SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-115 (Jacket #115)

12 more reviews
Viewed 502 times 
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo

 
 
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/09 9:39 PM
Last Updated:2/19/09 2:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Welcome to BWOF. I so enjoy seeing your projects. Once again you've created an eye-catching garment. I see your careful attention to detail in the way you laid out the pattern pieces so that mirror images of the dyed shapes match on either side (sleeves, pockets). I also noted your perfect topstitching. I love this jacket. Again, you have inspired me.
2/18/09 11:38 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful jacket!! Beautifully done!!
2/19/09 0:06 AM
Izzie said...
Beautiful jacket! I love the fabric treatment.
2/19/09 0:14 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Interesting take on this jacket! BTW, you indicate in your pattern info. at the top that this is from "Burda Plus," but it's from the regular February 2009 BWOF (and isn't plus). ;) Sorry to be so annoying, lol.
2/19/09 0:34 AM
Ann Smith said...
Brilliant combination of style and fabric. I love what you have done with your creative discharge treatment.
2/19/09 1:37 AM
manola6176 said...
I love your discharged fabric And I read more about it in your blog. The jacket looks great and I find your review very useful as I intend to to sew it for my 1st BWOF project. I guess I will follow the same order of construction Thank you
2/19/09 6:13 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very pretty - I like the results of the dying. I've never sewn Burda and have one pattern. Your first experience makes me want to try mine!
2/19/09 8:57 AM
solosmocker said...
thanks, Joan. I just fixed it! Thanks all for the great comments.
2/19/09 9:05 AM
FurGal said...
What a beautiful jacket. The fabric coloring is wonderful. I think reading a review from you is like opening a gift. Thank you for sharing with us. Barb
2/19/09 11:52 AM
Markie1 said...
Solosmocker-once again, you are an inspiration. This was one thing I wanted to make from that issue of Burda--I will follow you once again! Beautiful jacket...
2/19/09 11:55 AM
Karen6790 said...
I just cut this one out last night and wasn't feeling too inspired by my choice, but you've turned me around. This looks great - and welcome to BWOF!
2/19/09 12:05 PM
Beek said...
Great looking jacket. I, too, have had my eye on this particular pattern, partly because of the additional instructions. Love that fabric!
2/19/09 12:44 PM
nellc said...
Nice Jacket, this is one of the items that I want to sew from this issue of BWOF so it is great to see a review of it.
2/19/09 2:39 PM
jeanielynn said...
Very lovely jacket, glad to have such a good review.
2/19/09 2:43 PM
emo said...
Looks wonderful! I liked this in the magazine, but was afraid it would be too short, but it doesn't look like yours is. I guess it goes on the list!
2/19/09 2:55 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great jacket! I love the fabric and you did a great job. I skipped over it when searching last night because I thought it was a "Plus" size pattern. I'm gald you changed the heading and congratulations on such a successful BWOF first!
2/19/09 4:38 PM
merry-one said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric.
2/19/09 7:25 PM
Christas said...
Your jacket looks wonderful!
2/20/09 11:46 PM
Deepika said...
I love your jacket. I am making this too so your review is really helpful.
2/23/09 3:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns 8380

photo
by: DeniseAnge...

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now