SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6429 (Misses' Knit Dress)

57 more reviews
Viewed 804 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/09 9:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Drew's Mom said...
It was perfect on me. I cut it out according to the recommended size and it fit like it was custom drafted. Great pattern for the "generously endowed." The only alteration I made was to raise the v-neck so I wouldn't have to wear a tank underneath.
4/2/09 9:47 AM
Niser said...
I just want to say that the dress is very flattering on you, and I think you are too hard on yourself, also the black boots work great, I think I will try this dress and hope it looks half as good on me. Thanks, Niser
3/29/09 6:18 AM
petro said...
Well, it looks good in the photos!
2/19/09 2:35 PM
Stitchcakes said...
I had a meh feeling when I opened the picture, but like donna mel the first 'fix' that struck me was the length was maybe too long. You are right about the skirt - way more A-line than represented.
2/19/09 10:12 AM
ryan's mom said...
Completely understand your feelings, but the photo looks just fine. Simplicity is usually a decent fit for me (with alterations of course), but NL patterns I tend to avoid. Something about the draft in the upper body on their patterns is far more work than I care to do. Right now I'm working on a wrap dress S4074 and oddly enough, I did have some issues in the upper body after alterations on my muslin. Hoping the current one cut out will be okay. Ya never know...
2/19/09 8:07 AM
Secretsugar said...
I don't think I'd go as far as "hideous" either. When I saw it at first, I thought it was very cute on you, but I'll take your word for it that it's to be avoided. I'm a member of the IBTC, too, and don't need gaping bodices reminding me of my ittiness!
2/19/09 8:02 AM
donna mel said...
it does look cute in the photo! but i know what you are saying about the fit. i wonder if you went a little shorter, if it might be more flattering? i have also had trouble with ffc not delivering a quality fabric...this cinches it, i'm done with them.
2/19/09 7:49 AM
mochimo said...
I was thinking about buying a few Simplicity/New Look patterns (not that I lack projects in my sewing list ;-) ) and this dress was top of the list. Your review helped me dispell my doubts: I won't. Anyway, the dress looks really nice on you in your pictures. Maybe it's not that bad in "real life" after all.
2/19/09 5:47 AM
kasizzle said...
I'm with you. I made this one up and it looked terrible on me. Never could get it to fit.
2/18/09 8:29 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for sharing (helps me and others less experienced to get more knowledgeable) all your issues with this pattern. Though you say it is deceiving, you do look fabulous, so maybe it is worth working out, since you are capable of doing so.
2/18/09 3:33 PM
Twinset said...
NiceGirl, I'm so with you about the huge sizing of NewLook-Simplicity. Why, oh why??? I've had the same problems with a NL dress, I graded to an 8 and it was just way too big, with fabric sagging everywhere. However, your dress seems to be not bad at all from what we see in the pics. I don't understand the enormous ease they put in their patterns for what is supposed to be a close fitting dress.
2/18/09 2:38 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
"Hideous" is such a strong word and I don't believe it applies to You in this dress! I have a UFO of this pattern; different issues, but unhappy with the fit. And I agree that the alterations necessary to perfect the fit just may not be worth it ~ there are too many other dress designs to sew! Thank you for the review! And the dress is REALLY cute! :)
2/18/09 2:28 PM
Aixoise said...
Your dress does look good on you in the photos, though I can see where the front crossing is a bit low. I made this dress also, in a nice hefty knit, and it looks good from front and back; however, I needed to add a sizable FBA, and from the side it looks saggy and bulky with all that extra fabric. I don't wear the dress because of it. Like you, I had high hopes for this pattern but was disappointed in the outcome.
2/18/09 1:48 PM
Karendee said...
I think this dress is very cute and slimming on you. I guess "different strokes."
2/18/09 1:46 PM
crazygrad said...
Gorge! Love the print and how you tweaked it over the bum!
2/18/09 1:33 PM
Karen6790 said...
Strange, I've made this one twice in my standard size 12 and the only place where it was a little big on me was in the waist. I narrowed the skirt both times, mainly because of fabric limitations but I also thought the skirt was a little wider than the photo/drawing led me to believe. Shame there really isn't a way to alter this dress because even too big it looks cute on you.
2/18/09 11:29 AM
sewbehind said...
Very nice, and may I say that I like the way that you put up your thumbnail pictures. Everything you need right there!
2/18/09 11:23 AM
Jali said...
I would have loved the pattern too looking at the line drawing. I have only sewn from BWOF so thanks for the warning on sizing. Whatever it is, the dress has made for a wonderful picture of yourself and does a lot better to recommend the pattern than the pattern photo.
2/18/09 11:01 AM
Mufffet said...
Well, of course it looks great in the photos! I am sorry for the fitting issues. Even I can't use the big 3 because they ARE huge on top, and even in my plus size, for me they aren't a match - too big in the bust, need all that altering. Get yourself back to Burda! :) :) This pattern is cute though! Have you sewed up Burda 7798? I think it would be a real good pattern for you. I did review this one, and I should have lifted the bodice seam a bit, but it is a great pattern for the smaller busted, younger crowd, and it is pretty versitile! http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=31646
2/18/09 10:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-118

photo
by: jennybaxt

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

More Info