Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-115 (Jacket #115) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 502 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 81
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/09 9:39 PM
Last Updated:2/19/09 2:46 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Welcome to BWOF. I so enjoy seeing your projects. Once again you've created an eye-catching garment. I see your careful attention to detail in the way you laid out the pattern pieces so that mirror images of the dyed shapes match on either side (sleeves, pockets). I also noted your perfect topstitching. I love this jacket. Again, you have inspired me.
2/18/09 11:38 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful jacket!! Beautifully done!!
2/19/09 0:06 AM
Izzie said...
Beautiful jacket! I love the fabric treatment.
2/19/09 0:14 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Interesting take on this jacket! BTW, you indicate in your pattern info. at the top that this is from "Burda Plus," but it's from the regular February 2009 BWOF (and isn't plus). ;) Sorry to be so annoying, lol.
2/19/09 0:34 AM
Ann Smith said...
Brilliant combination of style and fabric. I love what you have done with your creative discharge treatment.
2/19/09 1:37 AM
manola6176 said...
I love your discharged fabric And I read more about it in your blog. The jacket looks great and I find your review very useful as I intend to to sew it for my 1st BWOF project. I guess I will follow the same order of construction Thank you
2/19/09 6:13 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very pretty - I like the results of the dying. I've never sewn Burda and have one pattern. Your first experience makes me want to try mine!
2/19/09 8:57 AM
solosmocker said...
thanks, Joan. I just fixed it! Thanks all for the great comments.
2/19/09 9:05 AM
FurGal said...
What a beautiful jacket. The fabric coloring is wonderful. I think reading a review from you is like opening a gift. Thank you for sharing with us. Barb
2/19/09 11:52 AM
Markie1 said...
Solosmocker-once again, you are an inspiration. This was one thing I wanted to make from that issue of Burda--I will follow you once again! Beautiful jacket...
2/19/09 11:55 AM
Karen6790 said...
I just cut this one out last night and wasn't feeling too inspired by my choice, but you've turned me around. This looks great - and welcome to BWOF!
2/19/09 12:05 PM
Beek said...
Great looking jacket. I, too, have had my eye on this particular pattern, partly because of the additional instructions. Love that fabric!
2/19/09 12:44 PM
nellc said...
Nice Jacket, this is one of the items that I want to sew from this issue of BWOF so it is great to see a review of it.
2/19/09 2:39 PM
jeanielynn said...
Very lovely jacket, glad to have such a good review.
2/19/09 2:43 PM
emo said...
Looks wonderful! I liked this in the magazine, but was afraid it would be too short, but it doesn't look like yours is. I guess it goes on the list!
2/19/09 2:55 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great jacket! I love the fabric and you did a great job. I skipped over it when searching last night because I thought it was a "Plus" size pattern. I'm gald you changed the heading and congratulations on such a successful BWOF first!
2/19/09 4:38 PM
merry-one said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric.
2/19/09 7:25 PM
Christas said...
Your jacket looks wonderful!
2/20/09 11:46 PM
Deepika said...
I love your jacket. I am making this too so your review is really helpful.
2/23/09 3:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Amy Butler AB033AT Anna Tunic
photo
Review by Sew Mother... on 4/15/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2812
photo
Review by zazzie on 3/23/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1757 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1757 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3736 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3736 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us