SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7949 (MISSES' GLOVES)

5 more reviews
Viewed 285 times 
Reviewed by:Fictionfan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Fictionfanstar
VT USA
Member since: 5/19/06
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/09 8:00 PM
Last Updated:2/18/09 8:05 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KillerChihuahua said...
Thank you so much for your wonderful review (and story!) I did go to YouTube and the gloves look amazing! I have been trying to decide if I want to take the plunge into trying to make gloves and your detailed review has been very helpful.
12/29/13 9:09 AM
Gendun said...
Oh, this is SO inspiring! Wonderful review, too. Yes, I can see how the gussets might be a challenge to get your head around if you're not used to them. In my family we breed REALLY late, and I'm WAY older than I look, so I have stories like the time my Mother's grandmother (a well-bred if slightly prim widow born in 1820) bought her 1st really fancy hat, having stubbornly refused to wear anything that did not at least resemble in SOME way the bonnets she wore as a younger woman. By 1919 she just HAD to change. The new hat was a wide brimmed black (widow, remember) number made of real wool felt & decorated with a few silk flowers, wide silk rouching & layers of net etc. You can imagine it was a HUGE right of passage into the (ahem) 'new' century. (Confession, we're all old-school. I still prefer vintage from the 40's & never saw TV until I was firmly established as a bookish girl. I still find TV annoyingly shallow & my idea of the perfect man is Mr. Darcy. Oh, and btw, the idea that if you are sweet & loving enough your beast will turn into a prince is NOT true. Sigh. But enough about me. ) My Mum was twinkly eyed & a fun kind of 'bad' until the day she died, & at the time of this story she was about 5. Her elder brother loved to put her 'up' to things, so between them they thought it was very funny to sneak into Granny's hatbox in the night & sprinkle white talcum powder all over the prized hat. Mum never told me exactly how they were punished, but if she couldn't spell 'dead' at the time she must have certainly learned that day! (laughs again). So where I'm going with this is that as a little girl I often wore gloves. Mum was very strict about how to put them on: The proper way to protect those teeny gusset seams from straining or ripping is to always pull them down from the bottom of the palm where it meets the inside of your wrist, never from the topside, and keep your palms ever so slightly curled when you do so. It makes sense once you've made a pair! Anyhoo, thanks for your lovely story and for suggesting them as presents. WONDERFUL idea!
10/10/12 2:16 PM
lyndle said...
I love your review! Thank you for posting it, and indeed you are a dedicated Costumer! I just bought this pattern at a thrift shop today, so you are helping inspire me to make it. Sounds like your fabric was a good choice, whichis helpful to know.
8/13/12 3:37 AM
Fictionfan said...
Tall Mary and Diva Q, I did not read the other reviews on this pattern until I wrote this one. The material I used seems to have been a lot easier to work with than some of theirs, and the fit may have been better for this view than the shorter gloves with elastic at the wrists. I wish I had a photo to post! I hope you have fun when you get around to trying the gloves.
2/19/09 10:02 PM
DivaQ said...
Thank you so much for this review. I have this pattern but yet attempted to make it. You gave such a thorough description that now I think I'll have to pull it out and try it. Thanks again!
2/19/09 2:25 PM
DivaQ said...
Thank you so much for this review. I have this pattern but yet attempted to make it. You gave such a thorough description that now I think I'll have to pull it out and try it. Thanks again!
2/19/09 2:24 PM
Tall Mary said...
You are a trouper to make these gloves at the last minute. I have often looked at this pattern and wondered how hard gloves would be to make. Your tip about using stretchy, forgiving fabric was very helpful. Thanks for reviewing this pattern and telling the whole story behind it.
2/19/09 0:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

StyleArc Stacie Jean Jacket

photo
by: SewWil

Review
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 2424

photo
by: dolcevita

Review