Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7949 (MISSES' GLOVES) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 277 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Fictionfan
photo
Friend of PR
About Fictionfanstar
VT USA
Member since: 5/19/06
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/09 8:00 PM
Last Updated:2/18/09 8:05 PM
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tall Mary said...
You are a trouper to make these gloves at the last minute. I have often looked at this pattern and wondered how hard gloves would be to make. Your tip about using stretchy, forgiving fabric was very helpful. Thanks for reviewing this pattern and telling the whole story behind it.
2/19/09 0:35 AM
DivaQ said...
Thank you so much for this review. I have this pattern but yet attempted to make it. You gave such a thorough description that now I think I'll have to pull it out and try it. Thanks again!
2/19/09 2:24 PM
DivaQ said...
Thank you so much for this review. I have this pattern but yet attempted to make it. You gave such a thorough description that now I think I'll have to pull it out and try it. Thanks again!
2/19/09 2:25 PM
Fictionfan said...
Tall Mary and Diva Q, I did not read the other reviews on this pattern until I wrote this one. The material I used seems to have been a lot easier to work with than some of theirs, and the fit may have been better for this view than the shorter gloves with elastic at the wrists. I wish I had a photo to post! I hope you have fun when you get around to trying the gloves.
2/19/09 10:02 PM
lyndle said...
I love your review! Thank you for posting it, and indeed you are a dedicated Costumer! I just bought this pattern at a thrift shop today, so you are helping inspire me to make it. Sounds like your fabric was a good choice, whichis helpful to know.
8/13/12 3:37 AM
Gendun said...
Oh, this is SO inspiring! Wonderful review, too. Yes, I can see how the gussets might be a challenge to get your head around if you're not used to them. In my family we breed REALLY late, and I'm WAY older than I look, so I have stories like the time my Mother's grandmother (a well-bred if slightly prim widow born in 1820) bought her 1st really fancy hat, having stubbornly refused to wear anything that did not at least resemble in SOME way the bonnets she wore as a younger woman. By 1919 she just HAD to change. The new hat was a wide brimmed black (widow, remember) number made of real wool felt & decorated with a few silk flowers, wide silk rouching & layers of net etc. You can imagine it was a HUGE right of passage into the (ahem) 'new' century. (Confession, we're all old-school. I still prefer vintage from the 40's & never saw TV until I was firmly established as a bookish girl. I still find TV annoyingly shallow & my idea of the perfect man is Mr. Darcy. Oh, and btw, the idea that if you are sweet & loving enough your beast will turn into a prince is NOT true. Sigh. But enough about me. ) My Mum was twinkly eyed & a fun kind of 'bad' until the day she died, & at the time of this story she was about 5. Her elder brother loved to put her 'up' to things, so between them they thought it was very funny to sneak into Granny's hatbox in the night & sprinkle white talcum powder all over the prized hat. Mum never told me exactly how they were punished, but if she couldn't spell 'dead' at the time she must have certainly learned that day! (laughs again). So where I'm going with this is that as a little girl I often wore gloves. Mum was very strict about how to put them on: The proper way to protect those teeny gusset seams from straining or ripping is to always pull them down from the bottom of the palm where it meets the inside of your wrist, never from the topside, and keep your palms ever so slightly curled when you do so. It makes sense once you've made a pair! Anyhoo, thanks for your lovely story and for suggesting them as presents. WONDERFUL idea!
10/10/12 2:16 PM
KillerChihuahua said...
Thank you so much for your wonderful review (and story!) I did go to YouTube and the gloves look amazing! I have been trying to decide if I want to take the plunge into trying to make gloves and your detailed review has been very helpful.
12/29/13 9:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Loes Hinse Designs 5003 Cruise Pant
photo
Review by Nancywin on 2/24/10
Read Review

McCalls 5797 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 5797 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3607 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3607 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Elizabeth Lee Sunrise Designs 302
photo
Review by JenSews2 on 6/13/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us