Viewed 429 times 
Reviewed by:cammyland
photo

 
 
About cammylandstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/18/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/09 5:00 PM
Last Updated:2/16/09 5:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CShelley said...
This is breathtakingly beautiful. Perfect fabrics. Too bad it was such a struggle to construct but the results are worth it. Amazing job!
2/16/09 6:05 PM
fourkid said...
This is beautiful!!
2/16/09 6:06 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!!!!!!
2/16/09 6:22 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
Really stunning!
2/16/09 7:41 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is SO beautiful. Just gorgeous. No wonder you love it! :)
2/16/09 8:52 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi Looks like from your bio info you are in Calif. Any chance you were able to see the Itchiku Kubota kimono exhibit in San Diego? It is now in Canton O very near Akron O (my location) and I saw it Saturday. AWESOME to say the least. Link is http://www.kimonoexhibit.com I clicked on your kimono review mostly because of my curiosity about kimonos . the Itchiku Kubota kimonos were not designed to be actually worn.. but I was curious how the layers went together and how they were seamed. Especially the padded rolled multiple hem layers at the bottom. Best part was a sample of the exquisitely dyed and manipulated silk you were allowed to touch!!!!!! I want to make a kimono now too. Thanks for sharing!
2/16/09 9:55 PM
Christas said...
OH my! This is really beautiful! I would have no place to wear something like this, but it does not stop me from admiring the beauty of it. Amazing sewing! WOW!
2/16/09 10:07 PM
christea said...
wow-just---wow.
2/16/09 10:37 PM
cammyland said...
Nancy Rhodes::Thanks soooo much for the link! Those kimonos are *breath taking*! Something I want to check out in the future! Thanks so much for your comment <3 Try out the pattern, if you get stuck send me an email (onlyinjapan@gmail.com) and good luck ;]
2/17/09 0:04 AM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful kimono pattern and yours is very authentic looking. You make me want to make one for myself....
2/17/09 6:32 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, that is just beautiful! Wonderful project. Thank you so much for the kimono information. You've piqued my interest.
2/17/09 8:06 AM
luellen said...
It looks really great. I have this pattern for years but still haven't try it. I just bought the fabric and getting ready to start.
2/20/09 3:09 PM
kirilee said...
This is soooo beautiful! The fabrics you used are just perfect. Shame it was so hard to construct, but my-o-my, it was worth it from where I'm sitting. It looks very authentic. Huge kudos mate! Well done!
3/20/09 4:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1338

photo
by: gabc

Review